We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms & bad continental breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This scumbag motel reminds me of one of those old motels off of Route 66. It's one story and has tiny rooms with an even tinier bathroom. The bed creaked like it was falling apart. The bathroom had soap dispensers at the lavatory with a combination bath and hair gel in the shower. The parking spaces are such that it is difficult to maneuver in and out of one unless you have a VW or a Smart Car. When all motel chains as well as B&Bs are now providing free WIFI, this place still charges for it. The continental breakfast area looks like a lunchroom out of a movie about Eastern Europe or Russia when they were under Communist domination. It's dark and gloomy with loaves off bread, coffee, juice, and no fruit, yoghurt, or anything else except cereal which seemed to be scattered all over the counter with no one around cleaning up. We opted to check out and head for a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We picked this motel because of the price, that was good.However, it went downhill from there.. i was excited to see a Keurig coffee maker in the lobby since I really enjoy my afternoon and morning coffee. I should have known, $2.00 per cup! Really!!
If you need wifi, it is $5.00 per day.. PER DEVICE, and it only worked some of the time. We slept poorly because of the noise from tour buses whose back-up beeping woke us up every morning and sometimes in the middle of the night. There is a coffee maker in the room, however, you only get a coffee pack the very first day. In retrospect, the low price really was not worth the aggravation. The attendant at the front office told us that it would take us 1 1/2 hours to get into the city if we chose to take the bus... Well, we ignored him, drove 5 minutes to the stop in Beauport, purchsed a $7.65 unlimited day pass and proceeded to see the whole city by bus, getting off when we wanted to, ate, and back on the bus. That was far cheaper than paying for all that expensive parking in the city, if you are lucky enough to find a parking spot. Finding a motel in that part of the city is recommended, just find another motel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ute A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

spent 3 nights & 4 days here at le Chateauguay...2 of us..room had one comfortable bed..a brand new bathroom ..fridge.micro...everything we needed...an indoor pool that was heated and clean...the breakfast..fresh fruit...toast ..muffins...all sorts of jams..coffee..couldn't be better..the motel was decorated with beautiful pink hanging baskets everywhere..nice touch..but most of all the place was clean..and the employees couldn't be more helpful.. we highly recommend this cute motel..and will certainly return in the fall...

Room Tip: we chose a room with one bed ...but the other rooms were much larger..ask for a downstairs room.. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Bathroom is small but bedroom is adquate.
Air condition was working well.
Not many restaurant around and need to drive at least 5 minutes to find good restaurants.
Room rate was good,
Breakfast was fine with me.
Recommended for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shigeru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Reception staff was very friendly and willing to help to ensure your stay is good and memorable one. It was a pleasure to stay there and very close to the city centre and all the main touristic destination

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cy_ros4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

It has all the criteria and amenities you would look for a reasonably good hotel, yet for a surprisingly cheap price. Room was spacious, clean and quiet. It's located within 7min drive to Quebec City, and even closer to the falls.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We booked this place for convenience and I was dreading it a little, not being a fan of motels. However, upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised. The place was very clean and family-friendly. I just wish I had known that they had an indoor pool beforehand, because I would have brought my bathing suit for sure! I recommend this place if you need a reliable place to rest your head. Great deal!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Littoral - Hotel & Spa
Littoral - Hotel & Spa
#27 of 100 in Quebec City
840 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#84 of 100 in Quebec City
105 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#50 of 100 in Quebec City
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#78 of 100 in Quebec City
201 reviews
1 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#22 of 100 in Quebec City
346 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#80 of 100 in Quebec City
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay

Address: 3842 Boulevard Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3M3, Canada (Formerly Thriftlodge Quebec Beauport)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £35 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home! We will be happy to greet you at l'Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay, with its 43 cozy air-conditioned rooms for a well-deserved rest. We are a family business; we're waiting to greet you with a personalised and courteous welcome. Your stay will be calm, you don't have to worry, and we stay on the premises with you 24 hours a day.L'Hotel Motel le Chateauguay, is located at the east entrance of Quebec city and is the door way to the Cote de Beaupre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing