We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too noisy to sleep - hotel room not fit for purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too noisy to sleep - hotel room not fit for purpose”
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I was assigned a room on the top floor. After receiving a parking ticket in town (only 3 minutes overdue) I decided to leave the car there and get up early in the morning (the hotel parking looked a bit tricky and expensive).

However there was so much humming noise coming from the ceiling (buggered HVAC bearings?) that I found it impossible to get to sleep. The primary purpose of *any* hotel is to have a bed to sleep in; if the room is too noisy then it's not fit for purpose. The staff couldn't or wouldn't assign me another room, wouldn't provide me with sleeping pills, and wouldn't offer me anything better than a marginal discount. Not at all impressed.

Ended up staying at a $30-ish-per-night motel somewhere near Sainte-Eulalie.

Location-wise I knew it was a bit out of the way, though the distance is compounded by a pretty steep hill.

If I ever return to Quebec City, I'll be staying at the Clarendon. Much nicer experience in every dimension.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, MAnager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
Thank you for you comments following your stay at the Best Western City Centre Quebec. I appreciate your taking the time to write a review and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and services that you were expecting. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    605
    211
    60
    23
See reviews for
378
485
54
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, MD
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

The hotel is okay, not really central to old Quebec. The room was nothing special with an oddly-placed sofa in front of the window. The view was nothing special - the rooftops of old Quebec. The restaurant was nothing special, but a bit pricy. The neighbourhood was okay, not dangerous but somehow everything seemed a trot.

But oh the parking. What a pain. Drawback 1 is the unavoidable great long wait at the front desk to get your free parking token; you have to stand in line with all the people checking in in the evening or out in the morning. What a bore. I had to wait one morning for 8 minutes in a crowded lobby just to get to my car. Drawback 2 is the great long walk to the car. What tedium. What a dingy hallway. Drawback 3 is the tiny parking stalls that require great skill to get in and out of - thank goodness for power steering.

I was in Quebec for business and then for pleasure; when my business was done I check out of that pain of a hotel and went someplace else which was much better.

  • Liked — Leaving it with a spring in my step.
  • Disliked — The painful problematic parking palaver.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AngloAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
First, we would like to thank you for your comments and review following your recent stay in Quebec City. The hotel offers a valet service for parking at 18.00$/car/day with in and out privileges. Quebec City and its city center is a "walkable" city therefore we do invite you to discover the only walled city located north of Mexico and its attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
219 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Booked a one night stay for around 60 Canadian Dollars, so I didn't have high expectations.

Well, after the taxi driver (who got paid 40 Dollars) from the Airport dropped me at reception I was met by David. He spoke English, he was welcoming, sincere and very pleasant.

He switched my twin room to a king room, without me requesting, the room itself was spacious, not too warm but it was -12 degrees outside. He also rang my room 10 mins later to ask if everything was okay (first time ever I've experienced that kind of service).

He was also more than happy to give me some tourist advice and he is certainly an asset to the hotel.

I tried the pool, but the water was really cold - it actually needed increasing by at least 5-8 degrees to be swimable. But the hot tub was nice and warm, but was very busy with people coming and going all the time.

I didn't try the restaurant or breakfast, but I had a very good time at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
First, we would like to thank you for your comments and review following your recent stay in Quebec City. Our hotel is located city center in the new revitalized St Roch district across the street from the Quebec City Public Library and within 15 - 20 minutes walking distance from the Historic Old City.Thank you for taking the time to tell us, by Tripadvisor, of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our hotel. We consider dedicated and competent staff members, like David (front desk), as our most valuable asset. He was pleased that you acknowledged his efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascouche, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Upsides: Price 113$ CDN for an hotel in downtown Quebec, kinda cheap! Everything was brand new in our room, especially in our bathroom... Great service at desk

Downsides: TV was small and old, water pressure for the shower was horrible, parking was a lot of trouble, staying there 4-5 years ago, they've got a free parking underneath hotel, but it's been condemned for structural damages. You got to pay 14 $CDN for a place at a nearby parking spot that is 2-3 min by foot or 18$ with a valet from the hotel

  • Liked — Cheap for the quality of staying
  • Disliked — Parking spots...
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bobtravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
First, we would like to thank you for your comments and review following your recent stay in Quebec City. Before, we had "reserved space" at the Public Parking Place Jacques Cartier for the hotel guest. 3 years ago, the city want to make renovation, the authority closed the Place Jacques Cartier Parking; the renovation are not finish yet. Alternate solution for our guest is a valet service for parking at 18.00$/car/day with in and out privileges. Public parking are also available around the hotel. Quebec City and its city center is a "walkable" city therefore we do invite you to discover the only walled city located north of Mexico and its attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#49 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville

Property: Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Address: 330 De la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing