We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #76 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here 2 nights (Fri/Sat) during the summer music festival and the location was great....easy walking distances to the venues, restaurants and sites. We had a 3rd floor room which was difficult to get to since the stairs are very narrow. This is an OLD building and rooms are small but well maintained....although the A/C was not working...which was unbearable since it was July and very hot!! They did, however, bring us a fan when we called about the A/C. The beds were not the greatest...small and a bit uncomfortable.

The valet parking up front was nice however be aware that the city closes down the street during the festival for pedestrians and parking in the back of the hotel is very tight and complicated to get to/from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationdreamer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the perfect location of our hotel.
We're so sorry that you had had difficulties with your A/C during your stay.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived before the 4:00 check-in but were able to put our luggage in safekeeping and have the car parked and go hunting for lunch. We also requested that our rooms be adjoining if possible, for some inexplicable reason we had rooms on two floors. Fortunately they did manage to do this for us and the rooms were quaint with electric (I assumed) fireplaces, decent sized bathrooms and roomy beds. Wifi was included, yeah! The hotel is just outside the walls of old Quebec, around the corner from Battlefield Park/Plains of Abraham and close enough to everything to not need a car.
The bed was comfortable, lots of pillows, room was clean, management helpful. Although I was not happy to be overlooking the back alley where cars are parked the snow on the roof below my window hid them from view. I would also have preferred to have a window closer to the main room rather than off the sink - outside the rest of the bathroom - but it was large enough to let in light so as to not feel claustrophobic.
Best of all, the price could not be beat! We did have the advantage of a military rate however the regular rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for a week for a Christmas holiday. Our arrival time changed several times because of flight cancellations due to inclement weather and the hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. All of the staff were friendly, especially the lovely Marie. Since we arrived a day later than originally planned, we decided to stay a day longer and had to change rooms for our last night and the switch went seamlessly. Our first room was a lovely superior room with a fireplace, jet tub, exposed brick wall, & hardwood floors and it was very quiet. The deluxe room on our last night was more simple and a little noisier since it was under a staircase but it was huge & comfortable. The hot breakfast buffet that was included was very good. The hotel was very charming and it is in an excellent location. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you cannot climb stairs, ask for a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maylily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share this lovely comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, especially the customer service, as it is our top priority.
This will be a pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay!
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel was very nice and is in a beautiful area. However, housekeeping didn't come in the three days we stayed there, which was disappointing and garbage management became an issue. There is a Starbucks across the street, which was good - coffee was supplied in the room for the first day but you have to pay for it after that. Canned drinks in the vending machine are $2 each, the most we've seen at any hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the room and the location.
We're sorry about what happened for the housekeeping they are actually supposed to clean the room everyday, unless the poster do not disturb was on the door.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Le Garnde Allee for a week during Christmas this year. The hotel is situated on a really lovely street and was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Our family really loved the room and hotel. However if you are looking for a major resort type hotel this would not be your ideal place. Its better! I would describe it as a cross between a nice hotel and a Bed and Breakfast. It is quaint and charming but still provides the majority of the big hotel amenities... like wireless internet, breakfast, coffee, parking, a little lobby area, vending machines ect. The staff was really helpful, and gave us all the info we wanted on where to go, where to eat, transportation. It was a wonderful winter retreat!

Room Tip: Oh and our room had a huge bathtub and fierplace which got used every single day! If you are traveli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margeaux G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a wonderful time in Quebec City.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent location within a short walk to the city's citadel and restaurants galore.
A bit of a mix-up regarding the breakfast, however, this was quickly remedied.
We had a deluxe front room which was very large and beautifully renovated. Bathroom and
adjoining "closet" were very large and the high ceilings, fireplace and original mouldings give this hotel its classic feeling.

Room Tip: Try to get the renovated rooms. They are truly beautiful and tastefully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in your renovated room.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We loved this hotel. Old world charm and a great location within walking distance to the citadel and parliament buildings. The staff were wonderful and our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a separate bedroom from the sitting area and both felt spacious. We would stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank egyptianlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#59 of 102 in Quebec City
724 reviews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#52 of 102 in Quebec City
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
566 reviews
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites

Address: 601 Grande-Allee Est | (Near Lachevrotière), Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £61 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites is built in a patrimonial Victorian building and combines historic charm with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande-Allee Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Grande Allee
Le Grande-Allee Hotel And Suites Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing