We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Value, Style all there, but indifferent service”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is a chic hotel, located in the right area of old Quebec. The comparative value in this city is quite high, especially with a AAA/CAA unadvertised discount. You get a cool room, nice breakfast with a wide choice of self-serve items, and access to the best restaurants and sights the city has to offer. On the downside, the beds were not that comfortable and the front-desk staff were pretty indifferent, but that didn't spoil the intimate and romantic vibe.
Adjacent to the property is the hotel's restaurant, Toast, a great place for small plates of local cuisine with a few twists and some heavenly desserts.

Just don't stay in the same room as your mother-in-law as the sink and claw-foot tub are located in the main bedroom, with only the toilet and shower separated by a door.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Agent_Wannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Le Priori during a recent weekend in Quebec City and really enjoyed it. The hotel's location simply cannot be beat. It is part of old Quebec, at the crossroads of the Old Port and the Lower Town areas, but it manages to be apart from the tourist horde spots at the same time. It is also on a quiet street, and steps from some of the best restaurants in the city (Initiale, Panache, etc). As well, the hotel is also very close to a street that connects the Upper and Lower towns, so you can easily avoid having to use the funicular if you're up for a little exercise!

ROOMS: After initially being given keys to a room that was already occupied (!), we were given a slight upgrade to a larger room on a higher floor, with a view of the river. I don't think it is worth it for one to pay extra for a river view however, because it is obscured by a parking lot and the many commercial ships that move in and out of the port. The room was nicely decorated, with large bay windows, exposed brick and stone walls, as well as a nice, modern slate bathroom.

Our room was partially carpeted and partially large slate tiled, which I didn't mind, but apparently there are rooms that are a slate tile/hardwood mix as well. The beds were comfortable.


SERVICE: Apart from accidentally being given keys to another room, the service at Le Priori was great. The staff was fully bilingual, attentive, and helpful.


BREAKFAST: Our package included breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised at the mix of hot and cold items available: bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, croissants, muffins, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, etc. The menu didn't really vary from day to day, so it might feel repetitive after a few days, but it was fine for us.

OVERALL: Overall, the nice ambiance of the hotel, the modern rooms and, above all, the location combined to make this place a great value. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyVacay1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at Le Priori in mid October 2011 to celebrate our anniversary. We chose one of the suites (#20) which is at the back of the property facing the courtyard; it was very quiet. The suite itself was large and included a jetted tub in the sleek bathroom. The entire style was very "boutique hotel sleek" combined with stone walls and exposed beams from the antique building. The only gripe was actually the (well equipped) kitchen, which reminded me of a rental apartment I had ages ago; it was functional, yes, but very old & out of place in comparison to the rest of Le Priori...

The location was excellent, with easy access to all the lower town sights & a short walk to the stairs/funicular to visit the upper town.

The staff were very helpful & friendly. We ate the included breakfast which was quite good; croissants, eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruit, etc.

Overall a great stay in a great city!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soundguyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHPerreault, Directeur général at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate your positive input. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori!
The point you made on the kitchen is relevant. To improve your future stay with us at Le Priori, we have closed yesterday our suite building to refurbish our four suites. The future accommodations will offer the same comfort in a contemporary edifice. We are also installing an elevator to ensure the easiest access to all the suites. The new building will be fully operational in 2012.
Thank you again for choosing Hotel Le Priori, we hope to welcome you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I can't find anything bad, or even average, about Hotel Le Priori--everything was great. The location is on what appears to be a pedestrian street (it isn't)--which means it is quiet--just a few blocks from the heart of Old Quebec where peace & quiet is much harder to find on a nice autumn weekend. Breakfast was provided with the room in the cozy adjacent "Toast" restaurant, and was excellent (this was our 10th hotel/B&B in Sep in the UK and Canada, and Le Priori's breakfast was the best.) Stylistically, the rooms were modern/minimalist, but well-equipped with coffee maker, robes, a great shower (definitely more than 2.5 gpm), responsive climate control system and very comfortable bed. It was somewhat disconcerting to have the bathroom sink in the main part of the room (you can see it in the hotel's pictures), but it all worked together nicely. The room--and the hotel generally--was immaculate. The staff was very helpful and outgoing, providing good recommendations on which local restaurants were worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want any sort of view, ask for a room in the front of the building. Rooms in the rear look i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKSStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Great location, delightful staff, clean and modern.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mewerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I booked this hotel after reading about it in a guidebook and liking the website... I was a little nervous about some of the reviews, but we had an amazing experience at Le Priori and I recommend it highly!

The hardest part was GETTING to the hotel, as the street it is located on does not feel like a street you can drive on... you can, you just have to dodge all the pedestrians, who also don't feel you should be driving on it. The parking is down the hill, though, so that part was super easy. Our desk staff spoke English, so we didn't have any trouble there, and they were quite helpful in getting us situated in the surrounding area using a map.

Our room was on the 5th floor, well off the street, so we didn't hear any noise at all. The AC worked well (it was HOT that week!), the bathroom amenities were impressive.... didn't want to get out of the shower! The bed was super comfortable! Breakfasts were satisfying, and the location could not have been better. We were close to EVERYTHING we wanted to do, without the crowds of tourists in uppertown.

I would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great hotel in refurbished historic building close to old city.Special thanks for exceptional service and assistance from receptionist Annelle ( hope correct) when I had to reschedule stay and flights due to storm Irena.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £99 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing