We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Would Recommend This Hotel To A Budget Conscious Traveler”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #89 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Would Recommend This Hotel To A Budget Conscious Traveler”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Clarion was a good hotel. The rooms were a bit small for a four person stay. There was a very limited space to put down your bags. The beds were clean and comfortable. The hotel service speaks both French and English, but if you are practicing French, they will switch over to English with you (disappointing). The only odd thing was the hotel advertises as smoke free, but I could definatley smell a faint odor when I walked into the lobby. The rooms, however, we're smoke free. I would recommend this hotel for a budget conscious looking for relatively close access to Quebec City.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseystick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Bonjour!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions following your most recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. Be assured that we have taken good note of your comments and they will be forwarded to our staff.

We are very proud to announce that we are working on renovation projects. An announcement should be made in a few weeks.

Hope to have the privilege to welcome you again in a near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    106
    112
    71
    58
See reviews for
126
132
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms at Clarion Hotel are nice. It is a pretty basic hotel room but it seems to be fairly new and well appointed compaired to other choice hotels. The bathroom is great, the modern bowl sink and nice shower head almost made me forget we were in a Clarion Hotel. I really liked that the room included a keurig so if you have any K-cups, I suggest bringing them (especially because the coffee at breakfast was not that good). I think the only main negative to this place is that the breakfast was not good. The eggs were watery and desgusting and the various breads/croissants were really dry, but hey I can't really compalin cause the rest of my stay was wonderful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank willistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Bonjour!

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your appreciation regarding your most recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you appreciated our product and our services.

Your comments are important to us because they give us the opportunity to improve the customer experience. Be assured that your points about the breakfast service will be share with our management team.

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you again in a near future, please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The room was booked for us by our tour operator advising this to be a 4 star hotel which it is not by any yard stick. On enquiry I was advised that it used to be in four star category but has been downgraded to 3 star due to non availability of certain facilities. There was only one employee deployed in this big hotel in the night shift as such for any need the traveller has to himself go to the reception for any need The hotel does not even provide drinking water in the rooms which is a basic requirement for any hotel as such I would not recommend this hotel to any traveller.
I, by mistake, left my camera charger and the battery in the hotel which could not be retrieved despite a number of calls to the hotel. Overall it was a bad experience.

Room Tip: With this type of facilities and service I would not advise anyone to stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pralhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

In regard to your camera, feel free to contact me at 1-800-463-5241. It will be a pleasure to look at it with our housekeeping departement.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had a very short stay at this hotel due to a late night wedding and a 5:00 a.m.flight. I had called the hotel a couple of days ahead to make sure there would be a cot in our room and once we arrived, had to ask 2 more times before they brought it (normally this wouldn't be a big deal for us but we got in after midnight and needed to get our sleep before flying out). The room was clean but extremely dated. The wallpaper was in bad shape and there were old quilted bedspreads and grungy old blankets on the beds. There were rusty fixtures in the bathroom with chipped enamel that had been patched in globs of different colour of caulking. There was a block of wood glued/nailed behind the sink hardware as a quick fix....yikes!
I have never written a review for TripAdvisor but felt compelled to say something after our recent visit to this hotel. Sorry Clarion, we thought this room was extremely overpriced for it's value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marietta p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your appreciation regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make an appropriate follow up with our team and make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Our hotel has 231 rooms where most of them has been renovated in the pas few years. We are also planning to remain the rest of our inventory in a few months.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again. Also, feel free to contact me for your futur stay in the region. It will be a pleasure to provide you the most positive hotel experience.

Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Clarion hotel in an Executive room on the 9th floor which was renovated, quiet, clean and comfortable with radiant floor in the bathroom. Breakfast is not included but is being offered at $16.25 per person but we didn't try it.. Overall, a nice place to stay at a very reasonable price with free parking. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel is in Sainte-Foy and it's an easy 15-minute drive to Quebec City or you can use public transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loupaunic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your great comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide a positive experience to our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice during a work trip and both times I found it to be very enjoyable. It wasn't out of the way and the rooms were clean with friendly service. Nice big soaker tubs helped with the stress if driving too! I'd stay here again and again - and a great price for the room too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BajanGirl1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you to share your great comments regarding your most recent stay with us.

We are very proud our product and our executive rooms. Travelers appreciate the amenities offer into those rooms like fridge, the size and comfort of the bathroom.

Also, be assured that your kind comments will be forwarded to our team.

Wishing to have the privilege to welcome you again, please accept our most sincere greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms enjoyed our stay both times was here. Staff was very friendly and accomidating. Very beautiful hotel love the rooms great service and place to stat. Highly recommend it very enjoyable nice view

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback regarding your most recent stay with us

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comments are valuable as they will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.

Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#81 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
7.9 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#84 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 3125 Hochelaga Boulevard | Sainte-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 2P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the doorstep of Quebec City, the Clarion Hotel in Quebec, offers the well-appointed accommodations and generous amenities that make your stay cozy and enjoyable. Our ideal location allows for quick and easy access to the region's highway network and puts you steps from the area's most celebrated Quebec attractions and the best shopping and Quebec dining destinations. There are so many things to do in Quebec - this is just another reason why we are preferred among Quebec City hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Sainte Foy
Clarion Sainte Foy
Sainte Foy Clarion
Clarion Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing