We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank for a wonderful anniversary weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from Quebec City, where we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. We couldn't have chosen a better place to go for such a special anniversary! It was my second time in the city, my husband's first, and our first visit to this amazing hotel. It definitely won't be our last. From the minute we stepped in the door, we were welcomed with genuine enthusiasm and friendliness from every member of the staff. Special thanks to Emily who checked us in and made sure we had all the information we needed to take full advantage of the summer arts festival. Our room was beautiful - clean, comfortable, bright, and quiet. Going to sleep with only the clop-clop of the carriage horses as background noise was so lovely. So was stepping out the door every morning to another adventure strolling around the old city wherever our fancy took us. The arts festival was in full swing, so we were able to watch street performers all day in several spots close to the hotel. In the evenings, Rue St. Jean was closed to vehicles and become a lovely pedestrian area to wander along on the way to performances on one of the outdoor concert stages. On our way, we might see huge horse puppets or become part of a street parade led by a troupe shooting coloured streamers! Or we could drop into a pub for cold local ales and cider, and lovely food. It was an amazing trip, and L'Hotel was the heart and soul of our time there. Congratulations to the staff and management - you have created a truly great (and green!) oasis for the travelers who stay with you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linnaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our 3rd stay in 10 years. Since our last stay 6 years ago, the rooms have been updated. We ended up in a suite (which sleeps 6). This was great for our two children, ages 9 and 12, who each claimed their own bed.
The location is right on Rue St Jean, in the middle of the shopping district. Very convenient. We spent all our time in the Old Quebec and Lower Town, walked to everything from the hotel. The parking garage is just around the corner. We drove to Quebec and left the car parked for our entire stay.

The breakfast consisted of croissants and /or muffins from the bakery Poullaird across the street, with orange juice, and yogurt. The first day we each got one croissant and one raspberry muffin. The second day we each got one plain croissant and one chocolate croissant (which was even better) . The croissants are soft, chewy and melt in your mouth. They make the Au Bon Pain Croissants look like sad relatives. The croissants and muffins go for about 2 dollars each at the bakery. The breakfast basket is one of the things the kids remembered from the trip 6 years ago. The breakfast basket is left hanging on a hook on your door. The kids loved getting ready in the morning by eating breakast and finishing the movie from the night before. They have a library of 500 DVD's which you can borrow. When you rent the movie they will also give you a bowl of h ot microwave popcorn which the kids loved. After walking around all the day, the kids loved eating the popcorn and relaxing by watching the movei.

The front desk staff was polite. They seemed a little understaffed on the weekend we were there - althought there were 2 people manning the front desk there was always a wait to speak to them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swansfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lovely hotel in a perfectly central location in Quebec--exactly in the middle of everything this beautiful city has to offer. The hotel staff was amazingly sweet and helpful. We couldn't get our curtains to work properly and Geoffrey the manager not only moved us to a larger room for the same price, but even gave us our parking for free. The breakfast basket, as others have mentioned, is not only a great value but so charming, just like the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

What a wonderful hotel, in a fabulous location, right in the Old Town walls. Our room was small and had a view of a roof and a window of another room, but seemed clean. The lobby was pretty filthy but I'm sure it's hard to keep clean in July, the height of tourist season. The staff was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Many other reviewers have reved about the basket breakfast, which was wonderful, but no review that I read mentioned our favorite amenity . . . the hotel has a huge library of current and classic movies that they let you borrow for free, and they also supply a big bowl of hot popcorn (free) to enjoy while you watch it. This was a highlight for our 10-year-old, who was exhausted and completely bored of Quebec at the end of a long day of sightseeing. A very sweet and thoughtful detail.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella_luna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been a joy for us. Clean, quiet, modestly elegant. Right in the middle of everything. But the staff is the best--truly friendly and so helpful, inspite of our lack of French. I realize this all sounds cheesy, but it has been lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhodyTimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Perfect location, close walk to everything. Super clean, comfortable and quiet room and extremely friendly and helpful staff. They advised us on restaurants and tours, made our reservations and even mailed a postcard for us. We loved the breakfast basket left hanging on our door each morning with more than enough food! We couldn't have found a better place to stay in Quebec City. We will definitely stay at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec again on our next visit.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is in the upper city, but is in the lower part of the upper city. You can go anywhere from here. Rue St. Jean is a busy promenade. Lots of cafes with outdoor seating. The room is clean, the bathroom is modern and large. The bed comfy. Even though we are on top of a restaurant and windows open to the street, the room is very quiet. The desk staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ally8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £91 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing