We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small old room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #38 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

4 stars hotel with a small old room. We expected something nice but what we got was for about 2 stars. Such a waste!!!
The location is nice & the Hotel itself is fine but the room is bad.
They try to save money on everything & rip you off where possible: parking, internet & breakfasts.
We visited friends who stayed in Delta hotel. Ohhh my God, they paid the same money & what they got was totally different!
Big mistake.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Axel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Bonjour,
Since this review was posted, we have renovated 40 rooms and proudly launched a new concept called the ULTRA room. Ultra-modern, ultra-comfortable and ultra-bright, these rooms are now on the market since June 27 2014. You may wish to experience them during your next visit to Québec City
Our original answer was:
We are sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations, especially since we take great pride in our hotel and services. We offer so many different room type, we know we could have suggested another room that would have been more appropriate for your lifestyle. At any time a visitor should contact the director on duty when something is not up to par. We are very excited about the renovations underway, by early June our express room with have a complete new look! We certainly hope that you will give us a second chance and please contact me directly should your travels take us to Québec again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Came for business trip and hotel location is great, next to main strip of restaurants, bars and transit.

Reception services is great, helpful and understanding.

Room size is decent, clean and comfortable. But when the heater on it gives a loud rumbling noise.

They are renovating during my stay, perhaps you will see newer furniture in the summer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank CChin1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Bonjour,
We recently proudly launched our new concept called the ULTRA room. Ultra-modern, ultra-comfortable and ultra-bright, these rooms are now available. You may wish to experience them during your next visit to Québec City
Johanne Caron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I cannot get over how amazing this hotel was. The service, the accommodation, the location, the hotel staff - everything was just perfect. The rooms were clean to the brim, the concierge and front desk staff were very knowledgable and extremely approachable, the beds were SO comfortable, and the location was just perfect. We were right beside Grande Allee, which is where all the restaurants are. It was about a 10-15 min walk to Chateau Frontenac (and surrounding areas). And the walk is very enjoyable and scenic (we did it daily)! I can't get over how perfect this hotel is.. definitely worth considering for your stay in Old Quebec!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Bonjour Amisha A,
On behalf of the General Manager and the entire team of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. You have best summarized the main objective of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec which is to exceed the expectations of our customers. We look forward to your next visit. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice hotel with great location just minutes away from Old Quebec. The place was clean, and all staff members pleasant. The bedroom had modern decor (6th floor), and the bed was comfortable. Great sleep!!
Spa experience was scary, as we got stuck outside, as the key card access was completely frozen due to the low temperature (-15C), and we had to wait for someone to show up and ask to open the door!!
We had dinner at St Hubert restaurant, which was what you would expect from this restaurant. And breakfast in the morning, still at St Hubert, but the hot buffet was cold, with missing items, and the cold buffet was OK, but nothing great!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadianfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Bonjour Canadianfb,
Thank you for your evaluation on your last visit, it has been more than constructive, we have share your comment with our director of technical services to ensure everyhting is in good working condition. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The package was "build your own", which made it quite easy. We stayed in their luxury room, which was amazing. The staff at the "Conciergerie" were very helpful and made sure all details were attended to. A few misshaps but it was New Years Eve and the hotel was extremely busy! Overall a great stay. If you need anything, have questions or want recommendations on what to do speak to Marie-Pier or Julie at the "conciergerie". Wonderful staff members.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyfonfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Bonjour Jennyfonfon,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will share your kind words with our concierge team, they will be a source of motivation. We look forward to your next visit. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Cons:
Extremely overpriced
Tiny room (we mean really tiny, with small old bathroom; double bed)
Old furniture, cheap interior looks
$20 per day parking ($14 per day right next to the hotel self parking is available, which the staff member didn't tell us about)
Bar closed at 9pm (!) on Christmas day (hotel is for tourists, we come to spend our money here. Is this hotel in business for profits or what?)
WiFi $15 per day (!!) or $5 per hour
No shampoo. Instead of regular spa sets, here you will find only cheap soap to use (!!) (they save money on everything, fail to provide a better service)
Towels with holes!
Cheap no name TV

Pros:
Location
Pool, sauna and outdoor spa
Friendly staff

Its a good 2 star hotel! If you haven't booked - book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Bonjour,
This is our second follow up since this review was first posted.
We just completed a $ 3.4 million renovation program. Our new ULTRA room are on the market. Ultra-modern, ultra-comfortable and ultra-bright,. You may wish to experience them during your next visit to Québec City
Our original answer was:
We listen to our customers. We are pleased to announce that Internet access in now free of charge for all our clients. This comment was posted before this new policy. Furthermore all the TV have been changed also. Johanne Caron director of sales marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great location, charming decor of the room, very comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom. The lighting in the bathroom could be improved. The staff is very pleasant, and one of the concierge, a lady, was extremely resourceful, thorough in her response, and dedicated to providing the most detailed information. She even left a letter to our attention describing at length the different options available, with an interesting comment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Bonjour Noe12,
We would like to take the time to thank you for reviewing the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec. We are always pleased when people share their experiences and opinions on our hotel. We hope you will be back soon. Johanne Caron directrice ventes marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#53 of 102 in Quebec City
2,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing