We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in a Old City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rochester Area, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Gem in a Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

Well, let me just start off saying that this hotel is very homey. It is run by a family I believe, and it is very family orientated. When you walk into the main entrance, to the left is the main desk, to the right is a resturant, and you have to go through a hall to walk into the lobby or the "Common room" as they call it. They have many couches in there, a tv, and 30 cents per minute internet service.

Now this part is a bit strange, but when I got to the hotel with my small school group, they went over a ton of charges. For example, to unplug the toliet, it was 200 dollars. If you were to overload the elevator, it would be 500 dollars. If you were to steal a towel, it would be 10 dollars, etc. Kinda odd, but I guess they've been getting the bad end of the stick a couple times.

By the way, there is a ajoining souvineer shop that has a entrance from the hotel, where you can buy sweaters, shirts, key chains, magnets, and other things.

Once you go up the elevator (or stairs), the halls look all right. I stayed on the first floor, room 104. They give you one key, so make sure you keep track of it.

My particular room had one queen/king size bed, and a sofa bed. The regular bed was a bit rough, but the sofa bed was alright. There was a 27" TV with a DVD player, so make sure to bring your dvds. There were two windows, looking over an alley, very quiet. The stairs howerver got a bit noisey at times. The bathrooms are nice, 3 towels, make sure not to take one. Haha. There was a chair in there as well as a table and lamp. The place also had a coffe maker and a mini fridge.

There are many restaurants right accross and next to the restaurant. A couple of stores down from the hotel is mcdonalds, and there is a crepe place as well as a couple backeries.

Overall, this hotel was a good choice.

  • Liked — Room Features, WiFi, Location, Location, Location!
  • Disliked — Strange up-front warning
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rootbeer3283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    230
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
360
769
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

This hotel is in a superb location, with comfortable rooms and good service. The contintental breakfast hung on your door each morning is a very nice touch. Finally on the plus side, its very affordable.
Now to the negative: for the very reasons mentioned above, this hotel has become a favorite of US high school field trip groups. I first saw mention of this in Frommers, but didn't notice complaints online, so I decided to try it anyway.
I had to get out of bed around midnite each nite and play chaperon to a group of unruly HS students playing tag in the hallway, partying in their rooms with the door open, and generally being loud.
To their credit, the students did respond to my direction, and I did eventually get back to sleep.
I can't say I blame the hotel, but IF you plan to stay here, enquire whether any student groups are staying there at the same time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — school groups playing in the hall
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEast
Level Contributor
316 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2007

This hotel is centrally located within walking distance to all the major attractions inside the walls of Old Quebec City. The staff were genuinely freindly and helpful. Parking is across and up the street a bit in an underground garage at $14 a day. The room included two queen size beds and a sofa-bed with plenty of room in between. The closet and bathroom were also roomy. And finally - the morning continental breakfast arrives at your door in a basket complete with linen cloths, silverware and plenty of contiments for the fresh baked goods.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2007

L'Hotel du Vieux is great. Staffs were very kindly and friendly. When we arrived at this hotel past noon, our room was not available yet, so the front desk staff held our luggage until check-in. We went sightseeing right away.
The room was pretty and very clean! Beautiful!
They delivered Breakfast Basket to our door every morning at around seven, it was very nice. Croissant, orange juice, and more...delicious! I really liked this service.
The location is excellent. This hotel is in the heart of Old Quebec. So we enjoyed to walk around it. There were many pretty shops and restaurants near the hotel.
I strongly recommend this hotel! You will enjoy your stay in Quebec City.

  • Liked — location, staff, breakfast basket, cleanliness, room
  • Disliked — sending credit card number by e-mail as booking
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rykzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2007

I was looking for a hotel to stay at in Old Quebec City for my wife's birthday, and found this one in the reviews on tripadvisor.com. The reviews, which were generally quite positive, definitely pointed me in the right direction. The hotel has the following pluses:
- location is amazing (right in the centre of the old town)
- price is right (paid $100 tax incl. for the CAA rate, during the low season)
- the idea that someone mentioned of getting a room away from the elevators, stairs and street was a good one: our room was totally quiet!
- the staff was super friendly and extremely accomodating.
- the stay includes (though only if you book by phone, I believe) a breakfast, which is delivered to your door (and hung on a hook on the door) at about 7:30am. The breakfast, featuring fresh croissants, is amazing!
- parking is available basically just across the street for $13 CAD per 24 hours, which is very handy, since all of the Old City is walkable from the hotel.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and would return in an instant.

  • Liked — location and amenities of hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DRByul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyce, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2006

We paid $67.00 a night through expedia. What a deal! The room was super clean, very modern and bright, newly remodeled. The desk clerk very helpful.Location fantastic.
The only negative was some work going on in the kitchen two nights we were there which continued till midnight! They apologized when we left but I don't understand why they had to do this work at this time of the night???

  • Liked — Newly remodeled and well maintained.
  • Disliked — Noise from construction downstairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a taxi through the front desk. They may save you money.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coffeechoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2006

I religiously follow Trip Advisor's ratings because they 95% effect my choices. I stayed at this hotel from Nov 7-9 of 2006. The directions on the internet from their site (www.hvq.com) are a bit confusing ( I suggest you use a map or call them) but we finally made it there. When we arrived the man at the desk (David) was very polite and charming. We stayed in room 115 on the second floor. The room itself is smaller then you'd probably expect. Our room was a standard queen room. The decor is nice( not too modern but not old), the bed was very comfortable. The T.V was small (13 inches) but the bathrooms were very clean. Our room faced the street which was nice, but it tended to be a bit noisy in the early morning, since buses and cars constantly run through the streets, and the roads are quite narrow. The continental breakfast in the morning was very nice. They hang it on a hook outside your door in a wooden picnic basket. It is the same everyday but the fresh croissants were delicious. The location is great. You are about a 5 minute walk to the Chateau Frontenac and 10 minute walk to the Museum of civilization. Restaurants are very close as well. May I recommend "Portofinos". We heard it had great reviews and we went there in the offseason and the place was packed for dinner. Great Italian. And fortunately almost right beside us which was great. Also the restaurant that is located in the lobby of this hotel "les freres de la cote" was recommended however we did not enjoy it that much. It offers a lot of different pizzas but the other items weren't that great. The street the hotel is on, besides la rue Saint Louis, is very busy. It has many boutiques on it. As mentioned, I was very impressed with the location. Just a word of notice, if you are planning to park before Checking In, the parking garage which the hotel uses, is also affiliated with "l'hotel de ville" which is a huge building literally across the street. If you are going down Saint-Jean (the road l'hotel du vieux quebec is on), the parking garage is just around the corner. It costs $13 canadian for a 24 hour period. This has nothing to do with the hotel, but we also did the horse and carriage ride. It cost $75 dollars CAN and it is about 45 minutes long. They do a little round about the city and a little outside the walls. They wait by the Chateau Frontenac and by the parc l'espanade which is located just as you enter the walls. If you basically want to really get a tour I wouldn't recommend it, it was just nice to say you've done it. Back to the hotel, I would rate this hotel a 3 out of 4. I would most definately stay here there again. If your expectations are very high, maybe not for you. It is charming, quaint and central. Hope this helps!

  • Liked — location, pet friendly even though we didn't bring one, price (though off-season)
  • Disliked — room size, t.v.
  • Tips/Secrets — Depending on how peaceful you want to sleep, the noiser towards the front, peaceful towards the back of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ssearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing