We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As usual a great stay, the bed is very comfortable, the pillows are wonderfully fluffy, well located and easy to travel and commute to various locations in and around Quebec City.

As usual the staff is friendly and if you are a repeat guest checking in and out is a breeze.

Room Tip: The Bistango restaurant is great and offers a special for hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    152
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
143
19
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel was very tastefully renovated. Quiet environment. Very pleasant staff. We were there for one evening after being at Monte St Anne for the World Cup mountain bike races. Close enough to the Old City area by a short drive. It was a well decorated room, nice bedding with the best sheets and pillows, elegant bathroom with make up mirror, little refrigerator, Bose radio. Only could be improved by adding an Ipod dock and a little microwave. No AC noise; thermostatically controlled. Would definitely choose to return. Best value for price, location and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights to attend a conference at Laval University, which is at a convenient walking distance (through huge shopping malls if you prefer!). Friendly staff with a smile, always ready to help with any question or concern. For example, they lent me an ambrella in my last day of stay because of the rain (obviously!). I also tried dinner at the hotel's restaurant "Le Bistango", which was not bad, but a bit pricey (even with a 20% discount that you get if you are staying at the hotel). The reason why I am not giving 5 stars is because in one day I left my room at around 3:15 pm in the afternoon (I was working all morning on my presentation) with a sign to make the room on the door; however, when coming back in the evening I found the room was not made up. I guess may be it was too late, but, I remember seeing the housekeepers on the same floor near the elevator when leaving my room, and obviously they saw me (we even say "bon jour"!).
Will I stay here again? Yes, if I visit Laval University again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ES_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

LOCATION about 7km from downtown, many malls nearby, easy access from highways. There's a starbucks next door. Public transport will take you downtown in half an hour, the bus stop is just half a block from the hotel.

ROOMS are new, stylish, well appointed and clean. The standard rooms, called concept rooms, are unfortunately pretty small. The so-called design plus rooms offer quite a bit more space, but, paradoxically, don't look as nice as the standard rooms. But that is in the eye of the beholder anyhow. Unfortunately there are no rooms with two beds, so it becomes a bit expensive for a family.

FRONT DESK staff are friendly, quick and helpful.

ROOM SERVICE brought us a decent meal, no complaints at all.

CONCLUSION if you don't want/need to be downtown, this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night, it's worth paying up for a larger room as the concep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloballySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Really love the place, Quiet, new hotel, staff very friendly. Close to many malls on Boul. Laurier. We brought our food in the room, with 2 young kids, to enjoy the room and relax with them. A place to discover ! Very small parking lot if you are driving....thanks again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeroben61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Alt Hotel offers a very professional ambiance and flavourfully decorated rooms. It's located close to the major thoroughfares, across the street from a main shopping complex, and offers easy access to the city by public transit. Parking is free and secure in the underground lot. However, what tops it is the friendly staff. Absolutely wonderful - highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunjooadvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent ten glorious days and nights in Quebec City and our base of operations was the Alt. From the moment we arrived until the minute we left Monday morning, we were treated royally.

This is a hotel designed to be enjoyed but at the same time mindful of the environment, and that made my wife and I happy. Carbon footprint and all. When we arrived at the hotel on July 12, we were greeted warmly by the staff, including Catherine, with whom I spoken on the phone and in emails before coming up there. The enthusiasm of the front desk never waned during our stay.

The room, which was one of the largest ones, was sparsely but well appointed and there was attention to every detail save one. Room darkening material would have been great, because in July sunrise in Quebec City is 5:15 am. But the king-size bed was perfect, the bedding was high quality and we were more than pleasantly surprised by a welcome note and some delicious chocolate left on the bed to greet us upon arrival. If the hotel would like to send us a set of those sheets we will gracefully accept them.

The bathroom was sparklingly clean and everything worked well. The water pressure and the amount of water available was limited to conserve the precious resource. By the way, Quebec City water is great, better even than ours in New York.

The towels were soft and absorbent and the soaps, conditioners and shampoo were wonderful. The hotel was quiet and filled with mostly middle-aged people, very respectful of fellow travelers.

The parking lot, one of the few free in QC, isn't large but we always found a space.

Back to the staff. They were great, making reservations when we needed them, getting us directions both for car and bus. Gave great suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing. They were all terrific and choosing to highlight one over the others would be insulting to everyone else. There may be no concierge desk, but every staffer at the Alt acts as one. If they don't know something, they investigate and get back to you. They NEVER give you wrong information.

I hope we go back to QC in the future and would only stay at the ALT if we do. While the neighborhood is not within walking distance to the downtown, buses are plentiful and daily, two-day and weekly bus passes are pretty reasonable.

So Catherine, Marie and the rest of the people working the front desk, the secret is now out and you need to continue this high level of service. I know you will!!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room not facing the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyredhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvieDionne, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
WOW! We are always pleased to get great comments but it definitely has ad added value from guests who stayed for such a long stay.

I am also glad you noticed and appreciate our intentions and gestures towards a greener planet.

You liked our bed sheets... you are not the only one so we sell them and they can be shipped to your home, even in the U.S. Go online to Collection ALT. Sleep well and come back soon.

Sylvie Dionne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#51 of 102 in Quebec City
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.1 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 102 in Quebec City
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#70 of 102 in Quebec City
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Property: Hotel ALT Quebec
Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing