We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Really nice and clean hotel located in the city centre. It's located on the bottom of the hill to the old town, but there's a really nice street close by with shopping, cafees. You can easily walk to the old town if you can walk up the hills. We liked beeing away from all the tourist rumble.
Easy to get in and out of town by car. Valet parking worked fine.
The have a really nice cafe located in the hotel, perfect for breakfast without paying a fortune. Their croissants were the best!
The room we got was big with to queen beds. Nice swimming pool

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your great comments about your latest stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. Indeed, our location is a nice compromise between being right into the ‘tourist rumble” but still being near of it. Our district, Nouvo St-Roch, is a new tourist destination born in dynamic sector of the capital, on the sidelines of Old Quebec. Our sector was the old working class neighborhood now reborn as center-stage for the city’s artistic events and as a cultural hub. Restaurant of all styles and prices in addition of a host of different boutiques are located on the popular St-Joseph Street, within five minutes walking form our hotel. I am happy you took advantage of our Café In light’s breakfast. We lately add some healthy yogurt parfait and fresh fruit salad to all we are already serving (French pastries, muffins, banana bread, smoothie, etc). It is true that it is a way to save on the most important meal of the day! However, there is actually an even better way to save on breakfast. We are proud to announce that lately, we have introduced two new rates that include full breakfast which can value up to 15$ plus taxes per adult per night. Here’s how to take advantage of this: simply visit the official Best Western International website or call directly at our hotel and either choose our “breakfast rate” or our “3A breakfast rate” whether you are a AAA/CAA member or not. This is a great plus value since it gives you the choice between our American Buffet breakfast or one of our “à la carte” plates. Now, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Best Western rivals some boutique hotels with its comfortably appointed rooms, helpful staff and great location. The hotel offers an indoor pool and hot tub and a great restaurant LE330 Bistro -- amazingly delicious food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctbeachbum131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. We are flattered that you are comparing us to some boutique hotels. We may not be a high-tech deluxe 5 star hotel, but we continually renovate and renew our decor, part by part, every year, focusing on comfort and practical classic features for travelers in order to always improve ourselves. Cleanliness and guest service being our top priority, we can honestly say that we are indeed a good choice. We are also happy that you liked our restaurant Bistro Le 330’s delicious food. Quebec City is reputed for its good food, so why not enjoying it when being in the city! It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The location isn't bad if you like walking to places. I'd take public transportation if possible. The hotel is located on the bottom of the hill and many of the attractions are on the top of the hill. The room was very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. They directed us where to go and what attractions were worth going to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaedee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I am grateful that you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I am sure it will show other travelers how well-located we are in our lovely Quebec City, and how much value can be added when choosing our hotel. It is true that when traveling with children, public transportation is a great option. Busses pass right beside our hotel so it is easily accessible. A taxi is also an inexpensive option to reach the entrance of the Old City from our hotel if you prefer not to walk. Again, thanks for taking the time, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Found this via Priceline and what a relief: The hotel is clean, convenient to the city, and the staff is friendly and helpful (and speaks English when necessary!). Highly recommended! Would return to this hotel on my next stay in QC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your great review about your latest stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post it. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I am happy to know you will return to our hotel on your next trip to Quebec City. Priceline is a very good way to save on hotel accommodation. However, if you want to make sure to book our property, I invite you as well as all other travelers to call the hotel directly or by visiting our web site to inform yourself about our different deals and promotion that may be saving you great amount of money. For example, we now offer full breakfast included in our regular rate when booking online on the official Best Western International website or by phone directly at our hotel. This is a great plus value since it gives you the choice between our American Buffet breakfast or one of our “à la carte” plates which can value up to 15$ plus taxes per adult per night. CAA or AAA members may also benefit of our special 3A breakfast rate that offers 10% discount off the regular rate and still include full breakfast. These rates are the only online booking options that include breakfast and are really worth it! This being said, it was a true pleasure to welcome you. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel was perfect. We stayed for 3 days in July of 2013 and could not have been happier. The service was excellent (from the great tri-lingual staff to the cleaning staff who were excellent: always gave extra coffee, moved their carts out of the way...) and the location was convenient.

We arrived by car and paid $22/day for parking (as we expected) and the valet was more than prompt when going in and out of the hotel.

The walk to the city was a bit more than the 15 minutes some had mentioned but that was fine. Be aware that the walk to the city is all uphill but it is downhill on the way back out.

We watched a couple of movies from the TV and aside from some skipping throughout they worked as expected. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post such a great review. According to Google Maps, there is actually 1.2 km (0.75 miles) that separates our property from the entrance of the Old City, so as it is uphill to go, we prefer to tell our guests that we are located 15 minutes by walk from the Old City. And then, to come back, it is about 10 minutes as you go down the hill. Indeed, our 22$ flat per night valet service provides a simple and secure place for your car with unlimited in an out. All you need to do is give your keys to our staff and they’ll take care of everything. Anytime you need to retrieve your car, just ask for it 15 minutes in advance and here you go! To avoid further costs related to parking during your visit of the city, I strongly suggest travelers to leave their car in the hotel’s parking lot and visit the city by foot or bus since there is a toll to park cars in the whole downtown area. Once more, thank you for your contribution. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My companion and her 11 year-old son stayed here for one night, using my Aeroplan points, on the way back to from L'Isle Verte. First the pluses, although conversant in French, we appreciated the tri-lingual front desk staff. Staff members in all positions were competent and friendly. The room (316) was spacious: two queen-sized beds, with plenty of room to spare for a comfortable sitting area as well as fast and free WiFi access . The room is very quiet (despite bus stops directly across) with heavy dark curtains, a plus for insomniacs or light sleepers. The hotel was not very far from the attractions in the Old City with interesting and appealing eating options within steps of the hotel entrance as well as a point of purchase for transit cards. Breakfast was included in the room cost.

Unfortunately, our stay was marred by a number of significant shortcomings. In order of descending importance, they are the following. First, the entrance to the impressively-decorated and trendy dining room was hard to find because of a lack of signs from the lobby, leading to some significant confusion on our part. This led us to intrude into the employee-only areas and to ask directions from a Spanish-speaking couple who were similarly way-laid by the lack of signage. Secondly, my partner, her son and I availed ourselves of the impressive-looking breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, my French Toast and her pancakes and that of her son's were stone-cold. The waiting staff tried to make it right but the damage had been done. We also overheard a couple pleading with the waiting staff they were in a hurry and that this time, their food order had to come quickly. This mirrored our experience with our fresh order of French Toast and pancakes which did not exactly come very quickly. Most importantly, when we turned on the air-conditioning in our room there was a definite musty smell generated. After driving non-stop from L'isle Verte (5 hours, door-to-door), we did not have the will to live never mind complain about the room. So, we decided to 'grin and bear it'.

I'm a frequent traveler having stayed everywhere from Kabul to Islamabad to Dubai and London/New York/Geneva. You need to step it up. I would be even more critical of my stay if I actually paid for my room.

Room Tip: If you are a fitness person, don't expect much from the gym facilities. Great hot tub, though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSantos_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am glad you appreciated our multilingual and friendly staff as well as our spacious rooms. We are indeed a quiet hotel family friendly hotel. For the benefit of tripadvisor followers, I would like to comment on the fact that breakfast was included in your room rate. Breakfast is in fact now included in the regular room rate when booked online at the official Best Western’s website or directly with the hotel on the phone. Otherwise, it is not included and can be purchase at the restaurant directly. This being said, I am disappointed to read that that some of our services didn’t live up to your expectations. I investigated your comments on the unfortunate experience with the restaurant and the air conditioning in your room and will take the necessary measures to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. Please accept our sincere apologies. I am happy to announce that last week, we have added some signage to lead guest to the restaurant more easily. This last step has allowed us to complete our major upgrade of our “trendy restaurant” as you mentioned! We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is just outside of the old town. A 10 minute walk up the hill puts you at the gates to old quebec.
The room was spotless, large and nicely furnished. There is a bus terminal at the door for those who don't want to walk.
It is a bit pricey, $200+ and uses valet parking but it is definitely value for the $.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post such a great review. I am sure it will show other travelers how well-located we are in our lovely Quebec City, and how much value can be added when choosing our hotel. Our area of the city, situated 15 minutes walking distance to the Old City and Old Port, is called the Nouvo St-Roch. There is actually 1.2 km (0.75 miles) that separates our property from the entrance of the Old City, so as it is uphill to go, we prefer to tell our guests that we are located 15 minutes by walk from the Old City. And then, to come back, it is about 10 minutes as you go down the hill. Once more, thank you for your contribution. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
6.3 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
559 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#53 of 102 in Quebec City
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 De la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £68 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing