We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Ranked #84 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very comfortable bed and spacious room but room hot - air con not the best. Did not have time to use - but pool/spa area looked great. Not bothered by roadworks outside as on a coach trip and not driving for myself. However- remember bulk of construction occurs during the all to brief summer (no snow then!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Universel for you stay in Quebec city and for taking a moment to give us your feedback about it.

We are sorry to ear you had some issues with the air conditioning and please do not hesitate to mention any issues like this to our team member during your future stays with us. We will do our best to correct the situation. Thank you for your positive comment about our pool installations. They are indeed very appreciated by our guests and we hope you will have enough time to enjoy it during a future visit. You are right about the constructions in town, they occur during the warm season wich is ending soon!

Again, thank you for your feedback and we are hoping to welcome you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    110
    111
    55
    53
See reviews for
131
112
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not the hotels fault but it was surrounded by road works which made going anywhere dangerous and time consuming. Hotel wise, this place lacks maintenance and cannot be run by people who care, our room was not too bad, beds ok and appeared clean but room very darkly lit and darkly decorated, like being in the 18th century with candle lighting. Bathroom had nowhere, nowhere to put anything - people who design these places should be made to live in them! Could have been worse I suppose but we shouldn't have to think like that, we certainly won't stay there again. Plus side - a Metro supermarket, small shopping mall, a Tim Hortons and a Subway all within a short walk unfortunately by running the gauntlet of roadworks!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

As you mentionnned, the issue with the construction work near our establishment may be time consuming. Fortunately it is temporary. We are sorry some of our room's features like the lighting did not meet your expectations and we are taking good notes about all the comments you made about the room's aspects that did not completely suit your needs.

We are glad you enjoyed the closeness of our establishment from many services like shopping malls, restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance.

We thank you again for your feedback and we hope that if you travels bring you back to Quebec City you will give us a chance to welcome you again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hotel Universal Quebec
We were on a coach tour and stopped for a couple of nights at Hotel Universal. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was good. They have a really nice pool and spa area which after a day discovering the city was much enjoyed. Very convenient to La Pyramide where there is a very good supermarket to buy anything from a meal to a nibble or just have a look at the different foods available. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hôtel Universel and for taking a moment to share your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

It is heart warming to see that it was up to your expectations. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the comfort and the cleanliness of our rooms as well as the service offered by our team members. We are more then happy that our pool and several services like a grocery store and a shopping mall at a very short walk distance were a great addition to your stay.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel was the perfect spot to help my son get settled for his year at Universite Laval. Right across the street from the university and just one block from his residence and convenient shopping at La Pyramide. Our fourth floor room was nice and quiet, had two comfortable queen beds with high quality linens, air conditioning, newly renovated bathroom, and nicely decorated throughout. We used the pool, hot tub, and simple fitness room -- all of which, we're in good order. A lovely addition to the indoor pool area, is the sound of the birds chatting away in their enclosures. It makes the place seem almost tropical.

We stayed four nights for the price of three (an Internet special), so I feel we really got our money's worth.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is nice and quiet and the rooms are newly renovated. The lower floors seemed a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeGoodTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for writing this positive review.

We are glad your room meets your standards; providing comfortable accommodations is one of our priorities. We are glad that our location was convenient for you and your son. It is true that the nearby «pyramid» (Centre Innovation) has many services, including a supermarket, a pharmacy, a movie theater (with many movies played in their original version!) and restaurants. Indeed, you always get the best price guaranteed on our website and we are pleased that you got your money’s worth.

We have the highest regards for our guests's opinion, and your comments are very appreciated.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we went down for a fast weekend trip.. the only good thing about this hotel is the spa! but beware after dark it turns into a couples paradise!my son opened the spa on a couple inside enough said!the bed are so uncomfortable and hard i think the floor would be more comfortable.. the tub had no room for anything ie shampoo soap extra! the halls smell.. the rooms are dark, at 5 am we where awaken by a drunk screaming at the top of this lungs!and don't forget the whole city is under construction!so you have to be creative to find yourself around, construction is until November.. a gps is recommended . i would find another hotel to stay at .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest, thank you for this review.

We are sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. If there was any loud noise at night and some people acting indecently in the spa, we hope you contacted our front desk clerks so they could try to sort it out. We do take note of your comment about the bed and the halls.

If there is something else we could do, please let us know.

Again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
774 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This run-down motel is dark, musty, stinky, and had bug carcasses in the beds.

The restaurant is "under renovation", i.e., closed. There is a Tim Horton's within about 2 blocks, but you have to dodge the road construction to get to it.

I was on a bus tour that dumped us in this awful place for 2 nights.

I had bug carcasses in my bed in the 1st room, and the 2nd room 's shower leaked. The water pipes were overhead, so the ceiling plaster was falling off in chunks.

Both of these rooms were on the 1st floor, but in different wings of the building.

Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Dont' get a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hôtel Universel.

However, we are terribly sorry you had a bad experience. Your comments didn't pass unnoticed, and we will make sure the problems you mentioned about the shower and the cleanliness of the rooms are solved. About the restaurant, a Boston Pizza is about to open on October 2013.

Thank you again for your review, and please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#68 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Property: Hotel Universel Quebec
Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing