We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, Great Service and price !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing location, Great Service and price !!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just came back from our trip to Quebec City. We visit Quebec with our 2 daughters (one 3 1/2 years old and 8 month baby). We booked this hotel because of the excellent reviews and couldn't be any better. Place is very well located, very well cleaned and everyone in the hotel very polite and prompt to help. The breakfast is just perfect and delivered right to your door, which is excellent for family with kids and babies so no rush in the morning. Monsieur Pierro such a gentleman and my preschooler daughter came back speaking a few words in French. Will definitely come back. Look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    234
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
373
804
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was great exprience, espacially, with the history of the building. As it was first build in 1767, by a Gauvin. So, being a descendent of Gauvin, did make it a bit more special. The breakfast, in the basket, also top it of...giving a 10+. Being, on St-Jean St, was directly in Vieux Quebec, so lots to do and see. The kids found it in there top places they went! We will go again!

Room Tip: We loved being on main road side, as we open the window and could enjoy the nice weather & traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaHave, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We (2 female friends in our mid-50's) travelled to Quebec City during the first week of June, 2014. We chose this hotel for location, price, and high Trip Advisor ratings for service, etc. We were not disappointed. The front desk staff were exceptional; so very friendly, helpful and patient with our not-so-fluent French! (They were fluently bilingual!) We chose to stay in a deluxe room with 2 queen beds, which was spacious and well appointed. We asked for a room with plenty of light, and were rewarded with a corner room (211) with 3 good-sized windows, 2 of which looked out over Rue Saint-Jean, the other looked over a side street. I enjoyed the N'espresso machine, but my friend (being a coffee wimp) would have preferred a regular coffee maker. There was a kettle provided, so she drank the instant decaf coffee she brought with her. There was also an excellent tea pot (with strainer) provided. No microwave in the room, but there was one available for use downstairs in the lounge. The bathroom was small, but adequate, with full bath and rainshower. There was a nice area with desks behind the beds. We stored our luggage back there, under the desks, and there was lots of desk space for spreading out maps and using a laptop and/or iPad. I have deducted one star from this review due to the mildly funky smell in the room (kind of like old sneakers) which I suspect was coming from the wall-to-wall carpet, and caused my allergies to kick up a bit.(I really appreciate hotels with hardwood or tile floors and area rugs, rather than wall-to-wall.) The beds were very comfortable, and choice of pillows was great.

We did eat supper one evening at the hotel restaurant "Tournebroche". The organic rotisserie chicken, side salad and potato slices on a skewer were delicious. The menu is limited, but tasty. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast delivered in a basket to our room each morning. Since I have Celiac disease, we both opted for the gluten-free breakfast, which was good. We usually had hard-boiled eggs, a slice of ham or cheese, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, and freshly squeezed orange juice. We really enjoyed having this in our P.J.'s in the comfort of our own room, while we were planning the day's activities! We heard from others that the croissants and pastries were excellent, as well.

All in all, this hotel is an excellent choice in Old Quebec. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaHaveRiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I'm a frequent international traveler who, for 30-years, has linked business and leisure travel. I sincerely found Hotel Du Vieux Quebec to be one of the best hotels that I have ever experienced. The entire hotel is spotless; the Quebecois culture of service is always astounding; one of the best unique amenities (of many) is the excellent breakfast that they hand-deliver to each room every morning — and, obviously, its location in the middle of Old Quebec is one of the best places on Earth. I found myself leaving with a huge smile and will return to this hotel as much as possible. :) :)

Room Tip: The rating (above) for a pool is for 'access to a pool' — not to a pool within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Binding-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute. All in all, this was a great location for a romantic, long-weekend holiday.

This hotel is listed a 3-star, but I would have easily believed it was a 4 star. We paid 20$ more for a superior queen room, so my view is from that level.

Location: Central. It is located in the heart of old quebec, right on a main strip. You walk out the front door into all the action.

Service: I don't normally make heavy use of service, but the front desk was always available, always courteous and helpful. Everything went off without a hitch, and was extremely pleasant. We were given advice on where to eat (with their own restaurant, which we never went to, recommended first), and the front desk staff took the time to tell us about the use of the facilities.

Breakfast is served in a basket which is hung on your door in the morning. It was a small, but relatively good quality, with some pastries, fresh-squeezed orange juice, yogurt, and a fruit salad. I personally loved the idea of taking my time to eat in the privacy of my room, although I wasn't blown away by the offering.

Room: We paid a little extra to get the superior, and were quite satisfied with the size and quality of room. Everything was very clean and in good shape. A minor gripe would be that the TV (if you get a superior you get a flat screen) came with no practically channels. I didn't spend very much time in the room, but it would have been nice to be able to watch more than I would have been able to see with cheap antenna. Channels you just expect, like popular news channels, are not included... The bed was comfortable, the climate controls worked very well, and you had a choice of 3 different firmnesses of pillows.

Facilities: We were told that there was a gym in the basement, but I never went to see it. There was nice room with a fireplace, computer, and free fruits and drinks to lounge in. Definitely more than you would expect at more 3 stars.


All in all, I was impressed, and would go back any time. Quebec city is a very expensive place to visit, especially if you want to be in the old city. This hotel is very good value if you are going to pay the expense of a trip there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkatz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice room with fridge and coffee maker. Spotles. We stayed three nights. This was the best value we could find in old town Quebec. Great location. Within walking distance to all the key sites. Good service, clean and modern accomodation. Oh yea and there are three types of pillows offered in the room. Anyone can find a pillow to fit your needs in this room. Breakfast is $10 per person delivered to your door, but we opted to walk less than a block to Tim Horton's for a less expensive breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little bigger room you won't regret the added space. We were in 309 which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzard76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pegram, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was tremendous. The breakfast basket was a delight. When the staff found out we were celebrating our anniversary, they upgraded our room with no increase in price. Great location inside of the old walled city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing