We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for room 41”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the last week of June. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic. My wife loved the bread pudding (pain perdu). We were assigned, by luck, room 41, which is a bit special. The room has a lot of character with rehabilitated brick and two nice windows. It overlooks the courtyard and restaurant but the heavy curtains are sufficient to cover the little noise if you need to sleep early. The most remarkable item, however, is that it happens to have a 8 1/2" Tempur-pedic Rhapsody bed, prob. a 2010-11 model. My wife and I slept deep and felt rested despite the heavy amount of trekking that we did going up and down the hill. We also took the one day tour to the city (half-day) and the east country (half-day). Honestly, the city part is better explored by foot. We even had done the fields by trekking up the boardwalk (about a 20 min hike -for river view stops- and 350 steps or so). Restaurant is "tapas" type, and one of the best in the city. Very nice ambience and relatively quiet, allowing conversation over wine and extraordinary good food. If we come back again, I will rebook this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 41 has tempur-pedic bed
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear businesstrvl,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay with the Trip Advisor's community!

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious rooms. Our main building is really interesting as it has been built in the 18th century and floors were added in the following centuries. This gives to every standard and spacious room a unique character as every room has a different stones/brick wall.

Thank you for highlighting the quality of our complimentary breakfast buffet. Your very kind words about our staff are very appreciated and I will happily pass them to our team.

Your glowing review of Toast! restaurant will be passed on to their team and I am sure they will be very happy to receive such compliments!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Priori
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Location was everything. Could see cruise terminal from room window. in old part of city, but in a quiet street. near shopping and attractions (like Chateau Frontenac, Citadel, etc). great breakfast with choices. water in lobby both for just a drink or a bottle to take on a hike around the city. room was very nice. great amenities (safe, robes, umbrella, 2-headed shower). Front desk people were very friendly and accomodating. well worth the price

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Collen S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read your stay with your friends at Le Priori met your expectations! Our location is indeed very convenient to discover our beautiful city and it comes very handy for cruise passengers as one of the terminals is just in front of the hotel! Thank you for your kind words about our staff who is committed to offer a great experience to our guests.

We work hard to offer the best value possible to our guests and it is always nice to receive feedback encouraging us in this way, thank you very much!

We hope to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Le Priori for three days in early July. From the moment my wife and I stepped inside the lobby we were treated as valued guests. The friendly front desk staff is efficient and never too busy to offer assistance. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The included full breakfast next door is a real bonus. Special thanks to Alexis and Kimberly for their much appreciated assistance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keydet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Keydet61,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

All our staff is glad to read you had a great time at Le Priori! Thank you very much for your feedback about our front desk staff, we are all dedicated to offer to our guests a memorable experience! Your nice words about our breakfast are really appreciated too as we are proud to offer breakfast all year long!

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is located in old part of Quebec. I loved the location, you are near the port, near the charming French streets with music, 10 min walking from Chateau Frontenac. The room was nice and clean. Only bathroom was very small. I personally would prefer better breakfast with bit more vegetables. But, generally, the breakfast was ok if you like English breakfast.
Great was the staff on the reception, very kind, always with smile, helpful, I had a feeling that they are proud on their city. If you are traveling to Quebec, I definitely advice you to stay here, in this nice hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Alena A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

Our location is definitely unique and gives another perspective when visiting Québec City!
We did our best to optimize the space in our main building and are always thinking on ways to improve our rooms.

Your nice words about our staff are very appreciated, we are indeed very proud of our beautiful city!

Your recommendation is greatly valued as it is for us the best reward we can get, grazie mille!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights during our second visit to Quebec, this time for the Quebec music festival this month. The outside of the hotel is so attractive and causes a lot of people to stop and take a picture. It's on a relatively quiet street in the lower section of Quebec City but close to some good restaurants and shops. The front desk staff were extremely helpful upon arrival helping to carry in all my luggage and bags and bring them to our room and also in giving us suggestions for restaurants and directions, etc. We had a cute room facing the street on the fifth floor and had a view of the water (once the cruiseship left) and the surrounding buildings. The room we had was very contemporary in décor and the bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet at night. There wasn't storage for clothes other than the closet for hanging clothes at least in our room so we did keep our clothes mostly in the suitcases. I'm not sure if I like having the bathroom sink in the main bedroom area outside the bathroom but that's me. I like having a tub and sink in the bathroom and in looking at some of the other pictures, they do have rooms here that have that if that matters to you. We did like having a coffee maker in the room for that first cup of coffee in the morning. And the robes and iron and hair dryer were nice too. We did go down to the restaurant for breakfast each morning and it was good and totally adequate for a full breakfast. The staff were always there to refill your coffee etc. All and all we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it. July is a great time of year to visit Quebec and we had beautiful weather!

Room Tip: We liked having a room facing the street and could see the water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Becky M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read your had a great Québec Music Festival at Le Priori! We are very proud of our neighbourhood as it has its own identity and is relatively quiet compared to the busyness of our city.

Thank you for your kind words about our team: we want all our guests to have a wonderful stay while staying with us!

We are very restricted by the city in our main building due to our historical classification but we do offer five junior suites and three suites with tub and separated bathroom. They are located in our suite building where we renovated two floors in 2012.

Your recommendation is very encouraging for all our team, thank you very much!

We would be happy to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This small hotel located in the old part of Quebec was lovely! It hard a charming interior with exposed stone walls which added to the atmosphere. The front desk was very helpful and nice. The breakfast was wonderful, fully equiped woth eggs, bacon, croissants, etc. Definitely worth the price! The rooms were pretty small, worth the sink in the room. The shower was tiny, which was a negative, but overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Shan83,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read you had a great time with us! Thanks for highlighting our handy location to discover our beautiful city! Your kind words about our breakfast are very appreciated, as we want our guests to start the day on a cheerful note!

As our hotel has been classified as a historic building and this classification, in addition to 30 inches thick stonewalls, makes any modification of the size of our regular and spacious rooms extremely difficult. We always think about ingenious ideas to improve storage without compromising too much space.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Wow--good things really do come in small packages! We stumbled on this property in a AAA travel guide while planning a long week-end in Quebec City to include my husband's brother and sister-in-law...and it turned out to be a real gem! A true boutique hotel, Le Priori provides a clean, sleek, contemporary ambience with just enough of a funky edge to give it a hip/cool feel. The location is excellent--a few blocks away from the water (providing a constant cool breeze) and just outside the old walled city, so everything is literally a short walk from the hotel, but away from the crowds, noise, and chaos of the tourist attractions. A wide variety of great restaurants abound--you can literally fall out the front door of the lobby and into the trendy dining room of Il Matto, or wander a bit down the block to Echaude (would have loved to try the highly rated Toast in the hotel for dinner, but sadly, it was totally booked!). No need to search for breakfast spots as the hotel includes a very well-done buffet breakfast, including a wide variety of freshly prepared items and cappuccino made to order--all provided with the kind assistance of Aliosha in the dining room! Don't miss the Museum of Civilization--one block from the hotel, and be sure to save time for a leisurely stroll through the fabulous Old Port Market to sample and purchase bountiful Quebec produce, products, and plants. The standard rooms are very nice--clean, great A.C., very comfy bed, and large, lovely windows; however, we would consider the suites next time, which we toured during our stay, as they were not much higher in price for fun & fabulous amenities (can you say fireplace & hot tub?!?). Improvements might include: more storage/drawer space, a few extra hooks in the shower area, and thicker, softer towels. No improvements necessary for the hotel staff, though, which was truly exceptional--friendly, knowledgeable, extremely helpful & courteous! Kimberly was particularly pleasant & efficient during our stay...she managed to grant every request, from garnering impromptu dinner reservations to securing last minute VIP tickets for Cirque de Soleil. She was the perfect mix of a top-notch personal assistant and well-informed friendly host which really made us feel pampered--wish we had someone like her along on every trip as it made our visit so effortless and hassle-free. We are already trying to plan another trip to Quebec City, this time with our daughter, and will most definitely book our stay at Hotel Le Priori!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank takemeawayNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear takemeawayNewYork,

Thank you very much for sharing this exhaustive review on Trip Advisor!

All our team is thrilled to read you had a great stay at Hotel Le Priori! We are very lucky to be located in the Old Port where there is a special atmosphere with all these art galleries and great restaurants! It is indeed very easy to walk to the main attractions of Québec City!

I am very happy to read you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet. It is important to us to provide a great morning start to our guests! Thank you for your kind words about our regular rooms and our suites! Your suggestions of improvements are really appreciated as we are constantly looking for ways to better our installations.

We want all our guests to have a great time while at Le Priori and it is very encouraging for us to read such a review! Our entire staff is dedicated to assist our guests and offer them an unique experience!

We will be delighted to welcome you with your daughter for your next trip to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £97 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing