We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel on Boulevard Laurier”
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on Boulevard Laurier”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i have had several trips now to Qubec in the Boulevard Laurier and over the years have stayed in many along Laurier. But this trip I decided to return to The Alt because clearly for me it is the best.
The outside does not look much but where it wins hands down are the rooms,
Great comfortable room for working in with good lightning and lovely beds.
Nice bathroom with excellent shower and facilities you expect from an above average hotel.

The hotel has bar facilities at the front desk for a beer or snacks and there are fruit available by the lifts along with French\Canadian papers.
No restaurant directly on-site but they use a bistro connected on the same complex.
I did not use the restaurant or breakfast at the hotel as there is a Starbucks a few metres away and I prefer other Laurier restaurants.

Staff very friendly, had me checked in quickly and happy to help out during the week.

For me its the only hotel i will choose now when visiting this area of Quebec.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    158
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
149
19
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Pet-friendly hotel is not just a word, the hotel managers and stuff REALLY like the pets. We have been travelling with our German shepherd, did not have any problem even with that size dog.

On the light side:
- Free valet parking was a pleasant surprise after 9 hours on the road, we just left car at the hotel entrance and get the key back during check-out and the car was waiting at the entrance. Nice.
- All room content, including dog's stuff ;) was new, clean and comfy.
- Very quiet inside, no unpleasant noise was noticed.
- Good and stable Wi-Fi : 3.30 Mbps download, 3.90 Mbps upload, ping 22 ms.
- Very good, high class toiletries.
- Modern and comfortable shower.
- The room breakfast was served just in time, the warm products were warm, and cold were cold enough. The server was very kind and friendly.
- Good value for the money.

On the dark side, I should mention that the shower door is too fancy, so when taking the shower water is leaking on the floor. Would suggest re-think the design and do something.

Very easy way to the hotel from highway, take an exit and follow sign to Laurier Blvd. and make turn to the hotel's street.
The hotel is not located in old city, so to get there you will need a drive or get a bus. Just across the road is a big The Bay mall. Good Japanese restaurant is just few steps away.

Would strongly recommend this hotel for people travelling in the cars with pet or without.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexanderGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Superb from A to Z. Staff at check in were polite and accommodating, no problem speaking English (and not in the least bothered by it, unlike some in Quebec). Rooms are modern with flat tv, white duvets , stand up shower and red chair. All very trendy, all except a relic of hotels past, a cleverly hidden fake wood panelled mini bar fridge. Breakfast was closed because of Easter but there's a Starbucks right next door, probably better that way as last time I was at there dining room the servers seemed a bit too old to be wearing so little clothes, felt like a burlesque (Quebec is supposed to be quasi France after all, so it's par for the course)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights Thursday to Sunday. Room was chic, quirky, comfortable and clean, absolutely no complaints. Service is discrete, efficient and very helpful

It's near to the old town, but doesn't have the charm, it's more German Eco Hoyle of a kind. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: It's near some busy ish roads, go high
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MulhollandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've stayed at this location many times for business and once for pleasure.
the rooms are modern nice and clean, the bathroom and shower are very nice as well. the beds are huge and comfortable.
Check in and check out are very smooth with helpful staff.
The complimentary apples outside the elevators always a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

If black and white and concrete and hard angles appeal to you, then this is the place. It tries very hard to portray a "cool" Eco image, but in the end it is just a hotel with no warmth whatsoever. Having just come from a quaint Quebecois B & B, it was a shock. When one is in Quebec city, one wants the atmosphere, not downtown NY chic. I was also very sore from skiing for 3 days and wished for a bath tub or a hot tub, NOT! But DO have breakfast at Cosmos across the street!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhojPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,
I am very sorry the specific room you got during your stay did not meet your expectations. We definitely do not offer the decor of a B & B but have a few different room types that may appeal to different needs and taste.
Some of our Concept rooms have different color shades of wood, with no concrete ceilings, and I feel our Design Plus rooms would suit you better: lots of wood paneling, bath tub with a glass wall dividing the bedroom and bathroom area, more spacious.
For breakfast, may I also recommend Le Bistango so you don't even have to walk across the street, they can even deliver to your room with a great view.
If you still want the Old Quebec atmosphere, we can also suggest our sister hotel in the Old Port of Quebec City, Hotel Le Germain-Dominion. In any case, I am sure we can totally satisfy you on your next visit.
Please do not hesitate to call and we will do the utmost to find the best suited room meeting your desire.
We hope to see you again soon and thank you for letting us know,

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Every time I go to Quebec City, I stay at the Alt Hotel. It's 10 minutes from the old town, it does not have the atmosphere of the old town but the price is really worth it. It's not cheap but it's modern with good equipment and it's very quiet, contrary to the Old town where it is noisy.

There is a no restaurant inside the hotel but one restaurant next door for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a Starbucks next door as well.

All in all, a very good choice gor Quebec City!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD-Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you dear JD-Photographer for this nice review.

I am not too sure you know our relationship/partnership with the restaurant Bistango is a nice and long term one, and for other readers, it is connected with the hotel as you do not have to go outside but walk the short hallway on the main level.

Room service through Bistango and packages are also available everyday.

See you soon,

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#48 of 101 in Quebec City
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#22 of 101 in Quebec City
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Property: Hotel ALT Quebec
Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing