We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uhhhh no”
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2004

This hotel is nothing like the website or the other hotels from the same group ( Hotel Dominion, Le GerMain in Montreal). This is a business travelers hotel and the photo on the website is NOTHING like what our room looked like. As Quebec City was crowded with a convention, we could not stay inside Old Quebec- but decided this hotel would be fine.
There is no funk, sophistication etc pulling up off the highway to this generic, pink hotel. The rooms look nothing like the website ( at least ours did not) and it was a half attempt at a re-do- where they did not finish the job. Lots of 80's cheesiness- bathrooms were mirrored, bad lighting and just all around a bad business like atmosphere. There is nothing wrong with that, but if you associate yourself with the other hotels and show photos of a light, warm, modern yet comfortable room you need to deliver! Location was horrible- and just seemed like the clientele they were trying to lure in on the website would be highly disappointed.
Of course if you go to Quebec you should stay inside the walls, but if you can't try and stay right outside the walls- even if it means staying at a larger chain type place. If you want funk,style and sophistication do not stay at Germain des Pres.

7  Thank larkoolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALTQuebec, Front Office Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear Larkoola,
We are proud to let you know that our hotel – formerly Germain des Prés – had an impressive makeover when changing name for ALT, in 2008.
All of our 126 rooms, including the bathrooms, have been completely renovated. Even our lobby is now more colorful and inviting.
Groupe Germain now operates two distinctive brands:
Le Germain Boutique-Hotels – luxurious, warm and refined;
ALT Hotels- trendy, innovative and friendly.
Their concept is different but both Le Germain and ALT hotels are extremely comfortable. Lastly, we can assure you the pictures you may see on our web site are highly accurate although we have two different room types with a completely different lay out and design.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 413 reviews

Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je suggère toujours les paliers les plus hauts pour le bruit et le va et vient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jérôme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienne B, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez la vue sur les ponts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stperic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienne B, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chanchan357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienne B, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank J-F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienne B, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#23 of 100 in Quebec City
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#31 of 100 in Quebec City
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 100 in Quebec City
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#54 of 100 in Quebec City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £112 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing