We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart Accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smart Accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very friendly staff. Clean and crisp. Well connected to the public transport system to go to the old city. Easy commute. Breakfast is very good though a bit on the costly side. Virtually across the street from a prestigious mall. Reasonably convenient parking arrangement.
There are plenty of restaurants within walking range. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Toiletries were good but not wasteful.
The concierge helped us to plan our trip with proper maps and identifying places of interest. They were very helpful and friendly and most of them speaks English.
We loved the trip.

Room Tip: we requested a room with outer view and they did the rest.We were in the sixth floor and had a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipuandApuinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    148
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
139
17
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

As usual a great stay, the bed is very comfortable, the pillows are wonderfully fluffy, well located and easy to travel and commute to various locations in and around Quebec City.

As usual the staff is friendly and if you are a repeat guest checking in and out is a breeze.

Room Tip: The Bistango restaurant is great and offers a special for hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel was very tastefully renovated. Quiet environment. Very pleasant staff. We were there for one evening after being at Monte St Anne for the World Cup mountain bike races. Close enough to the Old City area by a short drive. It was a well decorated room, nice bedding with the best sheets and pillows, elegant bathroom with make up mirror, little refrigerator, Bose radio. Only could be improved by adding an Ipod dock and a little microwave. No AC noise; thermostatically controlled. Would definitely choose to return. Best value for price, location and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights to attend a conference at Laval University, which is at a convenient walking distance (through huge shopping malls if you prefer!). Friendly staff with a smile, always ready to help with any question or concern. For example, they lent me an ambrella in my last day of stay because of the rain (obviously!). I also tried dinner at the hotel's restaurant "Le Bistango", which was not bad, but a bit pricey (even with a 20% discount that you get if you are staying at the hotel). The reason why I am not giving 5 stars is because in one day I left my room at around 3:15 pm in the afternoon (I was working all morning on my presentation) with a sign to make the room on the door; however, when coming back in the evening I found the room was not made up. I guess may be it was too late, but, I remember seeing the housekeepers on the same floor near the elevator when leaving my room, and obviously they saw me (we even say "bon jour"!).
Will I stay here again? Yes, if I visit Laval University again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ES_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

LOCATION about 7km from downtown, many malls nearby, easy access from highways. There's a starbucks next door. Public transport will take you downtown in half an hour, the bus stop is just half a block from the hotel.

ROOMS are new, stylish, well appointed and clean. The standard rooms, called concept rooms, are unfortunately pretty small. The so-called design plus rooms offer quite a bit more space, but, paradoxically, don't look as nice as the standard rooms. But that is in the eye of the beholder anyhow. Unfortunately there are no rooms with two beds, so it becomes a bit expensive for a family.

FRONT DESK staff are friendly, quick and helpful.

ROOM SERVICE brought us a decent meal, no complaints at all.

CONCLUSION if you don't want/need to be downtown, this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night, it's worth paying up for a larger room as the concep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloballySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Really love the place, Quiet, new hotel, staff very friendly. Close to many malls on Boul. Laurier. We brought our food in the room, with 2 young kids, to enjoy the room and relax with them. A place to discover ! Very small parking lot if you are driving....thanks again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeroben61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Alt Hotel offers a very professional ambiance and flavourfully decorated rooms. It's located close to the major thoroughfares, across the street from a main shopping complex, and offers easy access to the city by public transit. Parking is free and secure in the underground lot. However, what tops it is the friendly staff. Absolutely wonderful - highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunjooadvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.1 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#65 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Property: Hotel ALT Quebec
Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing