We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stay's, ever - and I'm savvy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I'm a frequent international traveler who, for 30-years, has linked business and leisure travel. I sincerely found Hotel Du Vieux Quebec to be one of the best hotels that I have ever experienced. The entire hotel is spotless; the Quebecois culture of service is always astounding; one of the best unique amenities (of many) is the excellent breakfast that they hand-deliver to each room every morning — and, obviously, its location in the middle of Old Quebec is one of the best places on Earth. I found myself leaving with a huge smile and will return to this hotel as much as possible. :) :)

Room Tip: The rating (above) for a pool is for 'access to a pool' — not to a pool within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Binding-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute. All in all, this was a great location for a romantic, long-weekend holiday.

This hotel is listed a 3-star, but I would have easily believed it was a 4 star. We paid 20$ more for a superior queen room, so my view is from that level.

Location: Central. It is located in the heart of old quebec, right on a main strip. You walk out the front door into all the action.

Service: I don't normally make heavy use of service, but the front desk was always available, always courteous and helpful. Everything went off without a hitch, and was extremely pleasant. We were given advice on where to eat (with their own restaurant, which we never went to, recommended first), and the front desk staff took the time to tell us about the use of the facilities.

Breakfast is served in a basket which is hung on your door in the morning. It was a small, but relatively good quality, with some pastries, fresh-squeezed orange juice, yogurt, and a fruit salad. I personally loved the idea of taking my time to eat in the privacy of my room, although I wasn't blown away by the offering.

Room: We paid a little extra to get the superior, and were quite satisfied with the size and quality of room. Everything was very clean and in good shape. A minor gripe would be that the TV (if you get a superior you get a flat screen) came with no practically channels. I didn't spend very much time in the room, but it would have been nice to be able to watch more than I would have been able to see with cheap antenna. Channels you just expect, like popular news channels, are not included... The bed was comfortable, the climate controls worked very well, and you had a choice of 3 different firmnesses of pillows.

Facilities: We were told that there was a gym in the basement, but I never went to see it. There was nice room with a fireplace, computer, and free fruits and drinks to lounge in. Definitely more than you would expect at more 3 stars.


All in all, I was impressed, and would go back any time. Quebec city is a very expensive place to visit, especially if you want to be in the old city. This hotel is very good value if you are going to pay the expense of a trip there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkatz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice room with fridge and coffee maker. Spotles. We stayed three nights. This was the best value we could find in old town Quebec. Great location. Within walking distance to all the key sites. Good service, clean and modern accomodation. Oh yea and there are three types of pillows offered in the room. Anyone can find a pillow to fit your needs in this room. Breakfast is $10 per person delivered to your door, but we opted to walk less than a block to Tim Horton's for a less expensive breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little bigger room you won't regret the added space. We were in 309 which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lizzard76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was tremendous. The breakfast basket was a delight. When the staff found out we were celebrating our anniversary, they upgraded our room with no increase in price. Great location inside of the old walled city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Probably the most customer service focused and friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered in my many years of travel. the room was gorgeous go for the upgrade if you possibly can it is well worth it well centered in the heart of the city it is incredibly quiet at night. I loved the breakfast basket in the morning it was generous for two people with pastries, yogurt, jams and you have the option to add cheese meat or hard boiled eggs. The room has a Nespresso machine and teapot with generous supply of teas snd coffee. The hotel has a new modern elevator, so no stairs to climb and an easy transport of luggage. I plan to return to Quebec city soon and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MusicCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Recently spent two nights in Quebec City at this property and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the stay. Our room was lovely bright and large, overlooking a side street. The bed was lovely and the rainwater shower heads a nice surprise. The breakfast basket was a nice surprise and made the stay extra special. Throw in great desk staff and the experience is complete.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank PGWbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Myself and two friends spent three nights at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec.

Pros:
-Location: The hotel is located on a very lively street and all you need to do is walk around everywhere! In case you need a car rental, there's a nearby Hertz.
-Room: Our room was very spacious with two beds on different ends (and two TVs!). It was big enough for the three of us.
-Lounge: Lovely area to relax. They have a fantastic cappuccino machine and offer free water/soft drinks/juice throughout the day...which is really nice as it saved us quite a bit of money.
-Free breakfast: If you book through their website, you get a "breakfast in a basket" on your door every morning which is nice to wake up to. The freshly juice orange juice was great. Plus after one night, you can pick your selection of breakfast.
-Staff: Everyone was friendly which was fantastic. They were allowed early check-in which is always a plus.
-Free Wi-Fi.

Cons
-No pool or hot tub. Not a big deal but would be a nice addition.

I don't have much else negative to say about this place. It's definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RexAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing