We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #71 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, lovely hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very good experience! Pretty historic hotel in a great location in old city! Very walkable to tourist locations, shops and restaurants. No elevator though so not accessible for those with mobility issues. Our shower didn't work the first morning but maintenance service was quick and technician friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quiet, those at front face restaurants and clubs so they're noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    112
    66
    35
    20
See reviews for
62
132
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We rarely have such a negative experience in a hotel that we feel we have to put it online but this is the case right now. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and we are glad it was not more then that. We have to say, the location is perfect! No better place to stay at when you are in Quebec city. But this is were the good stops and the bad starts. Staff (reception) made it obvious we were troubling him with our check in. Ok, maybe he had a bad day. The room was so small that our two suitcases did not fit on the floor and we had no closed to put our stuff out. Ok, maybe its the smallest room. The sink in the bathroom was so small and under a shelf that you could not wash your face and hand. Ok, maybe people were smaller in the past. Our room was not dusted for some time. Ok, maybe these are hard-to-reach places like the table, bedside lamb and the telephone. So, maybe these are all maybes, or they are just reality. Would not recommend it, search somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamMis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We are really sorry to read this kind of comment on tripadvisor. Our customer service was one of our priority and we take great consideration of your comment..
For the room, we have many categories and for your next stay we recommend you to call us directly to obtain exactly the kind of room for you.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Our daughter recommended this hotel after her stay here. We were not disappointed. Old world charm and friendly staff. Would definitely make a return visit. Location location location. So many restaurants nearby it was hard to choose one.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie-Gauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the service and the location of the hotel.
And this will be a pleasure to welcome you again when you will come back to try all others restaurants on Grande-Allée.
Best regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My name is Michael Lambert, I am a member of the past two Canadian Olympic teams for snowboarding. I was at this hotel for National Championships. This hotel requires that they hold your key so they can move your car. After leaving my key with the hotel for the night, it had been moved and robbed. The SLR camera, Ipod, multiple sunglasses, all gone. We took action with a lawyer but the hotel did nothing. They refused to acknowledge anything had happened. It was my first time being robbed like this and it was awful. My stay was great, then they robbed me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank michaelwhitelambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mr Lambert,

I am so sad to read you today. I totally understand that this bad experience was awful for you.

However, be sure that the fact we kept your keys with us in order to move your car is not the reason why your car was robbeb. We keep all our clients keys and this situation never happen.
An external fact obviously happened.

As you said, your stay was great so I wish to see you again in our Hotels. Please, contact me personnaly for a future stay.

Best regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was recommended by colleagues. What a delight, a little jewel. Lovely setting right in the centre of the action, great value buffet breakfast. Staff very knowledgeable about the city and very helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are small, traditional European style. Compact but with everything that is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this beautiful comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
633 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Came to this hotel in the middle of music festival in the city of Quebec so many street are blocked and just front of this hotel they build a few stage with many different genre of music and disco terrain. So yeah its bit loud for first time comers to this city like us. But any way the Hotel is good with bit sound proof we don't hear so much the noise out side. The corridor and the room is simply remind me to Paris with small room and seem victorian style combine with modern design touch. the staff is so friendly and helpful. I took 2nd floor and unfortunately the view is to the back of the hotel so just not nice with dirty roof and apartment.The breakfast are not included and we have to pay around 10$ so we just go out find our breakfast since so many cafe and restaurant are just in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: just choose the room with view to the front of this hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the centrally location of the hotel.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Such a wonderful hotel. The room was great and very warm and cozy. There was minimal noise in our room despite being right on a lively street. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Old Quebec is less than a 10 minute walk away, which was perfect! The bathroom was large and has a jacuzzi (amazing!). One note: there is large variability in the friendliness of the staff. When we checked in, we had a wonderful woman help us who was very engaging and friendly; staff members from other days, however, proved to be cold, distant, and unfriendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khakiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay an we hope to have the chance to
welcome you again.
Best regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#56 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#49 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manoir De La Tour
#64 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Montcalm
C3 Hotel art de vivre
C3 Hotel art de vivre
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites

Property: Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Address: 601 Grande-Allee Est | (Near Lachevrotière), Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites is built in a patrimonial Victorian building and combines historic charm with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande-Allee Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Grande Allee
Le Grande-Allee Hotel And Suites Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing