We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right place for the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Ranked #83 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right place for the right price”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel was the perfect spot to help my son get settled for his year at Universite Laval. Right across the street from the university and just one block from his residence and convenient shopping at La Pyramide. Our fourth floor room was nice and quiet, had two comfortable queen beds with high quality linens, air conditioning, newly renovated bathroom, and nicely decorated throughout. We used the pool, hot tub, and simple fitness room -- all of which, we're in good order. A lovely addition to the indoor pool area, is the sound of the birds chatting away in their enclosures. It makes the place seem almost tropical.

We stayed four nights for the price of three (an Internet special), so I feel we really got our money's worth.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is nice and quiet and the rooms are newly renovated. The lower floors seemed a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeGoodTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for writing this positive review.

We are glad your room meets your standards; providing comfortable accommodations is one of our priorities. We are glad that our location was convenient for you and your son. It is true that the nearby «pyramid» (Centre Innovation) has many services, including a supermarket, a pharmacy, a movie theater (with many movies played in their original version!) and restaurants. Indeed, you always get the best price guaranteed on our website and we are pleased that you got your money’s worth.

We have the highest regards for our guests's opinion, and your comments are very appreciated.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    109
    111
    53
    52
See reviews for
131
110
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we went down for a fast weekend trip.. the only good thing about this hotel is the spa! but beware after dark it turns into a couples paradise!my son opened the spa on a couple inside enough said!the bed are so uncomfortable and hard i think the floor would be more comfortable.. the tub had no room for anything ie shampoo soap extra! the halls smell.. the rooms are dark, at 5 am we where awaken by a drunk screaming at the top of this lungs!and don't forget the whole city is under construction!so you have to be creative to find yourself around, construction is until November.. a gps is recommended . i would find another hotel to stay at .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest, thank you for this review.

We are sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. If there was any loud noise at night and some people acting indecently in the spa, we hope you contacted our front desk clerks so they could try to sort it out. We do take note of your comment about the bed and the halls.

If there is something else we could do, please let us know.

Again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
764 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This run-down motel is dark, musty, stinky, and had bug carcasses in the beds.

The restaurant is "under renovation", i.e., closed. There is a Tim Horton's within about 2 blocks, but you have to dodge the road construction to get to it.

I was on a bus tour that dumped us in this awful place for 2 nights.

I had bug carcasses in my bed in the 1st room, and the 2nd room 's shower leaked. The water pipes were overhead, so the ceiling plaster was falling off in chunks.

Both of these rooms were on the 1st floor, but in different wings of the building.

Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Dont' get a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hôtel Universel.

However, we are terribly sorry you had a bad experience. Your comments didn't pass unnoticed, and we will make sure the problems you mentioned about the shower and the cleanliness of the rooms are solved. About the restaurant, a Boston Pizza is about to open on October 2013.

Thank you again for your review, and please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here one night during a quick weekend trip to Quebec City.

When coming up to the hotel, it looks a little older, but once inside you see that they have invested quite a bit to modernize the property. Front desk staff was very friendly and check in was very quick. Got rooms 335 which had 2 queens beds and was very large. Also had a balcony overlooking the indoor pool and spa area. Room was very clean and the beds comfy. Bathrooms was obviously renovated, with a nice curved shower rod. Free wireless wifi that was pretty quick.
The hotel had a very nice pool and spa area. Both were separated by a gate. Pool was nice and deep. And the spa area had a hot tub, cold waterfall pool, steam room and infrared sauna!! And yes, it`s included in the room rate.
Good thing with this hotel is that it is very central if you are visiting numerous attractions in Quebec City. Old Quebec is a quick door to door 20 minute bus ride away (bus #7), and this is a much better option then trying to find (and pay for) parking in Old Quebec. It`s also very close to some of the bigger malls and the Quebec Aquarium. And there are a few restaurants in and around the hotel, and I also noticed that they will be opening a Boston Pizza right in the hotel shortly.
All and all, a great stay here and I would certainly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for this great review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much. Our staff members will be very happy to hear about your review.
We do try our best to make each of our guests' stay memorable, and getting such positive comments is truly a great reward.

Again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Québec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

situated in a bad area the hotel is however acceptable . Rooms are spacious and well kept. Beds are comfortable and spacious. However, bar is closed, restaurant is closed, shop is closed. The hotel is crowded with people staying just for one night, as we did, arriving on tour by bus loads. You feel the hotel has no need to keep minimum standards as the guests mostly only stay onr night in their lifetime.
Clean, acceptable with some kid of meal in the morning which you might, with some imagination, start to call breakfast. Not bad but without any sense of imagination.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear guest,


We thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
We are glad you found your bed comfortable and your room spacious ; providing comfortable accommodations is our priority.
As for the area, it is the Sainte-Foy district, which has Université Laval, Laurier shopping center and many restaurants. It is a 15-minute drive from the city center, however it does provide many services.
Thank you for your comment about the breakfast, we do appreciate constructive criticism.

Again, thank you for your honesty and for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the outside it looks like a small motel, but it is larger than it appears. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool area. I was worried about noise, but they seem to enforce an 11 pm curfew. The room was larger than usual. There was a bath and a shower that were nice. The work desk was small and had no light. The free WiFi was okay.

The housekeeping was not so good. They took my soap the first day but did not replace it. There was no coffee for the coffee maker. The restaurant is changing hands and was closed.

The best part was the proximity to Laval University, where I was attending a conference. Overall I think it was overpriced at $150 plus taxes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay.
We are happy to find out you found your room enjoyable and quiet. Our rooms with a balcony are indeed quite large and are usually very appreciated.

We do apologize about your housekeeping problem. We hope you let our front desk personnel know about it so they could fix it.

Again, thank you, and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
200 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It would be easy to criticize Universel - its design is so 1960, looking more like a drive-in motel so common along America's interstates. It's too far away - sure, it's along Chemin St. Foy, which leads all the way directly to the Quebec city center but you couldn't possibly walk it, even in an hour. So you're forced to take a bus or taxi. And the only window views are those of the parking lots.

But - it feels comfortable, there's vending machines everywhere, a for-pay coffee machine in the lobby, a large staircase that leads to the second floor, and the front desk people are so accommodating. It has an outside area with tables and chairs where you can sun yourself if you so desired. The rooms are decent and they actually have a landscaped mini-pool with hot tubs and jacuzzis that actually look inviting. And its inconvenient location is sort of balanced by the presence of the large pyramidal dining-cinema-Metro supermarket facility (Innovation) nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.
Your comments about our location are true ; we are indeed away from downtown Québec City, but bus 7, which runs right in front of the hotel every 15 minutes, can take you there within 20 minutes. It is true, also, that the nearby «pyramid» (Centre Innovation) has many services, including a supermarket, a pharmacy, a movie theater (with many movies played in their original version!) and restaurants.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the services and amenities of the hotel, including our indoor pool and spa. Thank you for your nice words about our front desk staff. They will be happy to hear from you.

We hope to see you again soon, and again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#80 of 101 in Quebec City
482 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#89 of 101 in Quebec City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Property: Hotel Universel Quebec
Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing