We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an Affordable, Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Ranked #85 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel while there was some re-construction work happening. But no matter, it didn't affect our stay. However, if aesthetic value is what you are going for, this motel is not it (it is more of a motel, than a hotel).

The rooms and common areas are cozy and very clean. The front desk staff speak fluently in English and French, are friendly and have great recommendations for places to check out for a fun night out. Also, there was an issue with the plumbing in the toilet, which was fixed promptly.

There was also confusion with regards to our booking and we were not registered in their database, so technically we never were booked! Luckily I had the printout of my reservations and it was sorted out and the front desk managed to get us the rooms, quickly, politely and efficiently.

The biggest negative point is that this hotel is pretty far away from any tourist attractions, mainly in the Old Quebec area and you have to drive another 15mins from the nearest highway exit. Luckily we had a car with us, so we could drive into Old Quebec within 25-30mins. But for those relying on the transit, I would recommend that you are better off staying in a hotel/bed and breakfasts inside/near the Old Quebec area, of which there are plenty.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked our stay through their website. Our stay was for 3 nights during the Quebec festival with 5 adults and 1 teenage 15 years old. They were very nice and give us the choices of two room, we decided to take two seperate rooms. It is close to the highway and about 20mins to downtown Quebec ( vieux Quebec) by car. There is some restaurants around and gaz station. The rooms were comfortable with a small fridge and microwave.We had the chance to have a king bed wich was perfect in our case.Overall It is a great place not a 5stars but the price was very good compare to other places in Quebec.Would stay again if we ever come back to quebec city!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristyM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked this hotel to make it easier to travel outside the country. So we paid for airport shuttle and parking. We gave them flight schedule, flight number, etc. and we insisted that we expect them at airport for our arrival. After a long flying day (14 hours). Nobody waiting for us at the airport. After calling them, we wait another half an hour for pick up. They said that we don't have any reservation. We had already paid for the package!!! We had to check everywhere in our luggage to find our receipt to avoid paying a second time!!! When we tried to complain, they we're convinced everythings was just normal; they said that as for any other hotel or else, we need to call them for pick up (why taking the flight number then???), they explain that the airport parking is expansive, that a taxi would have been more expansive, etc. To resume; "We are cheap so we do not need to provide service???!!!"

By the way; our car was parked all week long just beside the road and the complimentary breafast was.... no longer provided! Did they offered any kind of compensation for all that? Not at all, they even never accpepted the blame!

NEVER NERVER MORE!!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Élaine-Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear guest,

First, thank you for writing this review. We appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay.

We wish to state that you were told upon arrival that you had to call us when you got to customs at the airport so that we would go and pick you up. We also gave you a paper reminder that said so.

However, we are sorry you were not pleased with our service. Our front desk employee was new, and thus might have had a bit of trouble getting things arranged. We do apologize for any mistake that was made, and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

If you are searching for a good alternative for the expensive downtown hotels, I recommend you this hotel! The staff is friendly and very fluent in english. They don't serve breakfast but there's plenty of restaurants around the area. It's right off the main highway and gets you everywhere quickly. Overall it was perfect thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMacdougald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy you could spend a «perfect night» at our hotel!
We will tell our staff members your good comments about them ; they are always happy to know their work is appreciated.

Thank you again, and if you come back to Québec City, we will be happy to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Slept here for one day.
- the prices are reasonable.
- location is good, close to highway
- good reception

- TVs are old, CRO tv
- old furniture with scratches everywhere.
- the bed was very hard.
- the tub was up-to-standard in cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our hotel.
We are happy to find out that you appreciated our staff members at the front desk and the location of our hotel. We try to offer good lodging at a reasonable price, and we are glad you were satisfied with the rate of your room.
As for your comments about the tub, we take notice and will make sure cleanliness is not an issue anymore.

Again, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I drove 3 hours to get to this hotel to finally see that I was not the room I booked. I had payed 260$ and I did not get my therapeutic bath nor the big room I had reserved. After going to the reception they told me the room had a leak and I could not get the room I wanted. They could of called knowing that I was coming from far away as I had told them. It looks more like a Motel than an hotel. I got my money back and finally got to get a room on the main street in Old Quebec for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danoril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Bonjour,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and to review our hotel.
We apologize for the disappointment, and indeed we will take measures to make sure such a problem does not happen again.
We are happy to know that at least you could save the day by finding the kind of room you had been expecting.
We hope we have the chance to welcome you someday.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We went at this hotel and took the red and gold suite. For the price, its really good. There is plenty of space and the therapeutic bath was clean. They dont have wine bottle opener and the bed is too soft. We can park the car in front of the room. This hotel is near the airport and some good shops.
Overall, we had a good experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are more than happy to see that your experience was overall an enjoyable one. Our team tries to offer the best service possible, and we always appreciate good comments such as yours.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#51 of 102 in Quebec City
294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#79 of 102 in Quebec City
196 reviews
8.2 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 102 in Quebec City
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
566 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#70 of 102 in Quebec City
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo

Address: 6030 Blvd. Wilfrid Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G2E 2H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: £41 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo is located on boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel, near the Quebec City Airport (Jean-Lesage International Airport), near Galeries de la Capitale shopping and amusement centre, and boulevard Laurier. Also, make sure you don't miss the beautiful Old-Quebec district, one of the UNESCO World Heritage sites ; it is a 15-minute drive from the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing