We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family of four plus two in-laws originally booked rooms at the larger hotel at the top of the hill. We didn't like it one bit so decided to leave after staying just one night. We called the Le Priori, spoke with a very helpful lady and she was able to make accommodations for the six of us on short notice. Man, I'm glad she did. We got two suites that were huge, fireplace, free WiFi, free water, two large (very comfortable) beds, friendly staff, free breakfast, huge living room, all right in the middle of the coolest part of town. This hotel saved our trip. Fantastic hotel, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The suites are a bit pricey but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCrow377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear SCrow377,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor!

It is a great pleasure for us to read that your stay at Hotel Le Priori saved your trip. Our guests appreciate our Rolf Benz and Newtone suites as they offer wide living areas and can welcome a family of four. Located in our suite building, each of them has a Nespresso coffee maker, a fireplace and a great bathroom with separated shower and tub.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always a pleasure for us to help our guests to enjoy their time in Québec City!

Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get, merci beaucoup!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    226
    35
    4
    5
See reviews for
110
752
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Loved this hotel. It's perfectly situated in Old Quebec, with a slew of good restaurants and art galleries on one side, old Quebec shops on the other, and the port and the excellent Museum of Civilization also very close - and all on flat surfaces in case that is an issue. The parking arrangement is also very good. Buffet breakfasts, included for all guests, are exceptionally good: the scrambled eggs are great, as are the croissants and the French toast or bread pudding (not sure what it is but it's in the hot tray with the eggs and is eaten with maple syrup). Tip: ask for cafe au lait. As for rooms, there are times to upgrade and times not to, and at this hotel you definitely want a junior suite. These are large handsome rooms in a separate part of the hotel with good elevator access, with lovely bathrooms (the non-suites all have sinks or bathtubs in the sleeping areas in strange layouts), big tvs, Nespresso machines, etc. In three nights we never heard a sound. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Altogether by the far the best accommodations we had in a two-week trip in Quebec.

Room Tip: Junior suites are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJChisoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear NJChisoxFan,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us on Trip Advisor!

Our staff is really happy to read that you have enjoyed your time at Hotel Le Priori! The Old Port of Québec City is really convenient to explore the Old Québec and offers as you mention many activities and great dining options.

Your kind words about our complimentary breakfast buffet are very much appreciated! Our Junior Suites are great accommodations as they offer a cosy living room, a working area and a kitchenette.

We are proud to be rated as the best accommodation you had during your two-week trip in Québec, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the first floor suite at this remarkable hotel seven nights. Everything was absolutely perfect, especially the location in lower town. We walked to just about everything. This hotel is an historic gem. Our suite was large with original beams and brick walls, and modern furniture, beds and and large flat screen TV. We worked on the internet which seemed even stronger than our service in New York City. The staff could not have been more pleasant and accomodating. Probably gained five pounds from the buffet breakfast served each morning. We hope to return to Hotel Le Priori yearly.

Room Tip: We only stayed in our suite, never seeing other rooms. The room was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Amy S,

Thank you very much for posting this review on Trip Advisor!

It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests for your week in Québec City! Thank you for highlighting our ideal location. We are glad to read you have enjoyed our Rolf Benz Suite. Our guests appreciate its fireplace, Nespresso coffee maker and its nice living room.

We are always happy to assist our guests and help them to enjoy as much as possible our beautiful city!

We would be delighted to welcome you every year at Hotel Le Priori!
Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently spent a few nights at the Hotel Le Priori, and were so charmed by the historic property and gracious staff. Our room was on one of the upper floors looking out over a quiet courtyard area. The room was very spacious, and comfortable with a mix of historic charm of the building and modern design... You will love the shower with its built in body sprayers... wonderful...The staff were all sooo very friendly and professional..The location of the hotel is perfect, on a quiet cobbled street in the lower historic area of old Quebec, with galleries, shops, and great restaurants.. Quebec is such a great walking city, and Hotel Le Priori 's location puts you within minutes of everything.. The daily morning breakfast included in our room rate was DELICIOUS...Everything was fresh, and tasted wonderful.. I would highly recommend the Hotel Le Priori, for a stay in Quebec...

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms facing west, have a quiet view over a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Warner50,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

Your kind words towards our staff are greatly appreciated, merci beaucoup! We are happy to read you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Our location makes it really easy to walk to the main attractions of Québec City and the Old Port is a nice neighbourhood with a lot of interesting dining options and art galleries.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our complimentary breakfast buffet! We will pass them on to our friends at Toast! Restaurant!

Your recommendation is the best reward for our team, thank you very much!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a 9 hr drive to get to Quebec city and this hotel- we were tired and a little frazzled. The street the hotel is on doesn't look like a street you can drive down. So we stopped and I ran and they assured us it was fine for minutes to unload the luggage -got husband oriented about where to park and the pass- and when I turned around our luggage was gone to our room! The breakfast is enough to keep you going for most of the day and included in the price- everything we ask - it couldn't be faster or more nicely-just the best

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earl1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Earl1947,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

All our team is delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Our street is quite unique in Québec City! It is one of the oldest in North America and is what our city called a shared traffic street as pedestrian, bikes and cars are allowed to circulate. It is a one-way street and can be easily accessed from Côte de la Montagne.

Thank you for your kind words about our complimentary breakfast buffet! It is important to start the day on a cheerful note and we want our guests to take as much energy as they need to explore our beautiful city!

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We were here for three days with our 13 year-old daughter. The location is convenient to affordable parking at $18/day and convenient to the funicular to the upper town. Lower town quiet but with many great eating choices. Room was very stylish and internet was fast. Pleasantly surprised with the full breakfast included in the price. Staff incredibly helpful. Would be my go to place for QC when I visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tangobangomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Tangobangomango,

Thank you very much for sharing this review on Trip Advisor!

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your family trip with us at Hotel Le Priori! Your kind words about our staff and our complimentary breakfast buffet will be passed on!

Thank you for highlighting our ideal location in the Old Port. It is a great base to explore our city and it offers indeed many great restaurants!

We will be definitely happy to welcome you back for your next visit to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a gem of a hotel--a small, attractively redone historic building in Lower Town. Located on a quiet pedestrian street lined with restaurants and galleries, it is an easy walk to other popular sites/facilities, including Petite de Champlain attractions and the Funicular to Upper Town.

The hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful professionals who really make you feel at home. Our room provided a view of Paris-like rooftops and the nearby St. Lawrence River. The bathroom may be too small for those who prefer larger facilities, but we found it to be entirely workable and a worthwhile compromise in getting the most for our budget.

The French/American breakfast served each day is abundant and delicious. It is topped only by the gracious service received while dining. Please, please oblige the server by leaving a tip in the discrete area provided. (Too many people departed without providing such consideration.)

The dinner menu did not match our culinary preferences. Including more modest offerings of poultry, fish or burgers would be a nice addition. That notwithstanding, the next time we're in this charming town, this hotel will be our #1 choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Nicholas A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

Our staff is really happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your nice comments about our historical building. We did our best to preserve it in compliance with the detailed instructions from the City of Québec and the Provincial Government. Our location is really convenient to explore the Old Québec by foot as we are close to everything!

I am glad to read that you felt at home with us. This is definitely what we want for our guests and every member of our team is dedicated to offer this experience.

Your kind words regarding our complimentary breakfast buffet will be passed on to our friends at Toast! Restaurant. They do have another restaurant just down the street called SSS, which offers a great selection of burgers, tartars and bistro style food. Thank you for highlighting the work of Alexandra and Sarah, our servers for breakfast.

We will be delighted to welcome you back home when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing