We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Myself and two friends spent three nights at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec.

Pros:
-Location: The hotel is located on a very lively street and all you need to do is walk around everywhere! In case you need a car rental, there's a nearby Hertz.
-Room: Our room was very spacious with two beds on different ends (and two TVs!). It was big enough for the three of us.
-Lounge: Lovely area to relax. They have a fantastic cappuccino machine and offer free water/soft drinks/juice throughout the day...which is really nice as it saved us quite a bit of money.
-Free breakfast: If you book through their website, you get a "breakfast in a basket" on your door every morning which is nice to wake up to. The freshly juice orange juice was great. Plus after one night, you can pick your selection of breakfast.
-Staff: Everyone was friendly which was fantastic. They were allowed early check-in which is always a plus.
-Free Wi-Fi.

Cons
-No pool or hot tub. Not a big deal but would be a nice addition.

I don't have much else negative to say about this place. It's definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RexAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with two of my friends for 2 nights 1st and 2nd of May 2014. We went to that hotel last year also. This year there was some renovations done which is very nice. The hotel is very clean.
The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful they look like they are happy to work there.
A special thanks to Pierrot and Vanessa for making us feel special and at home. Pierrot made the reservations for us to go for supper. Pierrot has very good taste and we were very happy with his recommendations for restaurants. All the staff we have met were very helpful and nice.
In the morning we forgot to remove our "Do Not Disturb Card" so our room did not get done. We called the reception when we got to the room. The gentleman" unfortunately I did not take his name" at the reception asked what we needed and within minutes he was at our room with towels, wine glasses and picking up our dirty glasses and towels.
The day we left we had to get out of the room for 11:00 a.m. but we wanted to stay shopping longer. Pierrot stored our luggage in a room and we got to keep our parking until 2:00 p.m.

We had chicken at the restaurant of the hotel for lunch the food was excellent and so was the beer. Sebastien the waiter was also very nice.
We also like the location of the hotel.
We walked to the train station as we had supper one night at the Charbon Restaurant the restaurant is located at the train station. It was a walking distance of approximately 15 minutes. If you choose to go to Quebec City by train it would not cost you too much in taxi to get to the hotel. We went to the Charbon for a steak as recommended by Pierrot and we were not disappointed the meal and atmosphere was excellent.
The hotel is super nice with the new renovations.
We enjoyed our stay very much and we plan on going back to Quebec City and staying there again. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed with our family with three small children for four nights. The staff was incredibly helpful, always with smiles and politeness. And when we discovered shortly after checkout that one of our party had left a significant item behind, we called and they found it and sent it immediately by taxi to the station for us.

Our room was sizeable and wel-outfitted. For the rainy day the DVD player was very useful, and the hotel has a large number of DVDs for borrowing. Breakfast was simple continental style but high-quality. The coffee and cookies in the main guest reception room were also much appreciated.

Two small issues with what was otherwise an excellent stay: the construction was a bit distracting, not just in the hotel but on the road just outside, which started early in the morning. The renovations look great but sometimes were not quite perfect, such as the night table drawer in our room which only partially opens as the newly-redone wall blocks it. There was also a constant deep vibration noise in our bathroom, like a train constantly passing nearby, but this was not noticeable outside of it. The other small issue was that for some reason one of the two beds in our room had a mattress that was as hard as rock (the other one was fine). But these were minor issues overall.

We had a wonderful stay and would gladly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed there just 1 night. When the repairs are completed it will be so much fun to stay at this hotel. They really care about you and the tv in our room was really big with tons of channels. There are dispensers for soap on the wall when you shower. You check in and out very fast. They want you to enjoy Québec and they are helpful. Un fortunately they could not find a shower cap for me. But the breakfast is a lot of fun. You eat in your room and they bring a nice pick nick basket with croissant, jam, fruit in a jar, danish, yogurt . There is a coffee maker in your room and a little fridge. They have taste. The hotel is very very well located. We say 2 little cats outside by the window. We want to go back there.

Room Tip: A place where people care about you and have good taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The staff at this hotel, especially Emilie and Vincent, really went above and beyond to make sure we were able to make the most out of our trip, by making great suggestions of things to do, making reservations, and researching outings for us. If it wasn't for Emilie, we might have missed out on one of the best culinary experiences I've personally ever had (Le Patriache - go there!!!). All the hotel employees whom we encountered were friendly and sincere and really seemed to care that we had a fun time. The breakfast was nice too. Every morning, we looked forward to discovering what surprises we would have in our picnic basket.

Room Tip: The tap water is perfectly safe to drink and it tastes fine. I'm very picky about water and almo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 48655Amanda_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This place is really nice. We booked there even though it is under severe renovation. The rooms were cheaper by 20%. So we paid 118$ per night per room.
The rooms have just bern renovated and look really nice. The beds are confortable. It is well decorated.
Staff is really nice and friendly. Location is great.
They hang a little basket at your door for breakfast. It has juice, fresh croissant, cheese, apple and oranges. Very nice gesture.
Nice flat screen tv.
Complimentary dvd. A choice over 600 movies and they offer to bake you popcorn.
This place is just amazing. I can only imagine what it will like once the renovations are finished.
Will come back for sure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank kate_dut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I did research before I came to Quebec on which hotel I would choose. This hotel is rated the number 2 hotel to stay in in Quebec and there is a reason why. It is well designed, cozy and right in the center of Vieux-Quebec. It feels like a specialty hotel! The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful and even gave us advice. If you're bringing a car there is parking in the City Hall which is like only 100 feet from the hotel. They do charge but it's better to know that your car will be safe and secure. Plus if it's the winter, like when we came, you'll want your car out of the harsh elements.

We came on one of the coldest days this year (early January) where temperatures were hovering around -35 to -40. So it was nice to come to a fire, a room with comfy sheets and two tvs, coffee and tea. Also it was nice to look at the snow instead of be in it! If you have any doubt about booking, don't! It's a great place to be in all year round. The price was actually decent as anybody who is trying to book a hotel in Quebec or Montreal will tell you. Overall you get what you pay for when traveling and this place delivers.

Room Tip: We got a deluxe room that was only a little more. It was nice and worth it as we had an extra guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shawnvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £90 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing