We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the Old Quebec City. Excellent for exploring both the upper town and lower town. There are walking tours instructions ( with history) available in the room. Clean fresh drinking water too! The bed is comfy with different types of pillow to choose. The water in the shower is hot and big. We had to leave at 7am and the hotel packed a huge bag of breakfast for us to take away. Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quebec City!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Staris_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a super hotel right in the heart of vieux Quebec. The location is great and within easy walking distance of all of the main attractions in Quebec City.

There is no breakfast room but a very nice breakfast hamper is delivered to your room each morning.

The hotel is small and family run, and the lounge with a log fire is very welcome on a snowy December day. Add in the knowledgeable and helpful staff, and this has to be one of the best kept secrets in Quebec City.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here in Sept of 2012.
Nestled in the heart of old town Quebec, the location couldn't be more perfect.
The hotel staff were super friendly, even when we didn't speak much French; they spoke fluent English and we didn't make us feel less for not being bilingual. (We felt a little guilty being Canadian and not being versed in French... and the high school French just didn't hold up!).
The rooms are clean, well furnished, and comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend or book here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We just had a great 4 night stay. Good location, in the heart of the walled old town and steps away from lots of bars and restaurants and interesting stuff.

Pros:
Comfortable room, good beds and pillows, quiet. Super friendly and helpful staff. A library of books, board games and DVDs, offered with free, freshly made popcorn - much appreciated by a ten year old! Bustling bistro downstairs is not part of the hotel but shares the same entrance which is great after a long journey and when it's - 17 C outside.

Cons:
There is no breakfast room and so you have to eat the continental breakfast in your bedroom. Actually, it's not such a hardship because you order the night before and they hang a wicker hamper on a hook on the outside of your bedroom door first thing in the morning.

We will definitely be back. This hotel gets a well deserved top score.

Room Tip: Nice views from the top (4th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Team M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We returned to Quebec and the hotel last week. The staff members were again delightful and very helpful. We still love the hotel and are likely to stay there again if we revisit in the future.
We appreciated the environmental practices the hotel has in place such as offering filtered water in refillable glass containers in the room for free.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I picked this hotel over others because we could get 2 queen beds (versus doubles) for our family of 4 (most of the other choices were for doubles, including the Frontenac). We honestly couldn't be happier with our choice. The staff is exceptionally nice and accommodating. The rooms are very roomy, with comfortable beds, plenty of room to walk around and a nice bathroom - really great for our family. We're right in the middle of Old Quebec and able to stop in between seeing different sights. One night, the kids were too tired to go out, so we picked a movie from a listing the hotel offered of 600+ movies - they even made us fresh popcorn. Exceptional choice for a family vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I couldn't remember what made me pick this hotel over all the others, but when it came down to it, it didn't matter as I can't imagine a better place. And I have NEVER had such great service at a hotel. Ever. The staff is amazing. Especially Emilie and Pierrot at the front desk. They were friendly, and their care about our happiness was genuine. They jumped at any thought of helping us from inquiring about restaurant availabilities to making reservations, to offering up true dining experiences. Emilie even was lovely enough to volunteer to take a xmas photo of my family. The maid staff did an amazing job and took good care of us in our rooms. Besides all that, the place has perfect location, the rooms attractive and comfortable and the lounge on the main floor makes you want to hang out with it's comfy chairs, sofas, games, DVD selection and roaring fire in the fire place. There are fresh cookies in the lobby daily and the coolest idea ever: picnic basket breakfasts. We absolutely loved having breakfast in our pajamas in the comfort of our room. We were on the 4th floor and were not bothered by street noise. I will come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tadec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £93 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing