We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We booked a room at the Best Western after looking through several reviews. The price was right, the location was close enough to the Old City for us and the amenities were just what we were looking for after a long drive from Halifax. We arrived and were immediately greeted by the valet parking and offered assistance with our bags. The check-in was a true pleasure and the staff all made us feel completely welcome, despite our inability to speak French. The room was spacious, very comfortable and equipped with lots of extras that made it better than expected. We had a business class room that included a mini fridge and Kreunig coffee maker with several flavours of coffee and tea. The Best Western has a modern and fresh feel that made our stay quite enjoyable. When we did have requests (such as the TV remote needing new batteries) we never felt that we were being a nuisance and the staff seemed to go out of their way to make us feel at home. At one point when I asked the front counter clerk where I could go to buy some bottled water she immediately asked how many I needed and provided them as a guest courtesy. We ordered room service twice and the food was very good. We checked out the breakfast buffet but found it a bit pricey for the selection offered so we decided to skip on that. We would stay at this hotel every time we come to Quebec City and highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The business class class rooms offer some wonderful amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank compuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Bonjour!
Thank you very much for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. The perfect score you gave us is truly appreciated! I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Arrived on a Sunday and had a pleasant walk around this lovely city.
The room was impersonal but fine and the bed very comfortable.
The safe was placed very high and I could not see or feel in to the back of it, so left a wallet with US$400 in the room safe (my fault for not checking that I had really put the wallet in another bag, but there we are!). When we realised we did not have the money we were in Montreal. A member of Housekeeping (Annie?) went up to the room whilst I was on the 'phone and retrieved the wallet. We had to drive back to Quebec from Montreal making a long day as we were staying Burlington Vermont!
But thank you so much for being so helpful!
Hotel in good situation.
Two tips:
1) there is undercover parking just around the corner from the hotel if you don't want to use the (friendly and helpful) valet car parking service. Road parking is not an option.
2) this hotel offers 1:1 rate between US and Canadian dollars - pay in US$ cash for this rate. The payment slip to my US$ debit card gave an amount in $'s but did not show it as $CAN and I thought they had charged me in $US, so I paid a little more and did not get the 1:1 rate. Had I paid in cash I would have noticed I didn't have the US dollar wallet, but would not have seen 2 moose on our journey back through to Burlington Vermont!
Service really is the word at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Bonjour!
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Center. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Quebec City and that you were able to retrieve you wallet before it was too late! I would like to take the opportunity to explain a little bit more about currency exchange. Indeed, we do exchange us money at the Front Desk with a 1:1 rate as of today. This rate may vary from time to time along with the worldwide market. Regarding the fees charged on your debit card, in fact, these fees have nothing to do with us. As a Canadian merchant, we have charged a Canadian price. Then, your US account has been debited and your bank has determined the conversion rate exchange and possibly, charge additional withdrawal fees. I strongly suggest to all non-Canadian travelers to contact their bank for more information about the best way to save on currency exchange while vacationing in Canada. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This Best Western Plus is quite nice, and is in the downtown area of Quebec. Note that its entrance is actually not on Rue de la Couronne, but on a cross street. There are city buses going by (one of the buses goes within 2 km of the Quebec international airport, the only way to get anywhere near the airport by public transportation), and a pharmacy and several restaurants right across the street. There is also a public library branch right next door. The hotel is about a 20- or 25-minute walk from the area of Quebec with all the major tourist sites, though, so if you're looking for a hotel right in Vieux Quebec, this isn't it. But it has definite pluses: there were three working computers in the hotel lobby, and a working printer. Our room was very comfortable, and there's a big restaurant on the lower level of the hotel. Staff are very friendly and will give you any kind of help you need in English or French. The hotel divides itself into regular floors (the lower floors) and business class floors (the higher ones). Even though we had booked our room through a discount site, we ended up on one of the business class floors, which probably helped account for the quietness and the presence of a refrigerator in the room, which we hadn't expected. So I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for something that's convenient and pleasant, but not right in the heart of the tourist area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the upper floors (business class or "classe d'affaires" fl...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JMAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Bonjour!
Thank you for your most generous review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post it. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. We are indeed located right Downtown, more specifically in the Nouvo St-Roch District, near the Old Québec and Old Port. So there are plenty to do and see within short walking distance. We are also ideally located near of the country side of Quebec which is only a short drive away. There is also a lot to discover. What a great pretext for another visit! It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in March with our son who was living in Montreal at that stage. This was the last city we were visiting in Canada before going to Los Angeles and then back home to Perth Western Australia ( we were doing a round the world trip). We were very much impressed by this Best Western. Its' decor is somewhat antique which makes it very charming.with amenities that we enjoyed such as the gym (our son used the gym) and fast, free wireless internet. There were many restaurants within just one or two blocks, we could go on foot to the core of the city center. This hotel is about a 10-15 minute (very enjoyable) walk from the walled in old Quebec City, which is incredible. The helpful young man who checked us in gave me a local map and highlighted how to walk to the old city and other places that I asked about. Seeing that French is their native language the front desk staff all speak English quite well. The rates were reasonable, the room was nice, and the service was very good. They do get you for $18 per day parking in addition to the room rate, which is run by valet attendants who park your car and then bring it to the front of the building upon request. They were helpful and courteous. This hotel is clean, comfortable, has nice furnishings and is in a great location. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again should we return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balihaiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Bonjour!
Thank you for your most complete review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. Your contribution is very much appreciated. I am glad that your trip to Quebec City was the cherry on top of the sundae after visiting the great Canada Country. I appreciate that you took the time to post such positive comments. The only thing I would like to add is about parking. Indeed, we do offer parking with valet service. But the price of that service is 22$ plus taxes per night, in and out privileges. Not 18$. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with all tripadvisor readers. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We where two couples looking for a place to spend an overnight in Quebec city. The front desk was courteous an got us our rooms roght away. The rooms where nice, clean, and roomy. The beds where comfortable and the pillows where ok also. They also had a great brunch in the morning that was not too expensive. The hotel is a little far from old Quebec where all the action is. Sounds like a good hotel right? This is where the but comes in. The hotel has a valet and parking service for a nominal fee. Upon checkout we noticed that the whole bumper of our car was scratched and popped off. Thank god we notoced because the valet failed to inform us (the scratches where deep and noticable, whoever drove the car would have felt the collision). The problem was not even the accident because the car was still drivable and frankly accidents happen. What upset us is that the valet company tried to conceal it by not informing us. Furthermore when speaking to the front desk of the hotel they seemed less then empathetic to say the least. Neither the valet or the hotel immediatly apologized for the inconvinience. It was only through subsequent emails that a manager did. Because of the poor customer service of this hotel, we will never go back, which is a shame because they seemed to have everything else right.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luisadenisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Bonjour!
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them and hope you will accept my apologies if our staff came across in an unprofessional manner while handling your concerns with the damage made to your car. I can assure you that every effort is maintained by the hotel staff to provide exceptional, friendly and courteous service. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodation, service and consideration we strive for with all our guests. Our hotel takes every reasonable precaution to safeguard the personal property of our guests. However, when driving and parking hundreds of cars each day, yes, accidents unfortunately happens. Our valets parking are usually working in a very professional way, and they are aware that if they cause any damages to guest’s cars, they must report it immediately and the manager on duty is to make the proper follow up with the guest. In that case: did the valet noticed the damage or nor? Difficult to say. But you are absolutely right; the lack of empathy is not acceptable and is absolutely not representative of the service usually delivered at our property. Be assured that your comments were transmitted to the Valet Service Manager and Front Desk Manager to ensure it never happens again. Once more, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. It is with comments such as yours that we are able to continually improve our service. We appreciate your patronage and I hope you will reconsider staying with us the next time you are in Québec City. I promise we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel on two occasions within the past week. The staff are excellent. The hotel is well located and reasonably priced to explore beautiful Quebec City! On our second stay Mr Pare on the front desk was very pleasant and helpful - going out of his way to make our stay wonderful! The executives suites are very spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the first floor and the fifth floor. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodges2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to post your comments following your visit to the Best Western City Plus Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post such a positive review. It is a real pleasure to read that you felt the passion of our staff, like Maxime Paré, one of our loyal Front Desk staff. When working in service like we do, acknowledgement and gratitude is very important. I am happy that you enjoyed both Traditional room and our Executive room. Once again, thank you again for this great review. It was a true pleasure to welcome you among us and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 100 in Quebec City
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#53 of 100 in Quebec City
2,161 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 100 in Quebec City
572 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 100 in Quebec City
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 De la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £52 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing