We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #38 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were very happy with the Chateau Laurier, the staff were friendly and the room was adequate and very quiet. The location was central to restaurants and about a 10 minute walk to the touristy shops. There was not the hustle and bustle that you find around the Chateau Frontenac which suited us just fine. May have been a bit pricey but for a couple of days it was well worth being in a nice location. Restaurant and pup attached serves good food at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor which was very quiet and hand to stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Bonjour JohnCM_13,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent two nights here before our cruise left. The room was small, but had everything that was necessary. I felt like it was probably very European. There are rooms on an inside court which would have been nicer. The hand cream dispenser in the bathroom had the most wonderful hand cream that make your hands so soft.
The location is perfect. There are many tour buses that stop within a block. It is on the Grande Alley with lots of restaurants and coffee shops. There is a restaurant downstairs on location also. Everyone speaks English and French.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from the Grande Alley, and try to get a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LantainLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Bonjour LantainLogan,
Thank you very much for your review and for selecting our hotel. We hope you will be back. JOhanne Caron director of sales marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've been very happy with the location of the Hotel Chateau Laurier. I'll agree with what the others have written: The rooms are small and the hotel layout is confusing ... but there is so much to explore out the front doors of the hotel! It's a great home-base for exploring Old Quebec. The hotel itself is quiet. I had a courtyard room and didn't hear a peep! The staff were all very friendly (and thankfully speak English). If I wasn't here on business, I might find the price of the room to be a bit expensive--and the restaurants in the vicinity are pricey, too. I suspect this is all very touristy. Think... Banff or Whistler. Upscale, but worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuralRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Bonjour Nicoel,
We would like to take you for your review of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec. We are always pleased when people share their experiences and opinions on our hotel. A room during the winter months is more afordable. We hope you will be back. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We check-in at the hotel and were offered a room so far away it seemed we were in another hotel. Once we saw the EXTREMELY tiny room, we were highly disappointed to see the curtain couldn,t close. Seriously! We were in a room with a view on the street, pedestrians could see everything inside and we had all the light from the street coming in. We called the reception to fix the curtain issue, they called back saying the hotel was fully booked and that there's nothing they could do. After complaining, they finally fixed the problem by using PAPER CLIP !!!! Seriously, you don't check your room before giving it to clients ?
In addition, the hotel was next to 2 bars, with their loud music until 3am and screaming drunkies.
If you are going there for a quiet night, change hotel.

Room Tip: Room on Grande Allée are VERY NOISY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Bonjour Mel H,
Thank you for bringing the situation to our attention, we will investigate, this is not the way we should have resolve the issue with the curtains. Our location on the bustling Grande Allee Street may sometime be a little noisier then we wish for. However on many occasion it allows our customers to take full advantage of the action! Should you visit our hotel for a quiet stay, we recommend a room facing the Plains of Abraham, a wonderful urban park fronting the St-Lawrence River. We feature many room types to answer a wide range of lifestyle. Hope you will visit us again to experience our peaceful side. Johanne Caron director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had the perfect 3 nights at the Hotel Chateau Laurier. I was in a superior room with 2 queen beds. The pillows and the bed were too fluffy for my taste The pool felt fresh being on the heavy side the lader wasnt to practical maybe steps would be more practicle for everyone as it was the subject of coversation. The St Hubert restaurant was great.

The choice wasnt hard to make since on their website you could select a help button and you could get all your questions answered in a chat with an employe.

Next year i'll be back thats for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Storm|ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Bonjour Stormlady,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back soon. Johanne Caron director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When we first arrived at this hotel, we were very impressed by its location - opposite the Plains of Abraham, and on the corner of the main street for restaurants. However, as other reviewers have found, its layout is confusing as there are several (previously) separate buildings which now are included in this hotel. We experienced particular problems in trying to find the restaurant which in a hotel of this standard ought not to have been a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Bonjour Ian Y,
Thank you for your comment, you can rest assured that we do our outmost to deliver a fine experience to all of our guests despite the fact that our hotel may be more spread out, we are confident...that our broad array of services may offset this inconvenient . We hope you will be back. Johanne Caron director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I arrived at the hotel a day early, they changed the reservation at no cost. The on site garage was nice, down in the old city the street is your only choice at many hotels. the layout was strange several buildings joined, easy to get turned around. having a store in the hotel was convenient. Located next to the Grand Ally many good restaurants and bars to chose from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Bonjour Charles M.
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Chateau Laurier Quebec. Hope you will return soon. Johanne Caron director of sales marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#52 of 102 in Quebec City
2,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £77 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing