We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay with fab staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 February 2013

A gorgeous little hotel right in the heart of old town Quebec City! It has so much history, exceptionally clean, nicely decorated and the staff were far beyond pleasant, accommodating and helpful. Anything we asked for, they helped us with...corkscrew, kettle for tea, free borrowing of dvd's along with popcorn and so much more. We stayed here for four nights during the last weekend of Carnival and it really was a perfect location within walking distance of everything. We opted for the breakfast basket delivered right to the room each morning and it went far beyond exceeding our expectations! The basket was $5 and filled with 2 croissants, 2 muffins (or danish, it alternated each morning!), 2 yogurt, 2 pieces of fruit, 2 cheese, coffee cream and jams! Seriously! The pastries came fresh from the bakery just down the street and were delicious. We had a wonderful time staying here and we 100% will return and stay here again! Also we must mention Emilie at the front desk...she was one of the sweetest and most helpful hotel staff we have ever encountered in all our years of travel! Thank you to Emilie for making our stay in gorgeous Quebec City that much more memorable! We promise to return!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

Can't say enough about this super hotel. Staff are fantastic, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Location is great, very close to all sights. Room modern and very very clean. You have to get the breakfast basket! Outstanding value overall; we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

After doing some on-line research, we chose L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec for a snowy week-long winter vacation and our first visit to Quebec. We chose HVQ because it appeared to have a lovely European look, reviews were generally very good and it was centrally located in the walled "Old City" within walking distance to most sights. Our stay at the hotel during the February Winter Carnaval ended up exceeding all of our expectations. The web site was a very accurate depiction and the building was still festively decorated with evergreens and holiday lights. We booked the Deluxe 1 King room and loved it. It included a wonderful gas fireplace which not only added ambience, but helped warm our room on the frigid February mornings. It also had a comfortable seating area with sofa, easy chair, coffee table, flat panel TV and small coffee bar with a fridge, espresso machine and safe. The room was facing a side street which afforded less views, but added more privacy and more distance from the street noise out on busy Rue St. Jean. The room was impeccable and had a small but modern and comfortable bathroom with rain shower. The floorplan was larger than the average guest room and closet/drawer space was plentiful for guests planning a winter stay or a longer stay as we did. We had a charming breakfast picnic basket delivered to our room each morning (hung on the door) which included various assortments of croissants, pastry, breakfast sandwiches, fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses, jam and juice. We looked forward to seeing what was in our basket each morning and found them all a delicious and filling treat. The hotel also offers large comfortable great room on the first floor with overstuffed seating, fireplace and library available to all guests. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgable and more than willing to communicate in English while helping me learn some basic French as well.There is no room service for food, but adjoining the lobby is a small French bistro and pub 'Les Freres de La Cote' open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ended up eating here a number of times and found the food to be very good with variety and it's a favorite of the locals too. Even with snow covering the streets, we walked every day to explore nearby sights and enjoy the unique beauty of this historic and vibrant city. We loved Quebec City and we loved L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec!

Room Tip: Deluxe 1 king is our favorite (see review)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I prefer staying at big name hotels, but after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, I decided to give this hotel a shot – I’m so glad I did! I stayed in room #212 – 2 queen beds, a sitting area, nice bathroom and 3 large windows. The room was renovated, clean and quiet. The front desk staff are *the* nicest, friendliest, front desk staff I have ever experienced. They were very accommodating; informing us on things to do, printing us maps, etc. The hotel has wonderful “extras” like free breakfast brought to your door and free movie rentals and popcorn. The hotel is in walking distance to everything! I would absolutely stay here again. Also, be sure to eat at ‘aux ancient Canadiens’ – for $19.99 you get a glass of wine or beer, soup, a delicious main dish (many to choose from) and dessert – really good!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The friendly hotel staff gave us many restaurant suggestions, all spot on. All the staff was very polite, helpful and spoke perfect English. We met at least six various hotel staff and each was just a upbeat, polite and helpful as the previous staff.

Upon our departure we were greated with cookies and hot chocolate! Breakfast basket on the door is a huge plus.

The rooms are spacious, up to date and the hotel is "green" with lots of small gestures like recycling and upgraded heating and water.

The hotel is lovely and centrally located. You won't need to move the car the entire visit. This hotel does not disappoint. Already thinking of a return trip.

Room Tip: The breakfast arrives in a wicker basket on the door filled with goodies from the French bakery acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Our first time to Quebec City, and we were referred by co-workers to this hotel. Great location in the old city-- we walked everywhere from there. Excellent value. The rooms were clean, everything in good shape. The service from staff was excellent-- friendly, informative, always ready to help. We spent three nights. The breakfast baskets left at your door each morning were a really nice touch-- chocolate croissants were my wife's favorite!
We loved QC. We'll be back-- and when we are back you can be sure we'll stay at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This really is a nice location in old town Quebec. Since we had stayed there before we were offered a 20% discount which was great. We opted for a superior room this time which was nice although the slanted ceilings made it feel a little claustrophobic. The staff were friendly as always and the complimentary water, hot chocolate and coffee were much appreciated. The breakfast baskets were so cute and we looked forward to them each day. I was impressed by how clean they keep the hotel with so many people coming in and out with snow mess all over their shoes. Internet access was great too. The lounge downstairs was very comfortable and the selection of free DVDs was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,606 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing