We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another awesome stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Yes, this was our
third stay here and the hospitality only gets better if that is possible! This year we brought our two grandsons who had just graduated from high school. Whatever your request is they try to accommodate you. I have never been to another hotel, and I have been to plenty in my 71 years, that always bend over backwards to help you. We stayed for 5 nights and I felt we were treated as if we were family!!
Of course, we sorely missed our daily breakfast picnic baskets when we got home and back to reality!Those baskets were placed on our door each morning..filled with croissants, French pastries, yogurt,
freshly squeezed orange juice,
fruit.. How delightful that was! And a tour of Old Quebec was included and what a delightful 2 hr tour that was!!
One of the best parts to this gem is its location! You walk out the door and you can walk to anything!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    236
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
384
823
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great hotel, ambiance, friendliness, location! We enjoyed our 4 night stay, the breakfast basket was a plus and delicious. They also have great coffee in main lounge. If traveling with children ( we were not) they have games for them in lounge. We saw some kids playing monopoly for quite some time. Nice to see children playing board games. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions. They also helped me surprise my husband for his 50th birthday. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is amazing. It's in the heart of Old Quebec and yet feels so quiet and cozy inside. Several attributes stand out here: the service is outstanding. They make you feel welcome and cared for from the moment you walk through the door. We brought our bikes atop our car and therefore could not use the underground parking. We arrived at a busy time of day and I was feeling rather flustered, but the woman at the front desk reassured us that the parking we needed was just a 10-minute walk from the hotel, and walked outside to show my husband (who was in the driver's seat with our kids in the back) the map and give him directions. The hotel staff always greeted us with a smile whenever we had a question and never made us feel badly for our inability to speak French! Another benefit of this hotel was the breakfast. Not only was it incredibly charming to find a basket of fresh-baked croissants & muffins, yogurt and juice on our door, but we appreciated the convenience of having the breakfast in our room. Quebec City is such a wonderful place to explore that we wanted to get on with our day and not spend 45 minutes having breakfast in a common area. The croissants tasted as though they were from an artisan bakery, as did the muffins. We had too much food so we saved the rest of the muffins for snacks later in the day. What a treat! This hotel is also impeccably clean and well-kept, with coffee available all day and a comfortable lounge on the lobby level. We were thrilled with this place and found it to be an incredible value. We hope to return one day! Great little casual restaurant about a block away called Chez Temporel that we recommend as well.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I found out about this hotel on my phone while travelling to Quebec City. I usually prefer to stay at big name hotels, but vacancy was almost full in the city. Although it cost more than what I was willing to pay (and the photos were alright), I went ahead and booked. My first impression is that it is literally in the best area of Vieux-Quebec, within steps of everything. The hotel was much better than I expected, the room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Everything is well maintained. We enjoyed the breakfast, lounge, complimentary coffee, teas and fruit as well as the walking tour. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Green Features: I was happy to learn that this hotel is very environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruthful_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommending good places to eat. There was free coffee/tea/hot chocolate all day. Perfect location! Breakfast was not included-which was a bummer with the price you pay for the hotel. However, there are lots of great places close by to grab breakfast for way cheaper than the hotel would have charged us. We were on the top floor-street view. Very clean room. The only thing we didn't like was the slanted ceiling--my wife kept hitting her head on it every time she got out of bed.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the slanted ceiling (low ceiling)--top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silentsnake09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We loved staying at L'Hôtel du Vieux Québec just like the last 3 reviews. It is right in the heart of upper town and the staff is most helpful and friendly. Pierrot was a gracious host, gave great recommendations, was very efficient and has a great sense of humor. It was fun to have a picnic breakfast in your room. Here's a secret - book your room directly and there is a very worthwhile 2 hour walking tour included with your room.

Room Tip: Room 310 (king) is a large room with an angled ceiling and you can bump your head but most of it is...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent - no little bottles etc. Could use stronger lighting.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarheelKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a 3 day stay the end of July, arriving on the weekend when street access to the hotel is challenging due to portions of Rue St-jean being closed to vehicles. We arrived somewhat frazzled, but because of the sincere welcome by Pierrot, we forgot all about those challenges. He helped with luggage, a quick check in, and good directions to their parking. Our room on the 2nd floor was cozy, well appointed, clean, quiet, and a pleasant retreat after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was included, and was a nice way to start the day. The downstairs lounge was a nice surprise. We enjoyed being able to get a specialty coffee on a rainy afternoon. We would rate this as the best hotel overall we stayed in during 30+ day road trip. It exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be quieter on those on the street. Our room was in the back and was very quie...
See more room tips
Green Features: Green hotel; provided filtered water in glass bottles; shampoos etc. in dispensers rather than individual size plastic bottles
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing