We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice, good location, not clean, very poor wifi”
Review of Hilton Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Quebec
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed here for four nights in mid April while attending a conference at the very close by Congress Centre. All in all, I had a mixed experience.

Location: I'll start with the very good news. The hotel is really ideally situated for anyone attending an event at the Congress Centre. There's an indoor link or you can literally walk less than 50m outside to go in the front door. For my stay, this was great. It's also very close to the old town. Everything in old town is no more than a 15-20 minute walk away. There were plenty of great restaurants and a grocery store located within 2 blocks.

Room: This was a mixed bag. The room had a very pleasant modern design and looked recently redesigned. The king bed was very comfortable and there was little noise to be heard from the street below (I was on the 12th floor overlooking the Parliament buildings - a stunning view!) or from other rooms. I slept very well each of the four nights. During my stay, I had a large number of junebugs / beetles that materialized from inside the heater below the window and crawled all over the window throughout my stay. About 20 dead bugs littered the windowsill and the floor close by each day of my stay. I mentioned it to the front desk who only gave it a bit of a shrug. One day they were cleaned up by housekeeping, the other days not. I expected a bit more from a Hilton of this stature. On another cleanliness item - two of my shower towels had pretty significant stains that were off-putting to say the least.

Amenities: A business-oriented hotel needs to have strong, reliable, fast wifi. This place didn't. I got better download speeds on my iPhone via 3G than the hotel's wifi. The two nights I (tried) to use the wifi it would continuously drop out and run at speeds less than 1Mb/s. This is really unacceptable for a business hotel. It's further unacceptable if you have to pay $9.95/night for it (the charge was removed either because of the conference rate or as a result of having a HHonors membership). In order to transfer some large files I literally had to walk over to the conference centre to do this. It also meant no Skype/FaceTime calls to family back home.

Staff/Management: With the exception of the one lackadaisical response mentioned above from the front desk, the staff were very pleasant and very accommodating of my basic French. A waiter in the hotel bar was exceptionally friendly and added greatly to the charm of a group get-together one evening.

Overall: I've traveled extensively and am pretty laid back when it comes to hotels. Good location, clean, reliable wifi, helpful staff and I'm a happy guest. That being said, I'd be hard pressed to return to this hotel, even for something at the Congress Centre in the future. I've had great experiences at Hilton properties recently (Denver, Pittsburgh) that weren't matched here. Although the price was reasonable and it was perfectly situated, the cleanliness of my room and the terrible wifi would make me look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the historic old town - beautiful views of the Chateau Fronten...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halifaxns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanyThibault, General Manager at Hilton Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your past stay. Knowing that you are a valued HHonors member and travel frequently, I must say that I was troubled by your review. I sincerely apologize for not offering you the high level quality of stay that you can usually expect from us.
This being said, I must specify that all of our employees get quarterly trainings on how to lookout for signs of bugs in a room. If ever a situation does occur, there have a very strict procedure to respect. Although it doesn’t happen very often, when an employee or a guest reports that there are bugs in the room, we assign a new room to our guest and put the room in quarantine. The room then goes under a rigorous bug inspection with PCO until the problem is completely solved. I sincerely hope that this situation was declared. As a matter of fact, I would really appreciate if you could send me more details (your room number and dates of stay) in order for me to do a proper follow up with our housekeeping and maintenance departments regarding your troubles. I can be reached at dany.thibault@hilton.com .
I am aware that we are not immune to mistakes. However, it is how we handle the situation that can help leave a positive impression. If ever you plan another stay in Quebec City and you wish to give us another try, please contact me directly and I will take care of your reservation personally.
Sincerely,
Dany Thibault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,779)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,574 of 2,781 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Hilton Hotel in Quebec City in well located with panoramic views over the old city - we had on room on the 20th floor. When the fog cleared on our 3rd day we could see the old city walls, the famous Frontenac Hotel, the Barbour and the Appalachian Mountains. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The service was good. The in-house restaurant was OK but nothing special for a city known for its french cuisine (we had excellent meals in restaurants in the old town)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Short distance from the plains of Abraham and across from the provincial parliament, this is a very good hotel with excellent service. I had a quite stay, the facilities were of good quality though the amenities were limited for a hotel of this class. Did not have newspapers delivered to room, though it was available on the front desk. Room was comfortable, clean and quite. Overall a very satisfactory stay and would recommend hghly

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank Rama N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

In February, friends and I headed to Quebec City to experience the annual Carnival. What a beautiful time we had ... largely due to the Hilton Quebec.

Location: PERFECT to experience the entire city! Easily accessible to and from major highways, directly across the street of the Carnival main entrance, and quick access to everything Old Quebec has to offer - shops, pubs, restos and more!

Rooms: Larger than a standard room with the most beautiful view of Parliament and the river! Beds are super comfortable, just standard hotel washrooms, clean, helpful staff (but a bit to early for cleaning - at 9:30am every morning).

Food (in hotel): Did not eat in the hotel. But there are two restaurants that seemed to be pretty full for each meal.

Parking: Kinda awkward to find - you enter through a small back road on the side of the hotel and not from the main entrance. Standard city parking rate for the hotel.

Things to do: Carnival was our main focus, so we really did everything that was available for that. Meals were enjoyed mostly in Old Quebec - as it was a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. Winter Tubing and Rafting @ Valcartier Vacation Village - so much fun and a short 30 minutes from the hotel! A beautiful walk through the Parc de la Chute-Montmorency (on the frozen water!) about 20 minutes away from the hotel. Hotel de Glace for a drink and to explore - just a short 30 minute drive.

Room Tip: Definitely request the Parliament view... you see it and the river :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is one of two hotels ‘hugging” the Conference Centre, the other one being Delta. My colleague stayed at the Delta, I have seen her room and concluded the Hilton is a better alternative.
Clean room, comfortable beds and pleasant staff. The Internet was $10. If you have HHonours card it is supposed to be free – mine never worked, so I spent $30 over three days. The bar on the main floor has decent wines @~$10/glass. I never ate in their restaurant. You can go down and down the escalator stairs and outside on the left side is an inexpensive breakfast place.
Next time I come, I will try one of the many B&B places in Quebec.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A3481AQrobertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Location: Great location with fantastic views over Old Quebec/St. Lawrence River/ Chateau Frotenac, with easy walking distance to all.

Rooms: Get a suite- it is well worth it! Very spacious, easy flow, kitchen,plenty of surface spaces to put your 'stuff'. Bed was very comfortable, with silky sheets, down duvets,ample down pillows.
Suite Bonus: access to the Executive lounge on 23rd floor with internet access/coffee/teas/ and amazing corner views of the Old City/River.

Staff: Very friendly, helpful, courteous, and accommodating- very impressed and will definetly return here!

Parking: Valet or self in Place Quebec

If you're wondering, like we were, should I stay in a 'boutique hotel' or a big chain hotel- you will not be disappointed by this property- we loved it and had a great time here!

Room Tip: Old Quebec/River view, and suite is the best.
Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank SevenContinentRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights as I was attending a conference and this was the "conference hotel". Sure, it is right across the street from the convention center and close to old Quebec City, so location is good. But that's where the "good" stops.

We found the front desk staff rude and didn't seem to have the time of day for us, esp. if you call them up to ask a question and you spoke English. Concierge was not helpful, nor was the bell staff - their motto must be "do it yourself".

We stayed on a floor with access to the Executive Lounge. The lounge provides free breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvre and has an amazing view of the city from the 23rd floor. We did enjoy this part of the hotel - except that there was no hors d'oeuvres available on the last night of our stay, even though they advertised that there was! Don't know what happened there. You do have to pay for your drinks though in the lounge.

Our room was on the 22nd floor and also has a great view of the city. Unfortunately, it was NOT CLEAN. When we checked in around 10pm, we found long hairs in the sink and bathtub and crumbs and dirt on the carpet - clearly it had not been cleaned properly. We called housekeeping and they had to send someone to clean while we sat there and waited. They did not compensate us for this inconvenience. On another day, my husband found a toque left behind by a previous guest between the pillows and the headboard! Again, clearly the room was not properly cleaned between guests. We called and complained for the second time and they finally compensated us by giving us a credit for 50% of the first night's rate. I would have expected more, given the room was consistently not cleaned properly.

The plumbing is VERY OLD. The bathroom had a smell of mouldy old pipes coming up the drains and there was black mould on the shower tiles, which we could wipe away easily with a cloth - so clearly, they do not clean the tiles or disinfect them regularly.

The bedsheets were clean (thank goodness) and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The air conditioning unit is old and loud. The room is not lit very brightly, which I find odd, given that this is a convention/business hotel.

Had room service - food was ok but nothing to write home about. Eat at one of the many wonderful restaurants in old Quebec City and avoid the hotel food.

The gym is very small for the size of the hotel. Only 2 ellipticals and I always had to wait for a machine.

Would I stay here again even if the conference was here? Absolutely not. There are many other alternatives that are cheaper and a lot nicer than this place. You may need to walk a few minutes to get to the convention centre but it would be better than this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzzyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanyThibault, General Manager at Hilton Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to share the less than satisfactory experience.

I must say that I was troubled by your review. This is really not the type of comment I enjoy reading. Especially when I know the high level of service that our hotel usually offers. It seems like you have had an issue with everything at our hotel. I sincerely apologize. I understand how frustrating this must be.

Was a supervisor made aware of all of the problems you had? I would really appreciate if you could send me more details (your room number and dates of stay) in order for me to do a proper follow up with our housekeeping & front office departments regarding all of your troubles. I can be reached at dany.thibault@hilton.com.

I am aware that we are not immune to mistakes. However, it is how we handle the situation that can help leave a positive impression. If ever you plan another stay in Quebec City and you wish to give us another try, please contact me directly and I will take care of your reservation personally.

Sincerely,
Dany Thibault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marriott Quebec City Center
0.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Quebec

Address: 1100 Rene Levesque East, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £98 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star getaway in the heart of all major events! Choose the Hilton Quebec City and explore the charm of Canada's oldest city. The hotel is just a 20-minute drive from the airport and five minutes from the train station. Located on Parliament Hill, just steps from Old Quebec and the main tourist attractions, the Hilton Québec is renowned for its impeccable service and exceptional location. Each of the 571 rooms offers spectacular views of the city. Executive rooms offer exclusive access to the superb Executive Lounge including complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, hors d'oeuvres and non-alcoholic beverages in the evening. With the heated outdoor swimming pool open all year round, the 24-hour fitness center, the Allegro restaurant and bar or the buffet of local products with panoramic views at Resto Le23, Hilton Québec has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec City
Hilton Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing