We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Great Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Price!”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This was my first time staying at the L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec and I would definitely stay here again if travelling to Quebec City. It is located on Rue-St. Jean inside the walls of old Quebec and is right next to all of the restaurants and shopping. Don't let the price of this hotel fool you, it is a beautiful hotel on both the inside and out and the service was excellent. There is temporary parking located right beside the building so that you can check in, but after that you need to park about 500 meters away from the building in an underground parking lot ($16 nightly). This was the only thing that I did not enjoy about this hotel as you need to walk outside and across the street just to get to your car. Not so much fun in a snow storm! The staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They made suggestions as to where we should eat and offered us assistance in locating different attractions that we wanted to visit. The hotel offers free movies which was perfect after returning from a long day of sightseeing and even serves free popcorn to go with it! The room was clean and pretty spacious considering the location. New electronics and bathroom fixtures, as well as upscale bedding. Inside the room there is a brochure that includes a free self-guided walking tour with descriptions of all the historic buildings that are on the trail. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing the historic side of Old Quebec. It guides you along the fortress walls to the oldest street in Quebec city! It also takes you to great shopping and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay inside the walls of Old Quebec.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacalyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    231
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
365
783
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have stayed many times in Quebec City however this was my first stay at the L'Hotel du Vieux -Quebec. It is conveniently located in the old part of Quebec. There is temporary parking right out from. I checked in and was provided a parking pass ($16) with in and out privileges just around the corner. The staff was exceedingly friendly and the hotel was very clean. The bed was comfortably with excellent choice of pillows (soft, medium and hard). My daughter was studying for a job interview. There is a beautiful living area on the main level that offered a quiet spot to read and enjoy a fire or use one of their computers. While she was studying I had the choice of over 600 CDs to choose from which you just sign in and out and watch in your room. They will even make popcorn for you-nice touch! To get great service, a spacious room, an updated bathroom (with a great shower!), a wonderful breakfast basket delivered to your room and comfortable bedding in an ideal location all at an unbelievably low price-this is tremendous value! Don't bother looking anywhere else if you want a great hotel at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaRealt0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have stayed at this small hotel twice -- in January 2012 and again in January 2013. The accommodations and service were exceptional on both visits. The location of the hotel is excellent - inside the walls of the old city and only minutes from the main VIA rail station. It is walking distance to many excellent restaurants and also historical and cultural sites. There is some shopping nearby and the large Place Ste Foy shopping centre a short city bus ride away. Both times we visited we took business class VIA rail from Ottawa and enjoyed several stress-free days of pampering.

Room Tip: The double-queen room (with an additional murphy bed) offers lots of space for two adults to share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritanniaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

superb...from the location,front desk staff,the continental breakfast that was at our door every morning to the location. you can tell when an owner cares about a property and this one showed that. spent christmas week with my wife and 2 little daughters here and had a blast,especialy new years eve in the town center. we are going back in the summer when we can enjoy walking the town without freezing our derriers off. cheers to HVQ.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doncheech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed 3 nights right after Christmas. We were so happy with the choice of this hotel! Unfailingly polite & friendly staff. Great location. The room was very comfortable & felt " homey" coming in from the cold & snow outside. The breakfast can't be beat! Delicious & enough food that we could have a snack later in the day. What a great idea to leave it on the hook outside the door each morning. It felt like getting a gift everyday. Thanks to all the staff, both at the desk & behind the scenes, for making our stay very pleasant. As an added bonus, the hotel is a "green/ Eco friendly " establishment & the owner(s) are to be commended for all the efforts so far. Read about it on the hotel website- fascinating! (there is no swimming pool. I clicked it in error & then couldn't undo it on an iPad.)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slowdog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

nice place and very professional reception, fantastic breakfast in small basket on room (juice, croisants, any kind of cheese and jam) ... big and comfortable beds... no problem with internet wifi connection

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights here over New Years and LOVED it. It's away from the party scene on Boulevard René-Lévesque, but an easy walk to it (about ten minutes). The immediate area is very European, and subsequently, very romantic :) The staff were REALLY friendly, smiley and helpful - which is something I wasn't expecting from a French-decedent area.

Only things stopping me from giving it 5 stars is the wall thickness.

On New Years Eve, there were a bunch of kids running around and playing in the hotel room next to us (I assume their parents were out on the town). We could hear EVERYTHING - every giggle, cry, game of tag, etc. We were in bed fairly early since the -6F windchil blew through us at midnight... but without earplugs, I doubt we would have gotten any sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing