We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our first trip to Quebec City and booked this hotel based on the reviews. We are sure glad we did. Everything was great from the moment we arrived. The room was small but so quaint and romantic. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay just perfect and always have great recommendations. They are exceptional! They even sent up champagne for our 20th anniversary! The hotel is in a very good location with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The complimentary breakfast was great, especially the croissants and homemade granola and peanut butter. We know where we will be staying on our next visit to Quebec City!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us!

All our team is thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Le Priori and appreciated the service we offer to our guests. We want all of them to be happy and make the most of our beautiful city!

Thank you for your kind words about our regular rooms. As we are located in a historical building, we did our best to optimize the space while preserving the character of our main building and give them a romantic feel.

We will pass on to the restaurant team your positive feedback about our complimentary breakfast buffet, I am sure they will be happy to get it!
We will be happy to welcome you back at Hotel Le Priori!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our first trip to Quebec City, and the Hotel Le Priori was a fantastic introduction to the city. It was very clean, modern (with an old world feel), and in the center of Old Town. The staff were extremely nice and courteous, and extraordinarily helpful in every way imaginable. The included breakfast in the adjoined restaurant, Toast, was very delicious and quaint. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way, and we are excited to return. Definitely worth the money and in a perfect location in Quebec City.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Rob F,
Thank you very much for posting this review on Trip Advisor!

It was a pleasure to welcome you for your first visit to Québec City and all our staff is glad to read that you have enjoyed your vacation with us!

Your kind words towards our cleanliness are very much appreciated as our housekeeping staff gives it best everyday to make sure all our guests enjoy clean and cosy rooms!

We are glad to read you have enjoyed our ideal location to explore the Old Québec and our complimentary breakfast buffet! We are always happy to help our guests and make sure we did all we can to ensure them the best experience possible.

Offering the best value possible to our guests is one of our top priorities and it is always nice to receive feedback encouraging us in this way, merci beaucoup!

We will be thrilled to welcome you back at Hotel Le Priori!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent two nights in the old city and two in the upper city of Quebec, fully expecting this experience to be sub par to the 'fancy chateau' we were to experience next. How wrong we were. Le Priori combined old world charm of original rock walls with modern conveniences. The surprise of a 3-head shower, super comfy beds and an excellent hot breakfast all added to the experience. (great coffee & an option to order free cappuccino didn't hurt either.) Couldn't have a better location and the English-speaking staff was super friendly, smiling and helpful. If we return, we'll stay in the older low city for the duration.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbirdnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Kbirdnashville,

All our team was happy to read that you have enjoyed your experience in the lower part of the Old Québec with us at Hotel Le Priori! Our historical building, which was back in the day the workshop of Jean Baillairgé, offers as you kindly mention the charm of the old stone with all the modern conveniences expected to enjoy a cosy stay.

All our staff is always happy to assist our guests and we are glad to read that we contributed to the success of your holiday.

The Old Port is a great part of town to enjoy and explore, as it offers many activities and restaurant such as Toast! who serves our delicious breakfast.

We will be happy to welcome you again when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Hotel Le Priori is a charming yet quite modern small hotel located on Rue Sault-au-Matelot in Vieux Quebec, just down the hill from the Upper City. Our room had exposed stone walls of the old building yet had all the modern components of a well outfitted room including stainless steel and a luxurious shower. The hotel was quiet and the included breakfast was everything you would want to start the day. It's location allowed you to explore the Lower City and it was less than a ten minute walk to the Upper City. The staff was absolutely first rate, going out of their way to make you feel welcome and accommodated every request. As our French was rusty, English was the method of communication and there was a never a language issue. We were thrilled with our our choice of the Hotel Le Priori and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Greg S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

We were delighted to read that you been thrilled with your hotel choice while in Québec City! The Old Port is an amazing neighbourhood and provides a great base to explore our beautiful city.

Thank you for your kind words about our rooms. Working in a historical building can be challenging in terms of space optimization and we did our best to offer the most confortable rooms possible.

We want our guests to start their day on a cheerful note and I am glad to read that our buffet selection satisfied your appetite. Sleep quality is of paramount importance to us and it is always nice to read that our guests enjoyed the quietness of Hotel Le Priori.

All our team enjoys welcoming our guests and sharing with them our love for Québec City!

Your recommendation is the best reward we can get, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in suite # 10 for our 25th anniversary. It was absolutely fantastic. The room was just as beautiful as the website shows. We found it quiet and just perfect to have a coffee in the morning or drinks in the afternoon on the balcony. The staff is beyond helpful. The location is perfect to go exploring anywhere in lower town. Upper town is only a short ride on the funnicular. The morning breakfast is very nice and we had a outstanding dinner at Toast. We would defintiely recommend staying here and are planning to come back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 25thanniversary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear 25thanniversary2014,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We were happy to welcome you at Hotel Le Priori for such a special occasion and are delighted to read that it met your expectations. Our William Suite offers a unique atmosphere with its separate entrance and its two levels. It features a great King size bed, a huge slate bathroom and a nice balcony.

The Old Port is very convenient to discover our beautiful city as it is close to everything and offers many great dining options.

Your kind words about our staff and your experience at Toast! will be passed on, thank you!

A recommendation is always the best reward our guests can give us and we thank you very much for your consideration!

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a fantastic boutique hotel. Located in the Vieux-port section of Quebec, this hotel is close to so many attractions, restaurants, and shops that you could spend several days and never make it up the hill to the rest of the city. It's about one block away from the Musée de la Civilisation (Museum of Civilization) and two blocks from Petit Champlain, a major shopping/dining/museum district.

The hotel staff were amazing during our stay. On a day that we were late getting out of the room, one of the front desk staff took it upon herself to not only clear the plates that we had after breakfast, but straightened the room and brought us more towels. The staff were also very kind as we tried speaking to them in our rudimentary French. They spoke perfect English, of course, but when we tried to converse they were exceedingly kind and encouraging.

Breakfast is included and we had that brought to the room most every day for a nominal charge. And it is a good breakfast: can be as light as cereal and croissants or as full as scrambled eggs and bacon. The sausages weren't what I expected for breakfast, but trying new things is a part of travel!

We stayed in the room called La Onze, or 11. The room itself was fantastic. Called a suite, it wasn't exactly multiple rooms, but there was a sitting area with couch and chair with great light to read by and large screen TV (channels in both French and English). The bed was comfortable and the area behind the bed was a dry bar with table and counter to eat and, and behind that was the magnificent bathroom!

Can't say enough about the bathroom. The shower was large with both a rainwater showerhead and a hand held sprayer. Both with great water pressure and plenty of hot water. There is also a soaking tub with air jets. Not quite what I would call a "Jacuzzi" tub, but really relaxing after a hot day of walking up and around the old city.

The only downside to this particular room was the location within the hotel. In summers, the hotel restaurant Toast! serves in the courtyard. The room is right on the courtyard, and while there are screens and curtains for privacy, the fact that we could hear people out there enjoying their dinner meant they were just as likely to be able to hear us. I think this room would be just about perfect in the winter time or for people who like to stay up later than we do.

One unique upside to this particular room is that it can be reached from an alley next to the hotel. Coming and going can be achieved without going through the hotel lobby, making it quick and easy to get out and about. It would also allow this one room to be more accessible for folks with mobility issues, for what that's worth. Most of Quebec is NOT friendly to people needing help getting around, but this one room might allow one less obstacle.

We never did eat at the restaurant. Neither of us like seafood and we never were in the mood for what they offered. Less seafood and more vegetarian choices would have improved the chances that we would have eaten there.

Be careful when driving to the hotel. The Rue du Sault au Matelot is nearly invisible when coming up from Rue Dalhousie on the Cote de la Montagne. The (quaint, charming, small) street sign is only visible from the other direction.

Great hotel, a really nice treat for us. I'd come here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The room called La Onze is right off of the terrace where the restaurant serves in summer. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doengels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Doengels,

Thank you very much for posting this exhausting review on Trip Advisor!

The Old Port of Québec City is definitely an ideal location to explore our beautiful city! As you kindly mentioned, there are many great attractions, restaurants and art galleries in our neighbourhood that give it is unique vibe.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our Junior Suite la Onze. Located on the main floor overlooking the terrace where Toast! restaurant serve dinner in summer, this junior suite is really convenient of access. The massaging bath is always welcomed after a nice walk around the city!

Your kind words about our complimentary breakfast buffet are very much appreciated! I am glad to read that you were satisfied with the options offered and the possibility of the room delivery.

All our team is dedicated to make sure our guests enjoy their time at Hotel Le Priori and we are always happy to speak in our mother tongue with all our guests!

We would love to welcome you again and hope it would be anytime soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel Le Priori is a fantastic boutique hotel in an ideal location on a charming street in Petit Champlain, just down the hill from Old Quebec. The hotel itself is in a beautiful old building that incorporates modern convenient touches seamlessly without losing the unique historic feel. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We loved Quebec City, can't wait to go back, and definitely will stay at Hotel Le Priori.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MoonlightingNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear MoonlightingNY,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our ideal location in the Old Port. We are very proud to operate in a historical building, part of the Historic District of the Old Québec, which is listed on the World Heritage List of Unesco.

It is always a pleasure for us to assist our guest and make sure they have all they need to enjoy Québec City!

We will be happy to welcome you back home!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £94 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing