We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base when visiting Quebec City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here one night during a quick weekend trip to Quebec City.

When coming up to the hotel, it looks a little older, but once inside you see that they have invested quite a bit to modernize the property. Front desk staff was very friendly and check in was very quick. Got rooms 335 which had 2 queens beds and was very large. Also had a balcony overlooking the indoor pool and spa area. Room was very clean and the beds comfy. Bathrooms was obviously renovated, with a nice curved shower rod. Free wireless wifi that was pretty quick.
The hotel had a very nice pool and spa area. Both were separated by a gate. Pool was nice and deep. And the spa area had a hot tub, cold waterfall pool, steam room and infrared sauna!! And yes, it`s included in the room rate.
Good thing with this hotel is that it is very central if you are visiting numerous attractions in Quebec City. Old Quebec is a quick door to door 20 minute bus ride away (bus #7), and this is a much better option then trying to find (and pay for) parking in Old Quebec. It`s also very close to some of the bigger malls and the Quebec Aquarium. And there are a few restaurants in and around the hotel, and I also noticed that they will be opening a Boston Pizza right in the hotel shortly.
All and all, a great stay here and I would certainly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for this great review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much. Our staff members will be very happy to hear about your review.
We do try our best to make each of our guests' stay memorable, and getting such positive comments is truly a great reward.

Again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Québec City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universel Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

situated in a bad area the hotel is however acceptable . Rooms are spacious and well kept. Beds are comfortable and spacious. However, bar is closed, restaurant is closed, shop is closed. The hotel is crowded with people staying just for one night, as we did, arriving on tour by bus loads. You feel the hotel has no need to keep minimum standards as the guests mostly only stay onr night in their lifetime.
Clean, acceptable with some kid of meal in the morning which you might, with some imagination, start to call breakfast. Not bad but without any sense of imagination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear guest,


We thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
We are glad you found your bed comfortable and your room spacious ; providing comfortable accommodations is our priority.
As for the area, it is the Sainte-Foy district, which has Université Laval, Laurier shopping center and many restaurants. It is a 15-minute drive from the city center, however it does provide many services.
Thank you for your comment about the breakfast, we do appreciate constructive criticism.

Again, thank you for your honesty and for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the outside it looks like a small motel, but it is larger than it appears. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool area. I was worried about noise, but they seem to enforce an 11 pm curfew. The room was larger than usual. There was a bath and a shower that were nice. The work desk was small and had no light. The free WiFi was okay.

The housekeeping was not so good. They took my soap the first day but did not replace it. There was no coffee for the coffee maker. The restaurant is changing hands and was closed.

The best part was the proximity to Laval University, where I was attending a conference. Overall I think it was overpriced at $150 plus taxes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay.
We are happy to find out you found your room enjoyable and quiet. Our rooms with a balcony are indeed quite large and are usually very appreciated.

We do apologize about your housekeeping problem. We hope you let our front desk personnel know about it so they could fix it.

Again, thank you, and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It would be easy to criticize Universel - its design is so 1960, looking more like a drive-in motel so common along America's interstates. It's too far away - sure, it's along Chemin St. Foy, which leads all the way directly to the Quebec city center but you couldn't possibly walk it, even in an hour. So you're forced to take a bus or taxi. And the only window views are those of the parking lots.

But - it feels comfortable, there's vending machines everywhere, a for-pay coffee machine in the lobby, a large staircase that leads to the second floor, and the front desk people are so accommodating. It has an outside area with tables and chairs where you can sun yourself if you so desired. The rooms are decent and they actually have a landscaped mini-pool with hot tubs and jacuzzis that actually look inviting. And its inconvenient location is sort of balanced by the presence of the large pyramidal dining-cinema-Metro supermarket facility (Innovation) nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.
Your comments about our location are true ; we are indeed away from downtown Québec City, but bus 7, which runs right in front of the hotel every 15 minutes, can take you there within 20 minutes. It is true, also, that the nearby «pyramid» (Centre Innovation) has many services, including a supermarket, a pharmacy, a movie theater (with many movies played in their original version!) and restaurants.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the services and amenities of the hotel, including our indoor pool and spa. Thank you for your nice words about our front desk staff. They will be happy to hear from you.

We hope to see you again soon, and again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at this Hotel in March 2013. The price at $116 for 2 queens was very reasonable.
Very clean, spacious and well- maintained. Fluffy white towels and nice toiletries in the bathroom as well. The pool and sauna area is a great place to relax and the restaurant in the hotel serves excellent meals. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Away from elevators.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have the highest regards for our guests's opinion, and your comments about your room and the pool and spa are very appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is having an identity crisis. Parts of it were very well-maintained and modern, but other parts were less so. The lobby and atrium are as well-maintained as the website shows, but the overall hotel was not. My bathroom had clearly been recently renovated and I had a flat-screen TV, but the paint on the back of the room door was chipped and the washcloths and towels were frayed or had holes in them. The front desk staff were only marginally polite. I don't want obsequiousness, but a hello would not be amiss.

There are some decent cheap eats a block away in the Metro pyramid, and the old city of Quebec is about 15 minutes away. Overall, if your focus is the university, you can't get any closer, but I wouldn't recommend the hotel if you aren't in Quebec City for the university.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trigeekgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear guest,


First, thank you for writing this review about your stay. We appreciate your comments.
We have been making renovations in the past years in the hotel, and will continue to do so. We take note of your comments about your room and about our front desk personnel.

Again, thank you, and please contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Quite a shabby unkept place. First time I've ever posted pictures because it is disrespectful to keep a place like that for tourists. Owner has no respect, or no money. Very close to a university, the whole neighbourhood felt run down. Had to drive far out to find great food. A woman just before I checked asked for a refund, and changed hotels. I just didn't have the energy to do the same. The outlet where I should have a lamp and plug my coffeemaker and laptop was dead. I plugged the coffee maker into the bathroom, and my laptop near my bed. I had to put my briefcase against the window, otherwise everyone outside could see me in the room as the AC vent was so high, the curtains couldn't be controlled. Busted walls, bruised entrances. Dirty. The vaccuuming is completely missing, in all corners. I wouldn't recommend any family member to stay here. There is no pride of ownership here, owner doesn't give a crap.

Ridiculous price for breakfast. $10.00 for croissant and juice. No hot meal (Monday morning. I went to the nearest Cora's and paid just a bit more for a fabulous breakast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectation. We wish you had let us know about your problems during your stay so we could have worked something out.
However, we take note of your comments about your room. We do want to offer our guests a satisfying and comfortable experience, so thank you for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 102 in Quebec City
547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#55 of 102 in Quebec City
346 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#23 of 102 in Quebec City
548 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#43 of 102 in Quebec City
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £58 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing