We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We (my wife and our two spaniels) spent two nights at this hotel which was very convenient for the old city, as well as for some local parks where we could walk the dogs (in particular Victoria Park). The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we had no problems with our spaniels, although we were on the 5th floor which was not always convenient if we wanted to get the dogs out quickly, especially as the lifts were quite busy and therefore took a long time to arrive. Our room was large and pleasant with a spacious and comfortable bed. We were within easy walking distance of many small restaurants and for the old city centre - so we didn't have to drive to get there and we could take the dogs with us. Although the restaurants were strict about not allowing dogs inside, many of them had terraces outside, where the dogs could sit with us. We were not overwhelmingly in need of wi-fi but we did use it and found it very erratic. The valet parking system was well worth the $20 a night, and although there were spaces on the streets nearby, I would have been concerned abouot the security of the car. Altogether, good value.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a busy neighbourhood, surrounded by roads, and whilst there was not a great deal of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Bonjour!
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post such a great and positive review. It is a true a pleasure to read that you noticed the passion that animates our staff. When working in service like we do, recognition is as important as the salary! Also, as a Pet Friendly Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed our doggie welcome kit that includes a bottle of water, a bag of kibble food, a biodegradable serving dish, some waste pick-up bags and baked cookie treats! For the benefit of tripadvisor readers, I would like to precise that we accept pet weighing less than 80 pounds / 36 Kilos (excluding exotic animals). There are fees of $15 per night, a maximum of $ 90 per week for cleaning purpose, except service dog, they stay free. And normally, there is a maximum of 2 pets per room. As a pet owner, we consider guests traveling with pet as fully responsible for their pet's behavior. After check-out, we deeply clean the room and shampoo the carpet to refrain allergies. To conclude, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec for your next stop in Québec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I had another great stay at this hotel. Valet parking was easy, check in was quick & efficient, and the room was spacious & clean. We were also given free breakfast coupons for two for each morning, which was such a nice surprise! I enjoyed the pool and hot tub, and all the beautiful murals in the pool room. Murals almost always look really corny but they did an excellent job at this hotel. The walk to Old Quebec is about 20 minutes, which I don't mind because there's a Starbucks on the way and many gift shops and restaurants. I'll definitely be back at this hotel on my next visit to Quebec City (which I'm hoping will be soon).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danieal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Bonjour!

Thank you for your great review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post it. I am glad you enjoyed the walk to the old city area. We are very proud of our privileged location in the city, making almost all of Quebec sight and attractions easy to reach for our guests by walk. We are indeed perfectly suited to discover the old walled city, which is 1.2 Km from the hotel or about 15 minutes walking distance, but also many other interests. Also, be sure I was very pleased to share your good comments with our entire team. Since the service is our first priority, we are continuously improving our level of performance to offer our customers the most amazing experience as possible and we sincerely thank you for your appreciation. Again, thank you for your good comments and recommendations. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night while visiting Quebec.
First thing we realized, parking is expensive. So just park on the street instead.
Staff is nice and smiley. Got us check in and later checked out very quickly.
The rooms are spacious, but carpet in need of proper cleaning as it was stained. Beds are comfy and bathroom is standard.
I didn't really like the area around the hotel, seemed kinda run down. But it was safe nonetheless.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LadyWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them since it is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction. We totally understand that our parking may not please everyone. Unfortunately, it is the safest and easiest solution to avoid bigger inconvenience to our clients in a city like ours where finding parking is a daily struggle. Our Valet service, is thus according to us, the easiest way for our guest to park. However, as you mentioned, it is possible to find street parking or public parking in the area, as our valet service is absolutely not mandatory. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel was fairly clean, but on the second day they left us without any soaps or toiletries, the pool is nice but very small, and the WIFI is terrible, so if you need internet i'd bring a mifi. Bottom line is good hotel for the price with a bar and restaurant too, but terrible wifi

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cfrie1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Good Day,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed our clean and welcoming rooms, restaurant, coffee shops and our greatest proud, out great staff members! We understand the importance of an access to internet when you are on the road or traveling away from home. Thus, we offer a free wireless high-speed internet access provided by the largest hotel internet supplier in North America “IHotelier”. However, we also offer an optional ultimate speed optic fiber service at 4.95$ plus taxes for a 24h period, proposing a loading speed up to 10 Mbit/s downstream and up to 8 Mbits/s upstream, no download limit imposed. Furthermore, we also provide three (3) working stations and printer in our lobby that are fully accessible 24/7 by our guests. Our safety parameters are set by IHotelier in order to give a wide range of web access to our guests traveling for both business & leisure. Management understands how important internet is to retain patronage of those who travel for leisure and business people who make living on the road. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced but I wish I had more information on the reasons of your disappointment to make a proper follow up. However, I would like to let Tripadvisor readers know that our front office people are trained to have an understanding of this issue. A toll-free 800 numbers is also offered by IHotelier to guests facing technical problems or requesting help to access the web. Our front office people will be happy to assist you. Management will continue to make sure our employees are trained to deliver service and experience to our clientele. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We would be pleased to have you stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Chose this hotel for the fact that it was Best Western and have stayed with them numerous times and had gift cards. The location was reasonable as there was restaurants nearby and not that far from old Quebec.

Yes, it is a walk up hill but if you plan ahead there are routes that are not as steep and do not have to climb all those stairs and that big hill to get into the main part of the city. We headed down the side streets and walked about the walls a bit and into the shopping area of the city. That worked quite well.

Then we found out we could actually have walked to the train station and then along the waterfront area and into lower Quebec. And this would not require any big hills. And could have then taking the funicular up.

Beds were comfortable and it was quiet where our room was located.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxationTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your great review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post it. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am particularly happy to hear that you appreciated our great rooms. We are continuously improving our level performance to offer our customers the most amazing experience as possible and we sincerely thank you for your appreciation. As a matter of fact, we are located within 10 minutes walking distance from the bus and train terminal and 20 minutes from the cruise terminal. Public transportation as well as taxis are available to help you discover the city from all different angles. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope you will think of us when you will be back in Quebec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nothing particularly special about the hotel but it does everything well - comfortable beds, well appointed rooms, friendly staff. Its a bit of a walk to Old Quebec (15 minutes) but that didn't really bother us. We did appreciate that we were able to check out some of the area around the hotel - something we would have never done had we been right in Old Montreal. There was a lovely pottery sale in the park up the street, great restaurants (Nina has fire-cooked pizzas), my fave tea house (Camelia Sinensis) just a few blocks away. The Old Port is also nearby and has a lot to offer. The hotel is good value for comfortable rooms if you aren't too bothered with a fairly short walk to the old city.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PrinterBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction. Also, our Memory foam sleep system from our Essentia mattresses are designed so that each layer of foam and latex within the mattress work together harmoniously to create a unified surface that interacts intrinsically with the human body ensuring the best possible sleep surface. Again thank you for your comments, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was considering staying at this hotel. I like Best Westerns and have had good experiences in the past with them. This hotel is not only farther than the description made it seem, but the walk is all uphill. We spent $20 more per day and stayed in the old town area. It was well worth it. Quebec City is a lot of up and down wlaking as it is. Don't want to have to tire yourself out just getting to town. Staying closer to eveything let us come back in the afternoon, put our feet up for a little while, have a nice glass of wine and then head out for dinner. Much more relaxing than the walk to this hotel would have been.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lindalee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am glad that you mentioned we are not located in the Old Quebec. In fact, according to Google Maps, the walk to reach the walls of the old city is 1.3 kilometers long and in part uphill. It takes a little less than 20 minutes to reach the walls of the Old City from our hotel and about 15 minutes for the return. We invite Tripadvisor readers to note that a free elevator is located at the end of our street (de la Couronne) for you to avoid climbing hills to the Old City. Our neighborhood, the Nouvo St-Roch, is also very entertaining. Within 2 minutes walk, our clients have access to many restaurants, shops and even theaters. St-Roch district has a much diversified arts and entertainments programming all year long. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 De la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £55 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing