We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed at the Vieux Quebec over Carnaval this year and had a great time. The location is fantastic being right in the heart of old Quebec City. It was just a couple of minutes walk from all the attractions. In fact, since we were only there for a couple of days, we often needed advice for places to eat or sights to see. The front desk staff was always dead on with their suggestions and would take care of everything.

In the evening they had this little family room/living room/games room area with a gas fireplace that was great for relaxing and chilling out. As well, we had a great bistro meal at the restaurant that shares the building. Highly recommended and you don't even need to go outside. Good selection of local beer on tap as well.

The rooms (we had three for all of us) were cozy and quiet, but quite large. The bathroom was very modern and spotless. Just a personal note, I also really liked the obvious "green" eco-friendly direction the hotel was going in. The little baskets left on the door first thing in the morning with a continental breakfast was a nice touch!

Overall, we had a great stay and will definitely be going back. A great little boutique hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPCtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2009

This is such a great hotel for a stay in Old Quebec. Great location, close to shops restaurants etc. Reasonable price with comfortable room. Breakfast was delivered in a picnic basket (hung on the door) was so unique and most enjoyable. Love the croissants

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoWorries81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This hotel's situation is ideal for anyone doing site seeing. It is located right in old Quebec between all the little shops and bistros. The staff at L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec are amazing. Pierrot and Claudie at the front desk will make your stay the best ever. We were worried that we may have a problem with the the French as we speak very little but everyone was very patient with us. The manager Daniel was so kind and very informative and speaks fluent english. The lounge area was perfect to sit with a nice glass of red wine in front of the fire after a long day. The picnic basket that was hung on your door was a great suprise every morning. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. This hotel is a must for anyone who wants to stay within the walls of old Quebec City. I would recommend it to couples, families, or just good friends needing a vacation. I manage a business myself therefore I make note of how different business are run and I was so impressed with the management of this hotel. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gshepherdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

This was a great find! Very cute hotel within the walled city of Quebec. The hotel itself is in an old building with alot of the original stone walls. The location couldn't have been better. The staff were very polite and helpful. The lounge area was nice with a large TV, books, piano, and fireplace. The continental breakfast (delivered to your door) was fun- pastries, OJ, fruit cup- and better then most continental hotal breakfasts. The room (single queen) was small but adequate and the bathroom was well appointed. There was a nice flat screen TV and the wireless worked well. My only complaint is that the room was very dim in the night; either another lamp or brighter lightbulbs would be a vast improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BLynnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

This was our second stay, but first in the wnter. Such a beautiful location in Upper Town. We were able to walk everywhere with ease. Each morning a lovely basket with continental breakfast was left on a hook outside our door. It was a treat to have this in bed, before going out into the frigid cold. All desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, a lovely lounge with fire burning was a great place to relax and read. Wouild recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chrisct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Spent 2 days up to 400th New Years Day for Quebec City. We booked room 205 and this was large and well appointed. The hotel is within the walls and very close to many restaurants and bars, as well the Chateau Frontenac. Staff were great as they made us feel welcome, took care of our luggage until the room was ready and made great suggestions for restaurants and taxis.

Breakfast was simple but served in a basket at our door before 7 every day.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank ScottVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel so that we could be within the old city walls and I could leave the car parked during our stay in Quebec. This all worked perfectly, the hotel has a deal with the city hall underground parking which is just across the street from the hotel entrance. Our room was very nice although nothing like the picture on the website. We did have a nice view of a church down the street from us out our window and the breakfast was delivered each morning as promised. The hotel did provide a free walking trip each day with a bilingual guide which we took advantage of. We saw our guide later working at the front desk but he did give us a very good introduction to the city and some of it's history. The front desk staff were very helpful until on checkout I asked about the CAA room rate or discount during checkout and I was told that I should have asked for it on check in. I think they could have made a provision for this but I didn't pursue it any further. I think that this hotel is a little expensive for what it is (no bar/dining room or any facilities beyond the rooms themselves) but they can get away with it because of their location. The only alternative would be to stay outside the city and drive in each day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £93 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing