We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming boutique hotel and gracious staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel and gracious staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently spent a few nights at the Hotel Le Priori, and were so charmed by the historic property and gracious staff. Our room was on one of the upper floors looking out over a quiet courtyard area. The room was very spacious, and comfortable with a mix of historic charm of the building and modern design... You will love the shower with its built in body sprayers... wonderful...The staff were all sooo very friendly and professional..The location of the hotel is perfect, on a quiet cobbled street in the lower historic area of old Quebec, with galleries, shops, and great restaurants.. Quebec is such a great walking city, and Hotel Le Priori 's location puts you within minutes of everything.. The daily morning breakfast included in our room rate was DELICIOUS...Everything was fresh, and tasted wonderful.. I would highly recommend the Hotel Le Priori, for a stay in Quebec...

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms facing west, have a quiet view over a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Warner50,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

Your kind words towards our staff are greatly appreciated, merci beaucoup! We are happy to read you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Our location makes it really easy to walk to the main attractions of Québec City and the Old Port is a nice neighbourhood with a lot of interesting dining options and art galleries.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our complimentary breakfast buffet! We will pass them on to our friends at Toast! Restaurant!

Your recommendation is the best reward for our team, thank you very much!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    213
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
691
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a 9 hr drive to get to Quebec city and this hotel- we were tired and a little frazzled. The street the hotel is on doesn't look like a street you can drive down. So we stopped and I ran and they assured us it was fine for minutes to unload the luggage -got husband oriented about where to park and the pass- and when I turned around our luggage was gone to our room! The breakfast is enough to keep you going for most of the day and included in the price- everything we ask - it couldn't be faster or more nicely-just the best

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earl1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Earl1947,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

All our team is delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Our street is quite unique in Québec City! It is one of the oldest in North America and is what our city called a shared traffic street as pedestrian, bikes and cars are allowed to circulate. It is a one-way street and can be easily accessed from Côte de la Montagne.

Thank you for your kind words about our complimentary breakfast buffet! It is important to start the day on a cheerful note and we want our guests to take as much energy as they need to explore our beautiful city!

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
247 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We were here for three days with our 13 year-old daughter. The location is convenient to affordable parking at $18/day and convenient to the funicular to the upper town. Lower town quiet but with many great eating choices. Room was very stylish and internet was fast. Pleasantly surprised with the full breakfast included in the price. Staff incredibly helpful. Would be my go to place for QC when I visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tangobangomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Tangobangomango,

Thank you very much for sharing this review on Trip Advisor!

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your family trip with us at Hotel Le Priori! Your kind words about our staff and our complimentary breakfast buffet will be passed on!

Thank you for highlighting our ideal location in the Old Port. It is a great base to explore our city and it offers indeed many great restaurants!

We will be definitely happy to welcome you back for your next visit to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a gem of a hotel--a small, attractively redone historic building in Lower Town. Located on a quiet pedestrian street lined with restaurants and galleries, it is an easy walk to other popular sites/facilities, including Petite de Champlain attractions and the Funicular to Upper Town.

The hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful professionals who really make you feel at home. Our room provided a view of Paris-like rooftops and the nearby St. Lawrence River. The bathroom may be too small for those who prefer larger facilities, but we found it to be entirely workable and a worthwhile compromise in getting the most for our budget.

The French/American breakfast served each day is abundant and delicious. It is topped only by the gracious service received while dining. Please, please oblige the server by leaving a tip in the discrete area provided. (Too many people departed without providing such consideration.)

The dinner menu did not match our culinary preferences. Including more modest offerings of poultry, fish or burgers would be a nice addition. That notwithstanding, the next time we're in this charming town, this hotel will be our #1 choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Nicholas A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

Our staff is really happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your nice comments about our historical building. We did our best to preserve it in compliance with the detailed instructions from the City of Québec and the Provincial Government. Our location is really convenient to explore the Old Québec by foot as we are close to everything!

I am glad to read that you felt at home with us. This is definitely what we want for our guests and every member of our team is dedicated to offer this experience.

Your kind words regarding our complimentary breakfast buffet will be passed on to our friends at Toast! Restaurant. They do have another restaurant just down the street called SSS, which offers a great selection of burgers, tartars and bistro style food. Thank you for highlighting the work of Alexandra and Sarah, our servers for breakfast.

We will be delighted to welcome you back home when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a fantastic hotel in a quiet neighborhood in Lower Town. The rooms were unique and the service was top notch. We ate in their restaurant one evening too and the food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Le Priori.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pupperdog14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear pupperdog14,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Thank you for your kind words about our staff and Toast! restaurant.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I did not plan this particular trip. One mid-week morning and life in New York City felt too demanding, and I wanted to take a break. Quebec was the first place that came to mind. I did not even book for a hotel, which is a great thing because the first one that I visited allured me instantly. The hotel receptionist was impressive. I was particularly moved by how professional she was yet she exuded the humanity that most of us, weary travelers, need from time to time. Her kindness was exemplary. I simply loathe it when a hotel staff makes me feel I am just another business. Not with this lady. She was patient (and knowledgeable) in answering my seemingly endless questions about the city, making my travel guidebook useless. And when she showed me the photos of the splendid room, I did not hesitate at all. I registered right away. A decision that I am so glad I made. The hotel is at par with the best hotels I have stayed in all the years I have been traveling around the world. The room was more than splendid. The service was impeccable. The location could have not been better. The facilities are topnotch. And oh, I love the bar-restaurants. I would not mind going back to Le Priori again — and definitely I will.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bayanggudaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear bayanggudaw,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

Our staff was very impressed and happy with your feedback. It is always a pleasure for us to welcome our guests and we want them to feel at home and happy while staying at Hotel Le Priori. We feel very fortunate to work and live in this beautiful city and our Front Desk team has many experiences and recommendations to share with our guests so they can enjoy Québec City as much as we do!

It is a great honor for us to be considered among your best hotel experiences and we will be definitely happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Le Priori is a hotel located in the old city of Quebec, but in the lower city, which makes it quieter. This is a rather small hotel, with a modern design, and offering a range of rooms of different size (with different price of course). In some rooms, one may be surprised by the bath tube, inside the room (and not in the bathroom), but there is a shower in the bathroom. Beds are comfortable, the rooms are of a decent size. A small bottle of water is offered in the room.
Breakfast however may be slightly limited compared to other hotels. Here, scrambled eggs, bacon, beans, sausage, bread cake are offered, boiled eggs, some granolas, bread, orange juice, some cheese and hams.
The staff is very pleasant, friendly and helpful. A place to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Luke393,

Thank you very much for posting this review about your experience on Trip Advisor!
Our team is happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! The Old Port of Québec City is always more quiet that the Upper Town in high season and is close to the main attractions of the Old Québec.

Thank you for your nice feedback about our spacious rooms. They offer all the comfort of our regular rooms with more space and a bathtub.

I am sorry to read you were not completely satisfied with our complimentary breakfast buffet. We try to offer a selection to satisfy everyone’s needs with hot and cold dishes: sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, potatoes, beans, cretons, ham, cheese, French bread, oatmeal, homemade muffins and granola bars, 3 different kinds of breads, croissants, 6 different kinds of fruits and homemade jams, homemade peanut butter, 2 different kinds of cereals.

It is important for us to offer quality rather than quantity and make sure we have a selection that is fresh and satisfying for all our guests.

Your kind words about our staff are very much appreciated, thank you very much! Your recommendation is for us the best reward, merci beaucoup!

We will be happy to welcome you again when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing