We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A novel experience...”
Review of Hotel de Glace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Glace
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A novel experience...”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I will disagree with the reviews which feel that visiting the rooms is sufficient. There is a sense of adventure and excitement knowing you are staying overnight. We went as a family with kids aged 6,7,and 10. The kids stayed entertained and had a great time. We visited the suites several times and played on the ice slide. After check in there were games and ice sculpting. The only negatives for the night were the late check in (9pm- which if we were not with kids would not be the end of the world) and mediocre food choices. We arrived a few minutes after 5 and missed the last tour-- it would have been nice of the "orientation" for overnight guests had their own tour associated with it. But overall the night was memorable- kids and parents alike had fun. The decor and rooms were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GabAmiNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    145
    33
    11
    16
See reviews for
97
249
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was a 30 year anniversary trip for 2 people who love winter. We splurged for a theme room which was well worth it. Based on another recommendation we asked for the Avalanche room (Room #S-10) and it was fabulous. The best room in our opinion - you truly felt like you were sleeping in the middle of an avalanche. We brought our own down sleeping bags that zip together so we were never cold. We arrived at noon and had no trouble entertaining ourselves exploring the hotel and rooms and snow shoeing around the grounds. We brought our own champagne to have in the early evening and once the day crowd thinned out it was great to not only explore the hotel but hang out at different areas - for instance, our own cheese and crackers on a carved ice table in the main hall, surrounded by beautiful ice sculptures and the great ice chandelier. The Ice Bar and slide were very festive (it was Carribean Night when we were there) and the lighting was really interesting and constantly changing. Bring a cooler and try to bring your ice glasses home from the bar! I liked the "Nordique" drink at the bar and recommend it. When we went to our room in the evening the staff had added lit candles to add to the ambience - a great accent on our wonderful room. We hit the hot tub, then the dry sauna and then to bed and were plenty warm all night. Again, the zip-together sleeping bags helped out. The Hotel staff should offer them as an option for couples instead of giving everyone individual bags with liners, as there's no doubt that you'll be warmer in one bag. Waking up in the Avalanche Room was fantastic and the view from the bed in the early morning light added to the experience. The next night we stayed in old town Quebec at the Hotel Acadia which was also great in a totally different way.

Personally, we had no problem with the breakfast we were provided (after a nice shower). It was more than adequate and an all-you-can-eat buffet. let's face it - we didn't come here for the food, and it was very convenient to have the cafe there.

Room Tip: It costs more but the theme rooms are definitely the way to go. You don't need to further upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortlandZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

In December 2012 we were married in the Dominican Republic. The tropics
In February 2013 we took our honeymoon in sub zero temps.

We took the Ultimate Package at Hotel de Glace.
(2 nights-Hotel de Glace and a second night at Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations)
2 breakfast and 2 four course dinners included.

The first night was in the ice hotel, with a secondary hotel at the 4 Points Sheraton (5 minute valet service away and 10 minutes by car to Quebec City)

The secondary hotel to serve as a place for grooming and stowing our personal belongings the night we stayed at Hotel de Glace, and return the following morning.

We arrived at the hotel and were taken to the Celsius Room where we participated in a consultation on how to have a successful and comfortable stay in the snow room. (IE: how to use the Nordic Sleeping Bag)

It's interesting to climb into your sleeping bag, (after spending some time in the hot-tub in the Nordic Spa) and see your breath.
It was truly one of the most comfortable sleeps I've had in my lifetime.
We wore only our one piece thermals, and with bare feet. (toasty warm feet)

They had Ice Sculpting Class in the main area of the hotel.
A hand size block of ice and a chisel.

You are served a complimentary drink. (Apple Cider) in an ice glass which melts as you drink.

Then we ran around like tourists and took pictures of snow wall decor, ice sculptures, and our snow room.
We had an ice bed with a fouton style mattress on it. The lights under the bed lit up. We had an ice chair and two ice bedside tables.
There were candles sitting in ice candle holders in the room. (which melted by morning)

We also had an ice fireplace with lights to make it illuminate.
Truly it was an incredible experience.

This was a wedding present from one of our guests.
Truly a night to remember.

Go check it out. You won't be sorry.
It closes on March 24 with warmer climate causing it to melt down.
But historically they claim that the fortress holds up right into June.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Examine the packages to choose from and decide from what you see what it is that you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTheGr8T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel is very beautiful...a work of art! Ice sculptures everywhere made by very talented artists. It is a very unique hotel and it is worth a visit! I stayed in the best suite that this place could offer. It had a fireplace, a private sauna and jacuzzi. The room was very beautiful...and cold! I slept pretty well under the circumstances but it is once in a lifetime experience. I wouldn't sleep there a second night even in the best suite!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank candy_qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here the night of February 19th, 2013 with my girlfriend and we had a great time. We showed up at around 3pm, checked in and then walked around the property for bit before having a tour of the hotel (free for hotel guests). The tour was good 40 minutes and was interesting to hear some facts while seeing the whole hotel. Before 8 pm, you can take a look in all the suites and take photos everywhere. Getting a suite for the night is not necesary as you can visit all of them during the day, in the end you are just in your room to sleep, not to hang out!
After that we had the information session as to how to properly get into your sleeping bag etc. I think this part is a definite must even if you have been camping before, the lady gave some useful tips about how to keep your socks and boots dry.
Before dinner we took advantage of the free snow shoes and walked around the paths of the properties. not that well marked, but we found our way no problem.
Luckily we had our own car and went out to dinner close by, there are a bunch of restaurants all within a 5-10 minute drive. A much better option than the simple cafe that is on site.
When we came back, we had our free drink at the Ice bar, and we went on the ice slide a bunch of times! They had some activity in the bar area to keep you busy as well.
We went into the hot tubs before going to getting ready for bed. Without going into as much detail as other people, we headed to our room (#35) in our snow suit and our long underwear. We were both quite warm with one layer and didnt get cold during the night. We couldnt believe the number of people wearing cotton pyjamas to bed! They tell you not to during the info session!
The breakfast in the morning is not great, pretty simple and not a lot of variety. For the price that you pay even for a basic room I think it would be could to have some fresh croissant and make it more appitizing. If they changed this, I think it would give it 5 stars.
Overall, we had a great time at this unique place. Would I stay here again? Maybe but not for a while. But I do recommend it to anyone visiting the Quebec City area.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a suite, the normal/regular rooms are good enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optimusreim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Three girlfriends and I went on a short two day, one night trip to Quebec City so we could stay at the Ice Hotel. What an amazing experience! Anyone who has a Bucket List needs to put this on theirs, it is such a wonderful place that's full of magic and delight.

You don't have to worry about being cold because there is no wind chill in the hotel, the hotel website has tips for how to dress and stay warm while there as well. There are hot-tubs by Arctic Spa (they make great products) and are encouraged to be used before going to bed to get your circulation going well. You're given heavy duty sleeping bags designed for sub zero temperatures, mattress and pillow while sleeping on an actual block of ice.

There was a slide, great bar (with live DJ), sculptures and interactive things to do.

Absolutely a memorable experience that I will always hold close to my heart.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_Moorshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The first item you must address is price. This is not cheap. I bought on Groupon for 50% off and it was still a small fortune. A month later, my girlfriend and I upgraded to a signature room which was another couple hundred. Dividing the cost helped us ignore how much we actually spent.

In all honesty, you can probably get everything you need from the Ice Hotel in a day visit. You can see all the rooms, the amazing carvings and have a drink at the bar.

The overnight stay is to be a part of the exclusive club. It isn't so much about bragging rights as something to cross off the bucket list. I'd similarly pay a premium to sleep at a zoo, museum or old castle. If you get that, you will understand the Ice Hotel.

Regarding infrastructure, the Ice Hotel takes over an abandoned zoo. I had no expectations and feared it was built in a parking lot with porta-potties and pop up tents. I was pleasantly surprised to see a proper entrance, check in, gift shop, cafeteria, showers, and bathrooms. It is still a public, industrial space and you shouldn't expect a hotel experience in any capacity. However, the staff is excellent and they do what they can to make it accommodating.

As an overnighter, you get to use the hot tubs / sauna and some other small things like free snowshoes to explore the rest of the park / abandoned zoo grounds.

Room Tip: The signature rooms are gorgeous but expensive. A basic room will give you 80% of the experience. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
7.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,106 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#32 of 102 in Quebec City
660 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Times Hotel
Grand Times Hotel
#58 of 102 in Quebec City
320 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Glace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Glace

Property: Hotel de Glace
Address: 1860 Boul. Valcartier, Quebec City, Quebec G0A 4S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de Glace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 20 minutes from Québec City, the Hotel de Glace is open from January until March. Enter a magical world where snow and ice are transformed into fabulous decors. Come to live a magical night in one of the 44 rooms and suites. Enjoy a cocktail and relax in the exterior hot tubs and sauna. The Hôtel de Glace is a must see attraction to be discovered in family, in couple or between friends this winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de Glace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Glace Hotel
Ice Hotel Quebec
Ice Canada Hotel
Ice Hotel Canada
Ice Hotel Montreal
Hotel De Glace Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing