We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wonderful Staff, Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Du Veiux Quebec for 3 nights in December. Although we had to wait a little longer for our room (which was not a problem as they stored our bags for us and we got to tour the area) we were pleasantly surprised to receive a bottle of champagne as a complementary gift. We chose to stay in the Quebec room. Wow. A beautiful cozy set up, equipped with a fire place and amazing Jacuzzi tub as well as a heaven made bed. We started our morning off with a perfect size continental breakfast, croissants, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and juice delivered right to our door in an adorable basket. We didn't have to worry about rushing around in the morning and then heading out to breakfast, it was a great way to start our day. After long walks touring old Quebec, we would come back to a very very clean room, hop into the tub and warm up before dinner. The front desk staff had tons of great suggestions for restaurants, tours, places to visit, and must see attractions. Any questions we had they would have a personalized, honest answer. We chose to eat at the italian eatery Portofino. Delicious. Then we also tried the Entrecote Saint-Jean steak. So good. I should also mention the location could not be better. A 5 min walk to the farthest attraction an everything else was steps away. The staffs suggestions never disappointed. I will deffinitly return to Hotel du Vieux Quebec and recommend it for all who travel to quebec city.

Room Tip: Quebec room is very private, large, and is located on the lower level of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Can't say anything bad about this hotel. Stayed in a number of hotels in Quebec City and for the location and price this was our favorite. Rooms were clean and staff very friendly. Right in the heart of shopping and restaurants. Will for sure stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just returned from a 4 day trip to Quebec. This was our third stay at this hotel and ready to do it again the next time we go. Love the location of the hotel, right in the middle of things! Everyone in the hotel is very helpful and accommodating. Also a continental breakfast is brought to your door every morning in a cute little picnic basket! Hope you will enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bratu2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was another TripAdvisor find, and such a good one. The hotel is located conveniently in the old part of the city of Quebec, easy to find, newly remodeled rooms, nice breakfast. Details:
We stayed for three nights toward the end of November. Our room rate included free come and go parking two of the nights (not Saturday, which was $14.00 CAN). We parked on a side street to unload, and then were given a parking pass to an underground garage which was just around the corner.
Once in the hotel, we were quickly checked in to a very nice room, with the previously-mentioned lovely bamboo wood floors and new bathroom. The room was smallish but included a desk for computer, and a mirrored sliding door closet. We loved the "faux" stone walls--they looked real and added a nice ambiance to the room. Lighting was all adjustable and the windows were covered with louvered shades. Bathroom included a large vanity area; the mini fridge was closeted away behind one of the cabinet doors, a nice aesthetic choice. The tub was large with high sides--beware anyone with any infirmities--and water pressure was fine. We agree with previous posters: bring your own soap, shampoo and conditioner if you are at all picky. The hotel is "green" and avoids those little bottles, but the soaps provided in wall dispensers are quite generic and a little drying.
The room was quiet, mostly. We did hear some revelers later at night; I brought ear plugs so that helped. I wonder what it would be like in the summer time with windows open? The bed was super comfy so sleep was not a huge issue.
Did you read previous posts about the breakfast baskets? Oh, what a wonderful way to start the day!!! It was great fun to open up the basket each day to discover the contents. The first day we had super fresh croissants with jam, bran muffins, pears, orange juice and yogurt. Things didn't vary much from day one, but it was still a fun and innovative way to receive free breakfast.
There is a nice lounge downstairs with a computer and a free printer. Lots of books and DVDs to borrow; you can even request a free bowl of microwave popcorn for movie-watching.
Next door is a good restaurant; I really enjoyed a "salade paysanne" (has a soft-boiled egg on top which you mix in with the greens, bacon, etc). Delicious. Sunday thru Thursday, they offer "all you can eat" mussels and fries. Yummers. Great wait staff, super friendly.
We walked easily all over the old town from the hotel. Note: even in November, dinner reservations were needed at all the nicer restaurants, including the one next door!
We went to one restaurant outside the walls, which was given high marks on Chowhound, Le Bellig. Fabulous and huge crepes served with a very fresh green salad. Worth the slightly extra effort to get to this end of Rue Saint-Jean (also where J A Moisan and Le Pain Gruel are located).
Do stay here if you can, and enjoy your trip!!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with the newer floors and stone walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieLovesFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This hotel is perfectly located within the city walls close to all the sights, restaurants and shopping. Location is perfect. We were two single women and had a large room with 2 queen size beds at opposite sides of the room and a half wall in between, so was wonderful for the feeling of privacy. There were 2 flat screen TV's (not that we ever watched them as we were out and about all the time). Beds were very comfortable with lovely soft linens. Room has a safe, fridge, desk, table & chairs and free wireless internet. Continental breakfast is delivered to the room in the morning via a basket with juice, croissants, yogurt and fruit. There is a very nice lounge near the lobby with a fireplace, computer and printer (free to use). I highly recommend this hotel for it's location, charm and comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Hotel du Vieux is reasonably priced (we paid $128 Canadian per night) for a small but charming room in a lovely old building right in the heart of old Quebec City. Our room was stylishly furnished in modern furnishings, with bare wooden floors (a plus in my opinion). The room was small (larger rooms were available for $20 more) but we loved it. It came equipped with small fridge, flat-screen tv, wi-fi (worked well), and a double bed with many, many pillows, There was also a nice desk/counter and an arm chair. The bathroom had only a shower cabinet but it was large and nicely designed. It had a conveniently large and very clean counter top and sink. My only criticism was that the soap, shampoo and conditioner were in dispensers in the shower and they were very antiseptic smelling and the soap and conditioner did not lather well or feel good. Breakfast was included (continental) and came in a wicker basket hung on a hook on your door every morning. Charming! The first day it was two elephant ears, two croissants, maple butter (YUM!!!!), 2 yogurts, 2 apples and 2 juices. The second day we were disappointed that instead of elephant ears we got buns, and instead of maple butter we got jam. Other than that the breakfast was the same. The wicker baskets are a nice touch!!! On the main floor there is an utterly beautiful lounge complete with fireplace, and free DVDs for the guests. The location is ideal - right in the heart of everything. Maybe a bit noisy at night out the window for some people though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Anne E

I just spent the weekend at the Hotel du Vieux Quebec, and loved it. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Fully bilingual. The hotel is centrally located in Old Quebec, there is a reading room/library with a fireplace, and guests receive a lovely continental breakfast every morning in a basket hung on the door. I heartily recommend it.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing