We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A+ Staff”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This hotel's situation is ideal for anyone doing site seeing. It is located right in old Quebec between all the little shops and bistros. The staff at L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec are amazing. Pierrot and Claudie at the front desk will make your stay the best ever. We were worried that we may have a problem with the the French as we speak very little but everyone was very patient with us. The manager Daniel was so kind and very informative and speaks fluent english. The lounge area was perfect to sit with a nice glass of red wine in front of the fire after a long day. The picnic basket that was hung on your door was a great suprise every morning. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. This hotel is a must for anyone who wants to stay within the walls of old Quebec City. I would recommend it to couples, families, or just good friends needing a vacation. I manage a business myself therefore I make note of how different business are run and I was so impressed with the management of this hotel. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gshepherdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    244
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
401
844
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

This was a great find! Very cute hotel within the walled city of Quebec. The hotel itself is in an old building with alot of the original stone walls. The location couldn't have been better. The staff were very polite and helpful. The lounge area was nice with a large TV, books, piano, and fireplace. The continental breakfast (delivered to your door) was fun- pastries, OJ, fruit cup- and better then most continental hotal breakfasts. The room (single queen) was small but adequate and the bathroom was well appointed. There was a nice flat screen TV and the wireless worked well. My only complaint is that the room was very dim in the night; either another lamp or brighter lightbulbs would be a vast improvement.

  • Liked — location; charming accomodations
  • Disliked — poor lighting
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BLynnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolcott,ct
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

This was our second stay, but first in the wnter. Such a beautiful location in Upper Town. We were able to walk everywhere with ease. Each morning a lovely basket with continental breakfast was left on a hook outside our door. It was a treat to have this in bed, before going out into the frigid cold. All desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, a lovely lounge with fire burning was a great place to relax and read. Wouild recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking fee
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chrisct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Spent 2 days up to 400th New Years Day for Quebec City. We booked room 205 and this was large and well appointed. The hotel is within the walls and very close to many restaurants and bars, as well the Chateau Frontenac. Staff were great as they made us feel welcome, took care of our luggage until the room was ready and made great suggestions for restaurants and taxis.

Breakfast was simple but served in a basket at our door before 7 every day.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank ScottVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel so that we could be within the old city walls and I could leave the car parked during our stay in Quebec. This all worked perfectly, the hotel has a deal with the city hall underground parking which is just across the street from the hotel entrance. Our room was very nice although nothing like the picture on the website. We did have a nice view of a church down the street from us out our window and the breakfast was delivered each morning as promised. The hotel did provide a free walking trip each day with a bilingual guide which we took advantage of. We saw our guide later working at the front desk but he did give us a very good introduction to the city and some of it's history. The front desk staff were very helpful until on checkout I asked about the CAA room rate or discount during checkout and I was told that I should have asked for it on check in. I think they could have made a provision for this but I didn't pursue it any further. I think that this hotel is a little expensive for what it is (no bar/dining room or any facilities beyond the rooms themselves) but they can get away with it because of their location. The only alternative would be to stay outside the city and drive in each day.

  • Liked — Close to all the attractions and tourist sites of old Quebec City.
  • Disliked — The rates.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

This hotel was recommended by friends. We wanted to stay within the walled city so that we would not need a car. It was about $30 for the taxi from the airport. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. We loved the continental breakfast that was delivered to the room each morning, it included fresh bakery items from the bakery down the street. The hotel also sponsored a walking tour that was very helpful in defining things that we should see and do. Including where to buy wine and decent coffee. The room was a little small and had no view but then we were not there to spend time in the room. Lots of good pubs and eating establishments in the area. Was a little pricey, but we were still in high season so we sucked it up and enjoyed the trip.

  • Liked — Old world charm
  • Disliked — we like bigger showers but most hotels don't have anything bigger than what was available
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RhoadsScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I booked this hotel because of Trip Advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. The location is outstanding, right in the middle of everything. I am glad I did not book a hotel in the Lower City. It is too touristy. Or course Old Quebec within the walls (where this hotel is located) is entirely touristy as well,and I doubt any 'real' Quebecois live in the walled city. But Lower Town seemed just too 'Las Vegas' to me.
Each room in this building, which seems to have been converted from several small homes or shops, is unique. Sure beats staying at a 'cookie-cutter' room in a hotel chain.

Our room on 3rd floor was really spacious and quiet even though it was on the main street. Good bed and bathroom. Huge TV. Breakfast was stylishly presented in a picknic basket in our room each morning.
Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Appreciated use of the free internet in the lounge. This hotel felt like home, very cosy and welcoming after a long day pounding the pavement in this most romantic of cities (after Paris).

  • Liked — authencity of the room and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing