We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value a $10 cab ride from the heart of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great value a $10 cab ride from the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

As 4 adults travelling together on a girls weekend, we were looking for good value not too far from the Carnival attractions. We were all very pleased with the Best Western. The room was much bigger than we expected, with a sitting area and pull-out couch. The 2 Queen beds were comfortable and in good shape.

We knew the location was far enough that a bus or cab ride would be best for getting to the Carnival site, and it turned out the taxi ride was cheapest when split 4 ways.

Room Tip: Our room was on the inside of the building, with windows facing the dinning room below and the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your generous review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post it. I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction. Our high quality Essentia natural memory foam mattresses are well loved by the majority of our guests, just like you. We offer 3 room categories for all type of guest needs and satisfaction standards. All of them offer the same high quality, comfort and cleanliness standards. You probably were in a Business Class room, with 2 queen size bed and a sofa beds. Those spacious rooms offer standard high quality synthetic duvet comforter, mp3/ipod compatible radio-clock, mini-fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, bathrobes and deluxe amenities, to name only a few. This type of room is usually highly recommended by our reservation staff when guests are traveling with friends or family. Providing a spacious area, it is great to have this place to let the kids play! Also, as you mentioned, we are located in the Nouvo St-Roch district, a new tourist destination born in dynamic sector of the capital, on the sidelines of Old Quebec. Our strategic downtown location, offers our guest a large variety of activities to enjoy! Multiple restaurants, café, boutique are situated close by the hotel, as well as the Old Port of Quebec City, the Old Quebec City itself and much more! Usually, a 15 minutes’ walk is plenty enough to get to the walls of the old Quebec City, and thus, to the main touristic attractions. Again, thank you for a most generous review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    586
    204
    60
    23
See reviews for
359
474
53
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had stayed at this hotel in 2012 and decided to stay again for two nights and were not disappointed. The hotel is a short bus ride to the old town and the bus stop is not far from the front door of the hotel. It is about a 5 minute bus ride to Rue St Jean and get off the bus there and walk into the old town at St Jean Gate. We had a quiet room at the end of the hall.
The Hotel is located in the community area of St Roch and there is a drug store across the
street from the hotel where you can purchase bus tickets , there is also a second cup coffee store
and at small convenience store where you can purchase beer or wine if you like. The airport is quite a ways from the hotel about 10 miles and its about $40.00 to the airport for a cab. If you are travelling light you could walk about 2km from the airport by following rue principale , cross route Aeroport which becomes rue St Jacques to the intersection of Rue St Jacques and Rue Notre Dame. There is a small strip mall at this intersection with a National Bank Branch in it.
I put the National Bank in my GPS on my first trip so I could find this location at a later date.
The bus runs about every hour and about halfway it comes to a bus loop where you have to change busses. I also found out there is bus service from the city to airport in the morning 2 busses and returning busses in the afternoon. I had rented a car from the airport and did not need it for the whole time we were in Quebec City so had to get out to the airport to pickup the car. The parking at the Best Western is $ 20 per day and it is a gated lot next to the hotel. We did not have the rental car when staying at this hotel.
The hotel has a pool which is nice and a restaurant which we did not use. There is not complimentary breakfast at this best western. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: End of hallway is quieter on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetboy727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed our great location and the comfort of our rooms. In fact, we are located downtown Quebec City, in the Nouvo St-Roch district to be more precise, a new tourist destination born in dynamic sector of the capital, on the sidelines of Old Quebec. According to Google Maps, there is actually 1.2 km (0.75 miles) that separates our property from the entrance of the Old City which is approximately 15 minutes by walk. As you mentioned, a cheap cab ride or a 3$ public transportation (bus) ride may bring you directly in the heart of the Old City easily. Also, we effectively offer a valet parking which is 22$ plus taxes per night and is with in and out privileges. We believe that the valet parking option is a must in Quebec City, since there is no much self-parking and parking lots in the Downtown area. It is, then, the easiest and even, usually, the cheapest way to park. However, this parking solution is absolutely not mandatory and the front desk staff is always available to help our guest to find public parking. Also, the Quebec City Jean-Lesage International airport is effectively not located in the downtown area. A 35$ flat rate taxi ride is offered to all, but as you mentioned there are public transportations you may use. The bus number 80 runs multiple times during the day between the Place Jacques-Cartier (right in front of the hotel) and the corner of “Notre-Dame Street” and the “Route de l’Aéroport”, leaving you only 3.5 km walk from the main entrance of the Quebec City International Airport (YQB). You simply have to present yourself at the bus stop in front of the Couche-Tard Convenience store and a National Bank of Canada. The ride takes about an hour and a half, including the small walk, and cost the same rate as a ride between the hotel and the Old Quebec City: 3$! Please, do not hesitate to visit the RTC website to have more information on the public transportation system of Quebec City! Again, thanks you for taking the time to share your great comment with travelers. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a nice hotel, updated comfortable rooms. The hotel is a little bit away from the old city but not to far to be a problem. I was in the area for meetings at one of the universities and this was an excellent location (very close). This hotel is also a great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NLtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for this very positive review on your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post it. Your feedback is appreciated. As you mentioned, our great location effectively offers a good opportunity to visit the Old Quebec City for all travelers, as well as the Old port of Quebec and more local areas as the St-Joseph Street. However, if you are in Quebec for a business trip, our central location, within the Nouvo St-Roch district is a great plus! Indeed, you are couple of minutes walking distance from the Quebec University and the ENAP University, two of the main professional establishment in Quebec City. Even more, the St-Roch district is actually one of the most vibrant business areas in Quebec. Also called the “technology area”, many great businesses have been implanted around the hotel! Moreover, The Convention Center is a short cab drive or a 3$ trip in the Quebec City public transportation, which you can reach a couple of steps from the main entrance of our establishment! Again, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We would be pleased to have you stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We highly recommend this hotel, The staff where amazing and very helpful. They gave us many tips about good restaurants and interesting activitiesand upgraded our room. The location is great, 15 minutes walk from the old city.
We will return to this hotel in our next visit in Quebec.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and have lots of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for such a positive review about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. . I am particularly happy to read that you appreciated our dedicated, efficient and multilingual team members. We strive to ensure that our staff always takes time to interact with our guests by suggesting activities, recommending restaurants, showing directions, etc. We are continuously improving our level performance to offer our customers the most amazing experience as possible and we sincerely thank you for your appreciation. You may be sure I was very pleased to share your good comments with our staff! Also. I am glad to know that you enjoyed being upgraded to one of our business class room. Actually, when the availability permits it, we like to upgrade guests to either business class rooms or executive class rooms. Pleasing guests is our #1 goal! All room categories offer the same level of quality and cleanliness and offers standard high quality natural memory foam mattresses, mp3/ipod compatible radio-clock, synthetic duvet comforter to name only a few. However, Business Class and Executive categories offer you that little plus most of people are looking for! When staying in a business class room, you are guaranteed to be on a higher floor and be provided with a mini-fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, bathrobes and deluxe amenities as well. If you are looking for more luxury, an Executive room is for you. These rooms are located in a private section of the hotel and offer the same benefits as the Business Class but the main advantage is the exclusive extra-large deluxe glass shower with rain shower head. It is a must! Once again, thank you for your great comments. I am glad you took the time to share them with the Tripadvisor readers and I hope my answer will help their travel shopping experience! We look forward to welcome you again when you will be back in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had never been to Quebec City before, and booked the trip in a last minute situation. We had no idea where to stay and after reviewing a few hotels this one's price and location seemed ideal. We were not dissapointed, it is not in old Quebec which is where we spent most of our time sightseeing but it is fairly close. The rooms were clean, and the staff were very hepfull in suggesting restaurants and areas to check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Bonjour!

Thank you for your great comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we take this information in consideration to analyze our performance and, eventually, take measures to recreate an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Your contribution helps us to always get further in outstanding service quality and we sincerely thank you for the time you spent sharing your experience with TripAdvisor members! Be sure I was very pleased to share your comments with our entire team! I am also glad to read that you “were not disappointed” by our great location. In fact, we are located downtown Quebec City, in the Nouvo St-Roch district to be more precise. Nouvo St-Roch is a new tourist destination, born in dynamic sector of the capital, on the sidelines of Old Quebec. According to Google Maps, there is actually 1.2 km (0.75 miles) that separates our property from the entrance of the Old City which is approximately 15 minutes by walk. The multiple activities, such as excellent restaurants, boutiques and local coffee shops provide our guest an incredible experience, only couple blocks away from the Old Quebec City! Moreover, as you mentioned, the Old Quebec City is he most touristic section of the city and offers a lot to do and see! Here are some tips: the Quebec City Winter Carnival is coming up and with it, a lot of great winter activities for young’s and older ones! If you are planning to come in Quebec soon, this period is certainly a great choice! The entire city is transformed and many sites are at your disposal to enjoy the amazing winter season! As well, the Ice Hotel of Quebec City, one of the biggest ice structures in the world, is back! Let’s take a look, I am sure you will all me surprised by this incredible construction! Again, thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre the next time you are in Quebec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Going to Quebec City in January isn't going to be a warm affair. I'd have to stay it was a true pleasure getting back to the room after walking around in the freezing rain/snow. It was so nice and comfortable; the bed was great; lots of pillows, big and comfortable. Everything was pleasantly updated and clean.

The location wasn't bad, but it could have been better. I would have liked to be closer to the old city; but it is nice and close to some of the less touristy areas of the city. Parking was super annoying, but they did have valet, so I can't complain that I'm too cheap to use it! Also, no free breakfast never makes friends w/ me.

Room Tip: The 6th floor is the newest, and apparently recently added.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCarson699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Bonjour!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As a matter of fact, the importance of a clean and well-maintained hotel has become the number one priority for guests, just like you. We take several steps to ensure to deliver clean room daily, so guest can enjoy the comfort of our room free of mind. As the service, cleanliness is one of our most important priority and we are very proud to read that you enjoyed the quality of our establishment! Be sure I was very pleased to share such good comments with our front desk and housekeeping staff, which strive daily to offer our guests the most amazing stay as possible. It is very important for us to provide our guests an experience that exceed their expectations and always improve our level of performance! Also, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our locally manufactured Essentia memory foam mattresses! Their Memory foam sleep are designed so that each layer of foam and latex within the mattress work together harmoniously to create a unified surface that interacts intrinsically with the human body ensuring the best possible sleep surface. Moreover, as Quebec citizens we are used to the cold season. However, we do understand that the winter season may be very hard to enjoy for tourists and travelers. Nevertheless, great activities as the Quebec City winter Carnival,, the Ice Hotel and multiple Ice rink and sports activities sites are very good reason to give it a shot! As you mentioned, parking in Quebec City is hard to find, especially during the cold season due to snow removing operations. This is mainly why we are offering a 22$ plus taxes valet service parking. Including the in and out privileges, this option is, according to us, the easiest, most secure and cheapest parking solution in the downtown area. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Once again staying at this hotel was our best choice. Rooms were clean and good looking. We had free vale parking and great service. We shopped around for a great rate and they delivered. TV screens were nice and large with great colour that the kids enjoyed before going to sleep. Perhaps this should be a five star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantalB330, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. Customer service is one of our top priorities and when we receive comments such as yours, it confirms that our efforts are not made in vain. Also, I would like to precise that we are offering a valet service parking that cost 22$ + taxes per night. Due to our central location, free parking is hard to find and we believe our valet service provides the best simple and secure option for your car, with unlimited in an out access. This option is absolutely not mandatory and we are very pleased to help or guests, upon check-in, to find other parking options around the hotel. However, please note that, since we are located in one of the main areas in Quebec City, free parking is usually not an option. As well, as you mentioned, we are located in an incredible district called Nouvo St-Roch. This new touristic destination is born in a dynamic sector of the capital, 1.2 Km away from the Old Quebec City. Our sector was the old working class neighborhood now reborn as center stage for the city’s artistic events and as a cultural hub. The design of this commercial artery allows visitors to discover a pleasant and innovative real life environment. Restaurant of all styles and prices in addition of a host of different boutiques are located on the popular St-Joseph Street, within five minutes walking form our hotel. Again, thank you for a most generous review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Address: 330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing