We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great location, the staff was attentive and the front desk ladies were so pleasant and very helpful with suggestions and directions and the language. The bed was too hard for our comfort so we told the front desk and they sent a housekeeper right away up to our room with a big down comforter and she took care of it for us. We had a much more comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was very good with plenty of options to satisfy. The dinner menu however was not what we had in mind, but with so many restaurants and hotels so nearby, we had other options. We would stay there again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Dottie C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Our entire staff is always happy to assist our guests to make sure they feel at home at Le Priori and make the most of their stay in Québec City!

Thank you for your positive input about our complimentary breakfast! It is important to start the day with a nice meal!

We would be delighted to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    226
    35
    4
    5
See reviews for
114
770
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights before the cruise. The location is excellent, walking distance to the cruise port and in the old city where all the tourists are. Many eating places within walking distance. The rooms are small but if you are in Quebec city as a tourist you don't need a bigger room. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Just watch the 2 steps in front of the hotel entrance door, very narrow steps and if you are carryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticrdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear ticrdt,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

It is a great pleasure for our staff to read you have enjoyed our location, close to the Pier 22 and the Cruise Terminal. The Old Port is a great neighbourhood with many great dining options and a lot of interesting art galleries.

Your nice comments about our breakfast buffet and our staff are very much appreciated!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I need to start with my first impression: the front desk. The girls were all so polite and nice to talk to.
The bedroom was nice, confy bed, very clean bed and bathroom (but there were some spider webs on the ceiling of the bedroom - 224). The breakfast was really good, great and strong coffee, amazing croissant, fruits, jam, cream cheese, butter, OJ.
My only 2 complains are: the towels could be bigger and softer, it´s such a nice hotel, it deserves better towels and if you have a light sleep get a room on the top floor. If you have someone in the bedroom above you may wake up from toilet flushing and steps.
This hotel accepts AAA.

Room Tip: Get a room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha_Blue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Natasha_Blue20,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read you found our hotel very pleasant! Your comments about the cleanliness are taken very seriously and will be passed on to our housekeeping department. We do receive a lot of positive feedback on this matter and we will make sure this accident does not happen again.

Your kind words about our front desk staff are really appreciated, as we are all always happy to exchange with our guests. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we want to make sure our guests take as much energy as they need to explore our beautiful city!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouses Point, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel has the most wonderful location, very tasteful interior decor (the bear claw bathtub, right in the room is definitely a conversation piece) and a wonderful breakfast, but the lukewarm water in the said bathtub and an extremely slow internet connection spoiled the overall impression.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Ewa817,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am really sorry to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We encountered last week a major situation with our water system that affected the water temperature. This issue has been addressed and we underwent major renovation to make sure this will not happen again.

Please receive my sincere apologies for this inconvenience.

Thank you for your feedback about our Wifi connection; we have contacted our supplier to check this situation.

I am happy to read you have enjoyed our ideal location and our complimentary breakfast buffet. It is important to start the day on a cheerful note!

Thank you for your time,

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A delightful little hotel in the heart of Old Quebec City. The location was great, close to lots of lovely resturants, and in a charming area. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we had a very nice room, quite large in size, and different from your standard hotel rooms, with much more character.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Jenni F,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read you have enjoyed our great location and our hospitality! The Old Port is very convenient to explore the Old Québec as it is close to the main attractions in a neighbourhood with a lot of great restaurants and art galleries!

Your feedback about our room is really appreciated! We want to offer an unique atmosphere to our guests as we are located in beautiful historical building.

We will be happy to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel to gain an extra night in Quebec following the end of our cruise. We disembarked from the ship in the early morning and took a short taxi ride to the hotel. I had previously arranged to leave our luggage at the hotel well before normal check in so we could begin our touring. When re returned to check in, our luggage was already in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the lower city just a few minutes walk from Place Royale. It was the perfect location for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaSunDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear FloridaSunDevil,

Thank you very much for posting this review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your extra night in Québec City at Le Priori! Our location, very close to the Pier 22 makes it really easier for cruise passengers to reach us! Furthermore, we can see the ships stationed at Pier 22 from our Front Desk!

Your nice words about our staff are really appreciated, thank you very much! It is always a pleasure to assist our guests!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Cal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It's fair to say that I had put in a ton of research when it came to planning the accommodations for our Honeymoon. And during that time, I'd witnessed this hotel basically rocket up the charts from the 9th-ranked property to its present listing at #6.

And it's been well-earned... I would highly recommend this location.

Scattered across three nights, we stayed in two separate rooms - the first two nights in La Onze, and the third night in Room 401, which is the spa suite. Candidly, if we had stayed in the spa suite for the entire stay, this would be a five-PLUS-star review. La Onze lowered the bar JUST a smidge.

Let me explain...

The spa suite is welcoming, with a ton of natural light making its way through the many windows on two levels. It just "feels" right... roomy, nice and clean, and impeccably so. As has been mentioned in several reviews, a spiral staircase leads to a second level, which houses a spa upon the deck, along with a daybed and tv inside. We spent a fair amount of time on the deck just enjoying coffee and the arresting view of the Place Royale. For a time, we also had a view of Cunard's Queen Mary 2 as it was anchored in the harbour (oh, please note: actual cruise line and ship may vary).

By comparison, La Onze, while roomy, suffers from its location upon the ground floor of the complex. With little natural light, it doesn't help that the flooring and walls in the unit are likewise dark. It could probably use a little bit of room 401's light-wood touches... and it's compounded by the fact that you need to close the drapes in order to ensure privacy during your stay, thereby leading to a bit of a stuffy, claustrophobic feeling.

I might add that we enjoyed a fantastic dinner in the adjoining restaurant, Toast... and also enjoyed absolutely wonderful complimentary breakfasts in the same restaurant each morning. Service was tremendous, with a front desk staff that is entirely accommodating and friendly. We were also given a bottle of sparkling wine for our Honeymoon and were greeted every so warmly by Erwan, the property's general manager, which was a tremendous touch.

We'd stayed in the famed Fairmont Chateau de Frontenac on one night prior to our Le Priori stay and had a wonderful time there, but if there was a way to spend all four nights in the spa suite, we would have jumped at it in a heartbeat. With its location in charming and beautiful Basse-Ville while just steps from a vibrant upper town, you really cannot go wrong with Le Priori.

Room Tip: Go with room 401, the spa suite, if you can. But don't you dare book it when we want to return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaddyVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear DaddyVegas,

Thank you very much for your exhaustive and well-documented review on Trip Advisor!

We are very thankful about your nice comments about our progression on Trip Advisor. Every member of our team is giving its best everyday to offer to our guests a memorable experience and it is very encouraging for us to read on this website that our guests have a great time with us!

Your nice description of our Junior Suite with spa is very complete! Thank you for highlighting the work of our housekeeping department!

Thank you for your feedback about our Junior Suite La Onze. We are always looking for improvements and we will take it into consideration when we will repaint it this winter!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in our Junior Suite with Spa, maybe to celebrate your first wedding anniversary?

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing