We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of old town”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“In the heart of old town”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a remodeled old building, done by the architect-owner, in minimalistic fashion. We reserved a queen room on the third floor right off the elevator. Miraculously, we didn't hear any noise from other rooms or the elevator. There was a modern free-standing sink and old-fashioned claw foot tub in the room. The toilet in a tiny chamber and the shower were separated from the bedroom by a sliding door. The room offered a decent flat screened TV but the lighting in the room was too dim to read by after dark. Walls were of old brick. Breakfast came with the room and included two kinds of eggs, bacon, sausage, OJ,flaky croissant and fruit in a delightful room off the lobby. The desk staff was always friendly and helpful while the room was clean and the bed comfy. One of the best things about this hotel was its location in the lower portion of the old town, just a short walk from the St. Lawrence seaway and many shops and restaurants. I would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foggySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear foggySanFrancisco,

Thank you very much for your sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed our spacious room! The nice thing about our 18th century building is that our 30 inches thick stonewalls are a very effective phonic insulation! Thank you for your positive comment about the cleanliness of our rooms, our housekeeping department gives it best everyday to ensure all our guests feel at home!

Thank you for recommending us, this is the best reward our team can get.

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    226
    35
    4
    5
See reviews for
110
752
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at Le Priori for three nights. The location of the hotel is wonderful--right in the old part of Quebec and close to the water. Easy to walk to the free Cirque du Soleil show (Tuesdays through Saturdays, at least in the summer). All of the staff we encountered--from front desk to restaurant were very friendly and helpful. After asking for directions to Montmorency Falls (not to be missed, about 10 minutes by car from the hotel), we were told about the Canyon Ste.-Anne about 15 minutes further which also is an amazing natural wonder with ziplining if you're so inclined. The beds are very comfortable and the included breakfast was great with a nice variety of hot and cold dishes. The two downsides were the bathroom--the area with the toilet and shower is small, but that was workable. I would have liked an outlet for a nightlight in there. The sink is in the bedroom so it's difficult to be quiet in the middle of the night, and more storage space would have been appreciated. Also, our room overlooked the courtyard where the Toast! restaurant is located and one night, it was pretty loud with the noise of the diners. We closed our windows and turned on the air conditioning, but it was a nice night and I would have preferred to sleep with an open window. But all in all, it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If possible, avoid one looking over the courtyard where the restaurant is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear BrownBalto,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

All the team is happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive comment about our delicious breakfast; we want our guests to start the day with a cheerful buffet.

Your suggestions about our bathroom are appreciated. We are thinking about how we could improve this part of our regular rooms to make it even more enjoyable. Toast! restaurant can be sometimes animated during summer nights. That is why we invested last summer in a very quiet air conditioning system so our guests can sleep in peace with the desired temperature.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a very cute hotel, tucked away on one of the streets of Old Quebec! Great location, just steps away from the escalator to Chateau Frontenac. We just had a regular room but it was very nice, comfortable bed, good bathroom and awesome view. It definitely worth to get a package that includes parking, the parking lot is only 2 blocks away, otherwise it would be pretty much impossible to find parking on your own. There are tonns of cute restaurants and shops nearby.

Delicious breakfast, very attentive servers, housekeepers and receptionists, highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear LittleOllie,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay among us and you appreciated the service we offer. Your nice comments about the entire the staff are highly appreciated!
We work hard to offer the best value possible to our customers and it is always nice to receive feedback encouraging us in this way.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location and the staff are incredible. When we arrived they were super attentive and you could tell that they really care that you have a good time in Quebec City. Our first day our concierge recommended different areas to explore and things to see. He also told us about a free Cirque du Soleil show that we would have missed he not taken the time to orient us when we arrived.

One afternoon the power went out in the majority of Old Quebec due to a thunderstorm and when we got back to our hotel after being caught in the rain they had a big box of flashlights ready for the guests and they made sure everyone had extra towels to dry off without us having to ask.

On top of the great service, we were on a beautiful street in a very convenient area - we could walk to anywhere we needed to go, and they provided parking a couple of blocks away.

The hotel itself and its surroundings are stunning. The decor mixes well the history of the building with the super modern furnishings. It felt very stylish.

The room we stayed in was on the smaller side but very nice and cozy. We didn't feel like we were cramped up at all. (Tip: there is lots of toiletry storage on shelves behind the mirror above the sink. It took me a day to find this but had plenty of storage after I did.)

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear tashadoll,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

Your feedback about our concierges is very appreciated. We are very happy to read you have enjoyed our tips to discover our great city. The Cirque du Soleil show is amazing and is definitely a must do this summer!

You were here during a very special weekend, especially for our friends in restaurants that had to close due to a severe thunderstorm that put most of the Old Québec in the dark. We are glad to know you have appreciated our handling of this situation. We tried our best to accommodate our guests with this inconvenience!

Your recommendation is a great reward for us, merci beaucoup! We hope have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and went out of their way to offer suggestions, guidance to local places and events. Kevin directed us to a local pub where we discovered a wonderful singer/songwriter and had a front row seat for the fun.

Room Tip: a room on the 4th floor facing the waterfront provided a wonderful view and was quiet enough to miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noramarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear noramarie,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We do love our city and we want to share this interest with our guests. Québec City is full of activities all year long and our front desk staff is here to help you to enjoy your stay!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo, ca
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a very nice hotel, but slightly worse than the glowing reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel is on a street that you can drive on but appears like pedestrian only. You park in a public lot about two blocks away, along the port. The location of the hotel is a block from the original site of the city and at the bottom of the hill from the walled city. It is a climb to get to the walled city, so if one of your party can not hike easily, you may want to choose something within the walls or near the north gates. The funicular is available to take one up from the old city to the Dufferin Terrace. This hotel is very convenient to reach the Dufferin Terrace and Citadel. The rooms are very SMALL. The only smaller room I have encountered was in Paris. That is probably why they call Quebec, the only European city in North America. Nice interior design, with a stainless sink in the room and a slate like tile on the floor. The sink is a neat conical design but there is only a small shelf above the sink to place toiletries. The commode and shower fill a closet, where there is no storage. The shower is very SMALL, about the size of one in a recreational vehicle. It has three shower heads, but you can only get enough water to the overhead spray if you close the other nozzles. The bed, a queen, was very comfortable. An old brick wall and fireplace make up part of one wall of the room. Our room, 23, was very clean and faced an interior courtyard. It was very quiet, except when someone was getting ice from the machine in the hallway. The other rooms face the street and I think would be quiet until the garbage truck rolls through at 8:30. The room is very poorly lit, from several halogen lights in the ceiling. There is a cool looking lighted mirror above the sink, but it puts out only a minimal amount of light. Form trumped function for the lighting design. A flat screen TV with around 40 channels about equally split between English and French. Breakfast was an expanded continental one, with scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. Very good with some unique items.

All in all, a very nice hotel, if you get your head into European city hotel mode. It may be that all rooms in the older part of the city are of limited size. I found that there were few rooms with King beds in old Quebec, when making this booking. This may because most rooms are limited in size. Food is also very expensive in Quebec with limited quality, compared with Montreal. There is a sign at the front desk encouraging guests to place a review on tripadvisor. I suspect that is why the tripadvisor rating is slightly better than I would expect. If some of these features of a large well lit room are important, you may want to consider staying out of the old city. This hotel is very nice and well located, however.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear slocal,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read you have enjoyed our ideal location. As you kindly mention, we are very close to the first house ever built in Canada and the walled city is easy to reach by funicular for guests who do not want to use the Côte de la Montagne.

Québec City is indeed the most European city in North America with a lot of buildings dating back from the 17th century. Our hotel has been classified as a historic building and this classification, in addition to 30 inches thick stonewalls, does not allow any modification of the size of our regular and spacious rooms.

As space is a prized commodity, we always think about ingenious ideas to improve storage without compromising too much space. We want to create a romantic atmosphere with our lighting; we could install dimmer kit so every guest could enjoy the amount of light he desires.
I am surprised you did not like the shower; we usually receive very nice comments about it.

We do encourage reviews on Trip Advisor as we value the feedback of our customers. It helps us to know how we did and most of all, to know how we can improve our service. As an example, our automatic front door was installed following the recommendation of one our customer on Trip Advisor.

Thank you very much for your positive input, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and our 5th hotel of our trip. On arrival all the staff were so friendly from checking in, getting our luggage out of the car to giving directions to the car park.

We were really pleased with our room although if I was being a little critical it would have been nice to have a bedside light on both sides of the bed. As it was I had to move to the chair to read late at night or early morning so as not to disturb my husband. I didn't mind having the basin outside of the shower room and loved the jetted shower.

I was impressed when coming back in from the usual tourist strolls that there was cold water on tap by the lift as you returned to your room and in the mornings coffee to help yourself to as well

Breakfast was lovely and the lady who served us again so friendly and helpful.

Definitely our best accommodation of our trip so far (we do have another 8 days and 4 hotels to go!). I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Quebec City - great rooms, friendly and helpful staff and brilliant location.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Janeb,

Thank you very much for your review!

All the team is very happy to read you consider our hotel among the best you have been to during your trip. We welcome every suggestion and will make sure to study your idea of another bedside light in our standard rooms.

We are glad to read you have enjoyed our fresh lemon water. We know it can get very warm in summer and want to make sure all our guests drink enough water. Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our staff, it is vital to us that every guest experiences a great service.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us. We will be happy to welcome you again for your next stay in Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing