We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we paid for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
London Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we paid for.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Paid for a Standard room which was suppose to have a minimum queen size bed and be over 200 square feet as per their website and was crowbarred into a tiny room about 177 Square feet with a double bed. When I went to complain they said I got the proper size room. I was forced to actually measure the size of the room and still the staff didn't believe me. Because there was a convention going on their were no other rooms available. Room was on fourth floor overlooking Grand Allee even though I had called to reserve an inner courtyard room after reading other reviews. STAY away from the Grand Allee side because people are on the street talking loudly all night long. The Restaurant St Hubert was charging 4 star prices for 1 star food and the majority of people hit Subway, McDonalds or the Timmies hidden in the building down the street from the Hotel. Location was the only upside and I mean up... because everything else is located downhill from the hotel. Recommend you try the Auberge Louis Herbert restaurant for nice romantic dinner and the Cosmos restaurant for good food. Beware on Monday nights some places were not open. Also the Wi-Fi internet service was a joke (took me three tries to write this review) with constantly getting a DNS server error even though I was paying for the service.

Room Tip: Stay away from Grand Allee side and front entrance because of smokers at all times of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldnwerewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Bonjour,
We are truly sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We can assure you that every day, we strive to provide our customers with a fine experience. Our de luxe rooms feature a seating area, the best option when you require more space, they would be facing the Plains of Abraham. Should the hotel not been fully sold out we would have been happy to give you another room. Our focus is to please our guests, we do not have a 100% score but we strive for it! JOhanne Caron director sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    494
    225
    75
    38
See reviews for
313
507
36
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I reserved a room at the last minute that wasn't worth the money spent. Small room, tiny bathroom, on the first or second floor....good for students...with a large budget. I'm sure they have better rooms available, but don't think you'll get something similar to what you see on the photos.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxcom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Bonjour,
Since this review was posted, we have renovated 40 rooms and proudly launched a new concept called the ULTRA room. Ultra-modern, ultra-comfortable and ultra-bright, these rooms are now on the market since June 27 2014. You may wish to experience them during your next visit to Québec City. Occupation for two people only.
Our initial answer was:
Very sad to read your stay was not up to your expectation, we have so many different rooms: some are large with a contemporary design. We certainly hope that you will give us a second chance and please contact me directly should your travels take us to Québec again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The problem with this hotel is that it gives the impression to be in a hotel of the 1950s. All the materials and décors are sombre, dark, and I immagne any renovation that might have been done appeaers to have been done with poor quality materials. The attitude of some staff did not help. For instance the duvet on the beds was in a cover that served also as cover of the bed. It means that this is not changed when the room occupant changes, and it is clearly not too clean. When the staff was called to point out this they happily lied by saying that it was changed every day. We especially looked if frsh covers were present on the charriot of the people cleaning the room every day and there was no trace of it. When we calme the safe did not work, but this, goes to their merit, the staff corrected soon enough. Even better were the sheet used for the bed: my wife got broken (ripped) sheets the first day and when they were changed on her bed there was again a ripped sheet, but with a different rip. So it was changed, for another damaged one. Wer did not even bother to complain...
We do not want to speak of the breakfast. The breakfast room resembles a canteen, and the hot food is kepts in warming Equipment that had the appearance dirty (perhaps it wasn't) and appeared to come from the prehistory of catering, with wires everywhere etc.
The general impression given was of an hotel of staff bravely trying to imitate what a grand hotel (remember they have 4 stars) without quite getting to it: it gave me the impression to be almost in a comic show of a grand Hotel mochery. The prices are those of a 4 star hotel, but the rest is of a bad two stars one.
Only good point, and really not so favourable, as there are much better and cheaper hôtels in the same situation, is their nearness to the historical center.

Room Tip: For the same price go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 636TonTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Bonjour,
Since this review was posted, we have renovated 40 rooms and proudly launched a new concept called the ULTRA room. Ultra-modern, ultra-comfortable and ultra-bright, these rooms are now on the market since June 27 2014. You may wish to experience them during your next visit to Québec City. Occupation for two people only.
Our initial answer was:
I want to thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit at the hotel. Your comments are valuable to us and will allow us to improve our services. I want to personally apologize for not delivering our promise of exceeding our guest expectations. The cleanliness of the hotel is extremely important to us, when you will read these lines we will have shared your note with the department heads to follow with their individual team. We do change sheets daily, not the duvet cover. I have to assume that our employee misunderstood your question in regards to the housekeeping practice relative to daily replacement of the linen. We would never lie to a customer. In this case I’m sorry we seem to have misled you. Our instructions to the room attendant are not to use any sheet or towels that are not in a good condition. We will use your unfortunate experience for training. I would urge all our customers of the hotel, to bring up any complains to the director which are available 7 days week from 7AM to midnight. They will take actions to satisfy our guest. Johanne Caron director of sales marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan Falls
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were very happy with the Chateau Laurier, the staff were friendly and the room was adequate and very quiet. The location was central to restaurants and about a 10 minute walk to the touristy shops. There was not the hustle and bustle that you find around the Chateau Frontenac which suited us just fine. May have been a bit pricey but for a couple of days it was well worth being in a nice location. Restaurant and pup attached serves good food at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor which was very quiet and hand to stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Bonjour JohnCM_13,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent two nights here before our cruise left. The room was small, but had everything that was necessary. I felt like it was probably very European. There are rooms on an inside court which would have been nicer. The hand cream dispenser in the bathroom had the most wonderful hand cream that make your hands so soft.
The location is perfect. There are many tour buses that stop within a block. It is on the Grande Alley with lots of restaurants and coffee shops. There is a restaurant downstairs on location also. Everyone speaks English and French.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from the Grande Alley, and try to get a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LantainLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Bonjour LantainLogan,
Thank you very much for your review and for selecting our hotel. We hope you will be back. JOhanne Caron director of sales marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've been very happy with the location of the Hotel Chateau Laurier. I'll agree with what the others have written: The rooms are small and the hotel layout is confusing ... but there is so much to explore out the front doors of the hotel! It's a great home-base for exploring Old Quebec. The hotel itself is quiet. I had a courtyard room and didn't hear a peep! The staff were all very friendly (and thankfully speak English). If I wasn't here on business, I might find the price of the room to be a bit expensive--and the restaurants in the vicinity are pricey, too. I suspect this is all very touristy. Think... Banff or Whistler. Upscale, but worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuralRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Bonjour Nicoel,
We would like to take you for your review of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec. We are always pleased when people share their experiences and opinions on our hotel. A room during the winter months is more afordable. We hope you will be back. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We check-in at the hotel and were offered a room so far away it seemed we were in another hotel. Once we saw the EXTREMELY tiny room, we were highly disappointed to see the curtain couldn,t close. Seriously! We were in a room with a view on the street, pedestrians could see everything inside and we had all the light from the street coming in. We called the reception to fix the curtain issue, they called back saying the hotel was fully booked and that there's nothing they could do. After complaining, they finally fixed the problem by using PAPER CLIP !!!! Seriously, you don't check your room before giving it to clients ?
In addition, the hotel was next to 2 bars, with their loud music until 3am and screaming drunkies.
If you are going there for a quiet night, change hotel.

Room Tip: Room on Grande Allée are VERY NOISY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Bonjour Mel H,
Thank you for bringing the situation to our attention, we will investigate, this is not the way we should have resolve the issue with the curtains. Our location on the bustling Grande Allee Street may sometime be a little noisier then we wish for. However on many occasion it allows our customers to take full advantage of the action! Should you visit our hotel for a quiet stay, we recommend a room facing the Plains of Abraham, a wonderful urban park fronting the St-Lawrence River. We feature many room types to answer a wide range of lifestyle. Hope you will visit us again to experience our peaceful side. Johanne Caron director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#50 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Property: Hotel Chateau Laurier
Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing