We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

So pleasantly surprised with this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed here Oct 13th-15th (2 nights). Check-in was smooth, friendly and informative. Upon arriving in the room we were so surprised at how modern it was AND we were greated but soft jazz music that was on the tv - just an nice added touch. The room was very clean with very modern amenities including flat screen tv. The bathroom was my favourite part tho - there was an all glass stand up shower with removable shower head (water pressure was also excellent! The shower leaked a little, but I don't think I've ever been in a stand up shower that didn't) The lighting was great and there was an extra make up mirror. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows.
Side note: They had fresh McIntosh apples right by the elevators every day (on the main level) which was great if you were running out and needed a snack for later! (Not sure if this is an all the time thing or not.)

The location is great. You're directly across the street from a gigantic mall and surrounded by lots of restaurants and downtown hot spots. For breakfast, we ate at "Cosmos" just down the street. Great food with fantastic portions. There's also a Starbucks in the same plaza as the hotel - bonus!

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend this hotel as well as stay here again!

Room Tip: I think we stayed on the 5th floor. It was really quiet, and our view was average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    152
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
143
19
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Loved this hotel! It’s a little gem I found great reviews of here on TripAdvisor and was excited to experience it for myself over a long weekend getaway with my boyfriend. We stayed two nights, and were so pleasantly surprised! The hotel is very modern, clean, and chic, with all the modern amenities. When we arrived in our room, there was music playing quietly and it certainly added a welcoming feel! The room was spotless, and staff were friendly and helpful.

Parking was a bit of a pain at times as it was rather full, but they have access to free underground parking when you get the gate remote from the front desk. The body products (soap, lotion, shampoo) line was fresh and delightful, and the beds were very comfortable!

Location was great! It’s close to many restaurants, shopping mall, and just a short drive from Old Quebec or to the Aquarium. We were able to enjoy a lot on foot. The philosophy of losing the “frills” of many chains and other hotels doesn’t mean that they cut back on any of the essentials! What they do is done right, and I didn’t even miss the ‘extras’ that they forgo for increased value!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALTQuebec, Front Office Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Ms Amanda,

This is such a nice review!
I must say I especially liked this part: ''What they do is done right''.
It is one of our guidelines in our everyday work, indeed.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

When in Quebec, this is my choice! The place is perfect for business travel or for couples. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom has this "wow factor". A nice detail: they turn the radio in your room to a soft jazz channel so you're welcomed by music.
You get luxury for a very reasonable price (135 CAD for my room). The location is perfect, near everything from big shopping malls to restaurants.
Le Bistango, the hotel's restaurant, is the place for fine dining and you get a four course meal with a glass of wine for 50 CAD.
Staff is young and friendly.
If I absolutely must say something negative... Well... It would be that the towels could use softener.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuebecDeltaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord,MA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Nicely done Euro type hotel convenient to the airport and next door to large mall. Sparse but sleek modern decor reminded me of Euro Hotels in Germany and Netherlands. Pleasant staff. On site restaurant serves breakfast starting at 7 am- too late for our early morning meetings but there is a Starbuck in the same building open at 6 am. Bedding is amongst the best- Euro style duvet and great mattress. Nice sleek shower and bathroom.

No health club on site (a must for me) but you can get a pass for a $ 10 daily use at a health club a five minute walk through the mall (large with lots of equipment. At $ 130 CAN a night this hotel is a nice bargain. If you are heading to old City it may not be so convenient especially between 8am-930 am and from 4-6 pm with jammed rush hour traffic. Bus Service but will take you about 45 minutes

Staff is friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended- but may not be the most convenient to old town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We chose this hotel because of others reviews and we loved it! Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Very modern/streamline decor, with all the essentials. Next door to everything! Malls, restaurants and the local bus which goes right to Old Quebec! Looking forward to our next trip to Canada.

Room Tip: We used the suggested trip advisor code when booking and got a nice upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Gravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I have stayed here many times for business. Super comfy and clean. Rooms are well insulated and decor is minimalist and modern. They think of everything and the staff is very friendly and accommodating! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtmh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very nice boutique hotel near the St. Lawrence River in the middle of Quebec City. The hotel has a spare decor that I like. Each room appears to be out-fitted with a Bose stereo and LCD TV (a little small but fits the room just fine,) The beds are fantastic and the pillows are just right. Mini-refrigerator, desk/chair and easy chair complete the accessories. This is the second stay here for me and I've found this hotel to be quite comfortable both times. The staff greeted us warmly and were very accommodating. The hotel restaurant is quite good and the staff there is also excellent. If you would like to venture about for dining there are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance. This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobAmick1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#51 of 102 in Quebec City
319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.1 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 102 in Quebec City
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#72 of 102 in Quebec City
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Property: Hotel ALT Quebec
Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing