We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed with staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
“disappointed with staff”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I just arrived home from a 3 night stay at the hotel le bonne entente. I was with a large group and we were there for a conference. The hotel was interesting and depending on where your room was, maybe quite a different experience. Our room was newly renovated but had the strongest smell of chemicals. The front desk was not so friendly. My friends were told about saving money by declining room cleaning service, but I was not offered this option. Booking the shuttle was interesting, turned out to be the most difficult when trying to return to the airport. The front desk told us it was not happening. But the amazing concierge made sure he got us the reservation and drove us. The staff in the hotel restaurant was slow and not very friendly. Our first evening, our food was amazing (seafood platter and oysters) but only had 1 drink and couldn't order more because the waitress never returned. My friend stood at the bar for over 40 mins waiting to order some wine and was ignored. WE WERE THRILLED WITH DOMINIC AND DENYS (concierge) who made our experience delightful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paba2010, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback. Note that your comments are very important to improve our service and we are truly sorry for what happened.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service at the restaurant and for our lack about the "Save the Planet" program. But, it would have been our pleasure to add the information to your reservation if we were informed you were interested in the program. I've been working for the hotel for 16 years now and our employees are the reason of our success.

Le Bonne Entente is renowned for the quality of its customer service. Our awards 4 stars and 5 diamonds are our pride and our employees work hard to achieve one goal: make the customer experience memorable!

I would like to inform you that our staff will be met in order to prevent another experience like yours.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Le Bonne Entente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    113
    76
    26
    16
See reviews for
130
285
9
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Same old story, pictures make it look nicer than it is, bigger than it is. It was nice, free WiFi was a life saver with teenagers. The pool was disappointing, and not easy to get to. There was a nice reading room with a fireplace but it was a pass through to get to another portion of the hotel, so not very quiet. Room it self was spacious and comfortable. We ate at the steak house at the restaurant, on the porch. It was lovely and relaxing. Our waiter spoke limited English, and we spoke limited French but he was very sweet and attentive. Meanwhile the front desk was less than helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thechrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback, we always want to improve our services.

Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We reserved 2 room more than a month in advanced, even paid in advance!! We had one room Terzo and one Business room. The Terzo room at 179$ was fine, but the Business room was awful, we had room 122 on February 15, look like a old Day’s in or Super 8 room, at 159$ it was unbelievable. We have tried many other hotels in Quebec City and this is the worst for the price. Look at the picture that we took. We went to the front desk but they could not do anything except offer us to upgrade to a suite at 430$ a night....ridicules. DO NOT BOOK A BUSINESS ROOM, they are not as on pictures on their web site, very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not take the Business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions de prendre le temps de nous faire part de vos commentaires à la suite de votre dernier séjour. Sachez que ceux-ci sont très appréciés et nous permettent d’améliorer notre prestation de services.

Nous avons effectivement un parc hôtelier diversifié avec plusieurs types de chambres pouvant ainsi convenir à tous les budgets. Il est également vrai que d’un point de vue esthétique, la chambre « Affaires » lit king n’offre pas le modernisme des autres chambres mais il n’en reste pas moins que le confort ainsi que la qualité des fournitures présentes dans la chambre soient les mêmes dans tout l’hôtel et répondent aux normes 5 étoiles que nous devons respecter. La section affaires lit king représente 7% de notre parc hôtelier.
Un suivi a déjà été fait pour apporter les correctifs nécessaires.


Merci encore et au plaisir de vous revoir.

Pascale Banville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We travel from the states every year to ski Mount Saint Anne this time of year. The only place we stay is Chateau Bonne Entente. We would rather spend time with our friends there then travel to the Alps in France. Our language skills which are rather poor sad to say is never challenged or a source of humiliation. We only wish the NHL was still in town.

Room Tip: It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivieres
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have mixed feelings about the place. We accepted a Terzo room instead of the suite that was included in our package (with no compensation from the hotel). We asked for more coffee (K-cups) and were told it would be extra. Luckily for us, they forgot or decided not to add it to our bill. The room was very nice, though it looks better than it is practical. Love the hardwood floors. Air conditioning/heating system was very noisy. Darn TV remote was a drag to operate. View of the pond was nice. Bed was very comfy. Hotel is like a maze. Very awkward layout. Gym is small but functional. Worth trying, especially in summer because of the pool, but a bit expensive in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you like contemporary design, ask for a Terzo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madenjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Travelling all the way from India, Le Bonne Entente was a good week long stay and I really liked the place. The people are warm and welcoming, the breakfast is lovely and the rooms are clean and well equipped, for the price they offer.
Considering it was my first time in Quebec, I wouldn't know of how it compares to other places, but I've travelled and lived in Germany and Singapore and I find this hotel quite nice.
Nothing fancy and out of the world special, but I have nothing to complain.

Room Tip: You might have to walk quite a bit to some of the rooms so do check if you have rooms closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmarTheNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear value guest,

On behalf of the General Manager, Alain April, and the entire team of Le Bonne Entente, we would like to thank you for this wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Pascale Banville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked this through priceline and the hotel was rated 4.5*. When we arrived, it looked really nice and we thought we got a great deal until we went to our room which was located in an obscure part of the hotel. We got into our room and it was nice but on closer look we had a 20" TUBE TV!! after laughing at that, we were entertained by all the noise generated. We got to listen to others "banging on the wall", walking in their rooms above us at 6am in the morning and the hot tub spa noise that was outside of our room as well. The bathroom and facilities were very dated, although the room was nice. I would not rate it a 4.5* at all. I think that for the location you could get better hotels. The deal that we received was $126 per night, that turned into $190 after all the service charges and taxes for Quebec!!

Room Tip: No elevator and choose a room in the middle of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCJass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bonne Entente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bonne Entente

Property: Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Address: 3400 Chemin Sainte-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1X 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Bonne Entente 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Bonne Entente, an elegant five-star, four-diamond located in the Business District, allows you to discover Quebec City and major attractions. The hotel will enchant you with its gardens, beautifully landscaped, swimming pool, fitness, jacuzzi open year round and Amerispa. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport, near Old Quebec City, and within close proximity to the museum, theatre, golf La Tempête, and skiing. Shuttle service available, reservation is necessary, contact reception for schedule and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bonne Entente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bonne Entente Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Bonne Entente Sainte Foy
Hotel Le Bonne Entente Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing