We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Weekend Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easter Weekend Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed four nights over Easter weekend, it was phenomenal! Close to everything we wanted to see. Staff were friendly and helpful! The room was perfect, modern and all the amenities included. The buffet breakfast was fabulous. We would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Bert P,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed spending Easter weekend with us!

Your nice words about our staff and breakfast will be passed on, thank you!

It is a great reward for us to learn that you would be happy to visit us again and we will be delighted to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    215
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
701
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel to try something new in Quebec City. The location, external architecture and front desk are gorgeous. Very helpful staff. Amazing breakfast. I should say that I will try that restaurant for supper anytime soon. The only thing I would critique is the room design. For this type of hotel boutiques having the sink next to the bed is not classy to me. Space resolution rest quality to the whole experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pachinto17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Pachinto17,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor!

All our staff is delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience with us. Our team is always happy to assist our guests and your kind words about our breakfast will be passed on to Toast! restaurant team.

Space is a prized commodity in Old Quebec and we are studying other options to include the sink in the bathroom without altering the spirit of our historical main building.

We are aware that the position of the sink in our regular rooms can bother some of our guests and that is why we display explicit pictures of our room configurations on our official website. We do have five lovely junior suites and three gorgeous suites that offer more traditional bathrooms to satisfy everyone’s need.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in 3 different rooms during our stay: regular spacious room, junior suite and the spa suite.
Overall a very tastefully designed hotel. The 401 spa suite is nice (outdoor jacuzzi with excellent view of the old city and a nice area on the 2nd level) but we favor the 302 junior suite slightly more because it has almost everything the spa suite has but also feels more spacious with everything on the same floor.
The front desk staff was very friendly, helpful and actually remember each guest. That made our stay extra pleasant.

It takes about 20mins taxi ride to get to/from the airport ($ 34.25/trip fixed rate at the time of our stay).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DoubleBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear DoubleBond,

Thank you very much for sharing this review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read that your stay in three of our rooms met your expectations. It is always interesting for us to receive the feedback of guests that stayed in different room categories. Our Junior Suites are a very nice option as they offer a cosy living room, a working area and a kitchenette.

Your kind words towards our front desk staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to our team. We are all always happy to assists our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
618 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Hotel Le Priori is in a quiet road (hardly any traffic) in the old port area of Quebec City, close to the fortifications and in one of the quaint old streets. It's quiet, spotlessly clean, efficiently run and an ideal base for getting to know the city. They do a great buffet breakfast in the Toast restaurant. There is strong, free wifi and the rooms are kitted out with coffee making facilities, a desk and flat screen TVs. The room we had, 52 was quaint with exposed brickwork and modern design. The bed was comfortable with soft white duvet and crisp white sheets. Le Priori is also a great place to return to after sight seeing because it's just off the beaten track but with quick access to all the main sites. In two minutes you are in Palace Royal and Petite Champlain. From there you can catch the funicular ($2.50) to the old town or walk up through the winding roads and up the steps. There are two great pubs nearby serving draft local beers, and there are two excellent restaurants. Cafe Bistro du Cap is a short walk as you turn left out of the hotel. There we had the best meal during our stay in Quebec. And opposite Le Priori is Il Matto, where we had our second best meal during our trip. There are two great pubs close by, Pape-Georges at 8 Rue Du Cul-De-Sac, which is about five minutes away, was our favourite closely followed by Oncle Antoine Pub 29, rue St-Pierre, which is two minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank breweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear helpingmedia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Our location is indeed very convenient to enjoy the Old Québec City without the agitation of the busiest streets. We have invested this winter in our Wi-Fi installation and we are happy to read that it improved the browsing experience of our guests.

Sleeping quality is of paramount importance to us and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our beds and the quietness of our property.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back someday!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the William Suite at Le Priori. This was our third or fourth time at the hotel and it was even better than previous stays thanks to a beautiful room renovation. The on-site restaurant, "Toast", was terrific for both the food and the service. Breakfasts in the hotel were a pleasure. The room had a Nespresso coffee machine - what a luxury for serious coffee drinkers. The staff was friendly and very helpful with questions and our not so perfect French. We would not even consider any other hotel when we return to Quebec. Great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Diane R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your third stay with us! It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and we thank you very much for your loyalty. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and it is very encouraging for us when our guests notice it, thank you!

The William Suite offers a unique atmosphere with its separate entrance and its two levels. It features a great King size bed, a huge slate bathroom and a nice balcony! There is a Nespresso coffee maker with complimentary capsules in all our suites and junior suites.

Your nice words about Toast! restaurant and our complimentary breakfast buffet will be passed on to the restaurant team, I am sure they will be happy to hear them!

Our staff is always happy to assist our guests and will be very happy to welcome you for a fourth time at Hotel Le Priori!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this lovely Boutique Hotel.

It is a very charming hotel. Rooms are modern, bathroom and shower are all modern, and the bed is very comfortable. The rooms are a bit small but very charming.

We really enjoyed the breakfast ... Everything is fresh and it taste like home!

The hotel has bricks and stones which remind you that you are in the old part of the city.

The hotel is extremely well located if you wants to see the old part of the city. Everything is within walking distance and you are surrounded with the history of Quebec!

I have been to Quebec City many times and would go back to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Eliaza,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

All our staff is glad to read that you have enjoyed your night with us! As our hotel has been classified as a historic building and has 30 inches thick stonewalls, we did our best to optimize the size of our rooms with these legal and technical restrictions. We are happy to read you have liked them!

Thank you for highlighting our ideal location in the heart of the Old Port. It is indeed very convenient to explore what Quebec City has to offer! Walking in the Old Town is really enjoyable at all time of the year!

Your nice words about our complimentary breakfast buffet will be passed on to the chef! I am sure he will be thankful!

We will be thrilled to welcome you for your next trip in Quebec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamsoKnight
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I loved our stay at Le Priori and would recommend it to anyone visiting the wonderful old town of Quebec City.

The suites are unique and full of character from the exposed brick in the bedroom to the ultra-modern bathroom with underfloor heating and a jacuzzi bath.

The hotel staff are extremely friendly and not at all corporate. This place is big enough to know what it's doing but small enough to care.

Breakfast is very good and what I like is that they concetrate on offering a few items of good quality rather than rows and rows of mediocre world cuisine which so many large hotels seem to think is a must.

Definitely visit S.O.S for a dinner and also Le Lapin Dingue for lunch.. both are just a two min walk from the hotel.
I would definitely stay here again,

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard which whilst maybe not having the most panoramic view did seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamsoKinight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear SamsoKnight,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our Junior Suites! Your comments on our complimentary breakfast are very much appreciated, as we want to offer great quality to our guests. Our spreads and peanut butter are homemade and our returning guests praise our scrambled eggs.

Your positive note about our staff is greatly appreciated, as we are always happy to assist our guests and really want them to feel cosy while staying with us.

There are indeed a lot of great restaurants in the Old Port and it is great to be able to walk to most of them!

We would be happy to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing