We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The breakfast basket at the door is a particularly good idea! The quality of the breakfast was great. Really comfortable bed. Great bath with good quality towels.
The hotel is close to the heart of Québec - really ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Perfectly located hotel in Old Quebec, close and easy walk to restaurants, shops and sights. Room was small but nice and very clean and comfortable. Bathroom looked like new. We greatly enjoyed breakfast delivered to our room each morning, including freshly baked pastries, yogurt, fruit, juice, cheese. The staff was very friendly, helpful and bilingual. I especially love their eco-friendly focus and carbon-neutral status. I highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellej838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

You cannot do better...great value ..great location.

We have been to Quebec City at least 8 times in the last few years and always stay at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec.
The breakfast basket hanging outside your door in the morning is terrific. It usually includes juice fruit yogurt croissants or muffins butter. The coffee is not very good and we bought our coffee across the street at Mac....

The rooms are very clean furniture is a bit dated.

Room Tip: Go for a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senior69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My family and I spent the Christmas Holidays at this outstanding hotel and we could not be more pleased.
It is an old building but very nicely updated. The rooms were adequately sized and all 3 rooms were impeccably clean, bright and well laid out.
The hotel staff was extremely efficient and helpful with arranging touristy activities. Above all else, the staff was one of the most pleasant I have ever encountered.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Noise from snow plows was the only down side, but what else would a person expect in Quebec in winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rge71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

What an amazing little city you are visiting when you stay at this quaint hotel. You are in the heart of Old Quebec, but then again everything is in the heart of this tiny city. The rooms are nicely appointed. Our room a super king room, was a corner room and looked over the street. Our bed was comfy....I must! Vincent, the front desk clerk was very nice, spoke English very well and clearly wanted to help us enjoy our stay. Due to the possibility of a language barrier the front desk has photographs of certain landmarks or necessities (banks, etc) so that we could easily recognize the foreign companies or signage. What a great idea! The people of Quebec City are very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Best hotel ive stayed in yet. Great location in old quebec near lots of restruants and shops. its fantastic not having to get up and dressed to go to a breakfast room every morning, and it was exciting opening your basket to see the pastry of the day. another great plus is the lounge. lovely and cosy to play a game of scrabble if its too cold outside. all the staff spoke english and were very accomadating, even offering us popcorn while in the lounge!! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph-arcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked this place due to its proximity to old Quebec and nearby underground parking, as we were on a Halifax to Cambridge Ontario Christmas road trip we could not rightfully drive through Quebec without staying at least a night. our french is beyond bad but all the staff at the hotel have been excellent. Pierrot was especially helpful at the front desk and everyone was very pleasant and polite. If you want to do a whirlwind tour of Quebec city and you only have a day or two this is the ideal spot. Only negative is the lack of cheap places to eat nearby but that can be expected in the walled city and has nothing to do with hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in 401, cute little room with a half decent view, quiet as there is no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmcdaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £93 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing