We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend in Quebec City, QC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights here, and were very happy with this hotel, and would certainly stay here again. The bed was very comfortable, although the pillows are so big that they're pretty heavy to move around during the night. The room and bathroom were "spic 'n span clean", WI-FI worked flawlessly (more than I can say about most places), and the corridors and elevators were clean and well lit.

Both the food and service at the in-hotel St. James bistro style restaurant were great, and the location is absolutely perfect. Step out through the bistro and you're on Rue St. Jean, in the center of shops and restaurants and strolling visitors.

Downsides - as mentioned in other reviews, the stairs from the street up to the lobby are an impediment, and having to double park in front of the hotel to get the car unloaded is necessary if there is no room at the curb. The bellmen are handy though, and will bring the luggage in and out, and get the car moved to their own garage next door.

At breakfast we opted for the "buffet". Service was fine and the choices varied, BUT when it came time to pay I was asked if I had visited the "hot bar". I had to ask what that is, and it was only then that I found out that there is a buffet within a buffet. Upon complaining about the surprise I was told that there is a large posterboard outside the door, but the setup is definitely designed to make one believe that all of the food was part of what was called the buffet. I do NOT like being surprised like that and it cost them the "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank its_jimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Manoir Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were scheduled at this hotel for a one night stay after our cruise disembarked. Early on the morning of our disembarkation I called the hotel and requested an early check in. My husband had developed acute sciatica and was transported off the ship by wheelchair. I was told on the phone that check in was at 3. They had been completely booked the night before but would do what they could for us. We arrived at 10 a.m.. To our delight they had an upgraded room prepared for immediate occupancy! My husband was assisted by wheelchair to the room with the best view in the hotel. That was his only view of Quebec but made his day as enjoyable as it could with his circumstances. Other than night noise from the street the stay was flawless. The location was perfect for my daughter, granddaughter and me to see the sights in close range to my husband. The room was well appointed, very clean and large. To our surprised upon leaving we were not given any additional charges for the upgrade or extra time in room. The staff went beyond expectations in making sure we were comfortable! Lovely hotel, great location, attentive staff!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Hotel near train station, rooms slightly smaller, but this is an old hotel with lots more charm than the big, new hotels. It is well situated for both parts of the city. Lots of helpful info in reception to help plan your visit. Staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.
Quebec City is wonderful, it is worth looking round to find less touristy resturants which sell the very best food, so many things to see, city feels very vibrant at night

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hearts78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Except for construction on the road in front of the hotel, everything was great. Check in and parking worked well. About 25 stairs to get up to the lobby but that was fine for us. Not sure if there is an elevator. Check in staff were very friendly; loaned me an umbrella the next day. We got upgraded to a better room perhaps because of construction noise near the front of the hotel; our room area was quiet. A very large room with a nice view of a street with quaint stores. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. We were on the first floor so a bit of noise from the street (delivery trucks) in the morning; I would have preferred a higher level floor because of this aspect.

I could not get the hotel's wi-fi Internet to work but got onto a neighbouring restaurant's free high speed wi-fi from the room.

The restaurant is so-so, The ribs were very good; the steak was mediocre. Both our deserts were things they bought frozen and then microwaved when we ordered them: disappointing for Quebec! (We had a much better dinner another night at another restaurant, Anciennes Canadiens).

Otherwise a very pleasant experience and the location was perfect for touring the old city.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the first floor since there is some street noise early in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We just got back from a three night stay in Quebec City with a tour group and were very pleased with their choice of this hotel. It is perfectly located in old Quebec and very charming. We had a very large room with two beds---felt like a princess with the queen size down pillows and comforter---best sleep ever! The buffet breakfast in the morning was fabulous---they had beautiful trays of sliced melons and fresh fruits ,various pastries and muffins,yogurts and cereals, and hot items to include a stuffed french toast which was so different than any kind we have had before.Service from the front desk to the porters was great! Lastly, this hotel is very CLEAN.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichiganderMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just back from Canada, travelled with husband and 2 friends due to stay here for 3 nights, delayed flight meant only 2 nights here. Staff were friendly and helpful agreed to refund for 1 night , thank you. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Great location central for old Quebec, not far from railway station. My husband left his video camera in room and staff arranged delivery to hotel in Montreal within 24 hours, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank westie034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The room was very spacious, nicely appointed and quiet. Of special note, the front desk staff was very well informed and helpful in making sighthseeing and restaurant recommendations. They did this with charm and enthusiasm. The hotel's location was very convenient, in Old Quebec, which was great since this was our first visit and it made it easy for us to find our way and to easily get to the sites we wanted to see during the 3-days we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Victoria

Address: 44 Cote du Palais, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £100 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manoir Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic, culturally vibrant and gastronomic activity of Old Quebec, Hotel Manoir Victoria extends a warm and friendly welcome in an inviting decor that was recently renovated and upgraded. With its unique European style, the 4-star hotel offers 156 rooms and suites, some of which are high-luxury units with ambiance fireplace and whirlpool bath, eight meeting and function rooms that can accommodate up to 175 people, two restaurants including the inspired cuisine of "CHEZ BOULAY - BISTROBOREAL", free wireless high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, a sauna, a fitness centre, an Internet lounge and indoor parking with valet service. In addition, the << Spa du Manoir>> offers a full range of beauty and well-being services which, combined with an expert advice and a relaxing environment, will wonderfully complement your stay: Therapeutic massages, body treatments and esthetics care are provided with first class expertise, effective products and warm human contact. Eight (8) treatment rooms are at your disposal to relax and rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Manoir Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Victoria Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Victoria Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing