We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never had it better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Never had it better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I couldn't remember what made me pick this hotel over all the others, but when it came down to it, it didn't matter as I can't imagine a better place. And I have NEVER had such great service at a hotel. Ever. The staff is amazing. Especially Emilie and Pierrot at the front desk. They were friendly, and their care about our happiness was genuine. They jumped at any thought of helping us from inquiring about restaurant availabilities to making reservations, to offering up true dining experiences. Emilie even was lovely enough to volunteer to take a xmas photo of my family. The maid staff did an amazing job and took good care of us in our rooms. Besides all that, the place has perfect location, the rooms attractive and comfortable and the lounge on the main floor makes you want to hang out with it's comfy chairs, sofas, games, DVD selection and roaring fire in the fire place. There are fresh cookies in the lobby daily and the coolest idea ever: picnic basket breakfasts. We absolutely loved having breakfast in our pajamas in the comfort of our room. We were on the 4th floor and were not bothered by street noise. I will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tadec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    230
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
360
769
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Located right in old Quebec, this is a great hotel for single travelers and families alike. Reception is very warm and informative, and the breakfast in the picnic basket hanging on your door in the morning is a real treat, with more food than we could finish in one sitting. Granted, it's not a high-end hotel, nonetheless it's the little extras and services that make this a gem of a hotel. The kids loved the selection of DVDs that they offer at the front desk to watch in your room. I definately recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

After reading very good reviews about this hotel, we booked and we had an excellent deal for a superior room. Located in the heart of Old Quebec this hotel is near all the sites and shopping in Quebec City. We were greeted with a warm welcome and our room was comfortable and modern. I would have preferred the charm of the stone wall suite but we our stay was brief and we enjoyed it nonetheless. They have a continental breakfast picnic basket for ten dollars delivered to your room at 8 AM.(without knocking at your door). Its very convenient and there's fresh croissant to boot. We recommend this hotel for its comfort and appeal, it is not a luxury hotel by any means,but a this price it is a very good deal, and we will not forget to book at l'Hotel du Vieux Quebec next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful four-night stay at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. We opted for the Deluxe King Room, and could not have been more pleased with the choice. Behind a rather unassuming exterior and just-ok lobby, our room was fantastic. Cozy yet hip decor, thoughtful lighting, a spacious bathroom and (best of all) the in-room fireplace made this an excellent getaway when we needed a break from sight-seeing. With nearly zero sound from outside or inside, I got some of the best sleep I've ever had in a hotel. And the central location is a huge plus. I'd definitely stay at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec again.

Room Tip: It's worth the splurge to get a room with a fireplace and sitting area, especially if staying fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetgirl1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

After reading the reviews here we chose this hotel and found it very nice. The location was perfect, there is a pub next door, Macdonalds is across the street and Tim Horten is a block away, the staff did all they could to help, English was no problem, we would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

By far one of the best hotels I have stayed in! Relatively recently renovated and it shows, the hotel is immaculately well maintained, clean, and warm. They have a huge collection of DVDs you can borrow for free which is nice. We originally reserved a mid range room for 1 night, but upgraded to the suit (room 4, definitely worth it!) and stayed for 3 nights. We took a tour of all the room types and all were really nice and clean. Parking is underground for a fee of 16 CAD (I've found this to be a standard practice in Canada) but very close, not even a 2 minute walk. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with recommendations on what to see AND where to eat. The breakfast was excellent, I loved that it was delivered in a picnic basket daily to our room, it's so nice not having to get up early and dressed to go have breakfast somewhere. It can be a little messy with crumbs, but I'll take the mess for the comfort of breakfast being delivered and enjoyed in bed at my convenience.
We originally booked the first night via Expedia, it was actually more expensive than booking directly with the hotel but once you consider the exchange rate and foreign currency fees probably about the same. Expedia reservations however do not include breakfast for free while direct reservations do.
We will absolutely be back sooner rather than later to Quebec City and L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josip19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The raves for L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec are right-on! Great location. Good price. Clean, comfortable. Just putting my 2-cents in as a solo traveller. Can walk anywhere you want to go from here. Deep tub! Enviromentally conscious. Earl Grey tea in your room. I had the small room and it was just terrific for one person. It could have fit two, but someone would have to sit on the bed. Front desk welcoming. Free movies. Fresh fruit.

Room Tip: I was in 201 - at the end of a hallway - and that was nice because there wasn't much foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REJ810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing