We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location--that's it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location--that's it.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location in the quiet part of Vieux QC is the best part of staying at this hotel. The staff is friendly, there is always water bottles to take to your room.
The room: We had the standard and it was a bit strange. The bathroom (toilet and shower) were behind a sliding door (which made noise when moved) and the sink was outside as part of the "room". Not very private. The bathroom never really dried out after the shower...
The bed: the "mattress" is futon quality. We woke up with backaches every day.
The breakfast: adequate, but not good. Low quality products. limited fruit options (only an unripe melon this morning). For the prices they charge they could do better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourist1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tourist1Chicago,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are aware that the audacious position of the sink in our regular rooms can bother some of our guests and that is why we display explicit pictures of our room configurations on our official website. We do have five lovely junior suites and three gorgeous suites that offer more traditional bathrooms to satisfy everyone’s need.

I am really sorry to read that you did not enjoy our mattresses. We usually receive a very positive feedback about them and we have given many times our supplier’s address to our guests. We would have been really happy to improve your sleep quality if you had shared your concerns with our staff.

We usually have warm summers and we are always happy to provide water to our guests to make sure they have everything they need before enjoying the city. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, I am glad to read you have at least enjoyed our hospitality!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    214
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
699
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. Staff helped us orient ourselves to Old Quebec, and made us a dinner reservation as soon as we arrived. Marie and everyone were so gracious. We stayed in a standard room, which was comfortable for us. And we'll return next visit to the city.

Room Tip: We loved 5th floor overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BNG1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear BNG1949,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Le Priori! Our staff is always happy to assist our guests so they can enjoy their time in our beautiful city! Thank you for your kind words about our standard rooms.

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We could not stay in the hotel for more than half an hour! There were spiders all around the room and bathroom, including right over the bed. The jacuzzi kept going on and off on its own even though there was no one in the bathroom! Look outside the window, and there's mold growing all around it.

However, the people at the reception were very nice and understanding and didn't charge us at all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ddanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Ddanaa,

Customer satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and as much as we value the feedback from our guests, I think is it important to add some objectivity to your review.

When checking in and discovering your room, you were not satisfied with our four-star only property. When I got the chance to discuss with you about your concerns, there where absolutely nothing we could do. You did not want us to check out the room with you nor change room. In fact, you already booked another room in a chain hotel before leaving our property.

Saying that spiders were all around the room and the bathroom is simply dishonest and disrespectful for our housekeeping staff. The rating for cleanliness we get on many websites speaks for itself (5/5 on Trip Advisor).

There is no mold outside the window but a growing plant that brings us more vegetation in our inner courtyard. In fact, what you see from the window are simply green leaves.

I kindly did not charge you anything because you were obviously not in the mood to stay at Hotel Le Priori. As we want all our guests happy at the end of the day, I personally discussed for alternatives with your husband who kindly declined them and, I am sure, found a more appropriate spot for you.

Not wanting to stay in a historical small boutique hotel is one thing we can all understand, but accusing us of not taking care of the cleanliness of our property and making up issues to leave as soon as possible is not honest. If you feel better of lying on Trip Advisor about your 30 minutes experience at Hotel Le Priori, good for you. It is just not appropriate towards our staff (you found nice) that works hard to offer the best experience possible to all our guests.

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I decided to treat our two granddaughters with a visit to Quebec City. Stayed at your wonderful hotel where the room, staff and dining were exceptional. The staff went out of their way to address a small problem at the hotel and again when our dinner reservations were cancelled at another location. I've stayed at many hotels and this one was one of the best! Thank you for making our trip extra special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Rebecca E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your family stay in our William Suite! It is a great suite for families as its two beds are located on two different floors. It has a great living room that can welcome four guests and the bathroom has a slate shower and a nice tub.

It was a pleasure to fix the light bathroom inconvenience you experienced and if we can be of any help with restaurant reservation, we always do our best to accommodate our guests!

We are honoured when our experienced guests acknowledge us as one of their favourite hotel, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We are pretty frequent clients here, perhaps 8 stays in past 8 years. This is our come-and-relax place for us in Quebec - convenient to everything from the action on the hill near the Ch. Frontenac to access to the Bas Ville (lower city and port), Market, Place de la Gare, and the neat district of St. Roch, all within 10 minutes walk. Like all Quebec hotels, this place is busy in summer, but in our recent stay, perhaps our first in high season, we heard nobody else in the hotel, yet at breakfast we saw everyone.
You cannot beat the price for this class of hotel - clean spotless, interesting rooms, especially the suites and the new building, lots of character. Staff are great and go out of their way to make us feel at home, make reservations and recommendations for new restaurants, a bottle of wine in our room for an anniversary, etc. Breakfast is very good, best croissants in the city, and out of season some of the suites have the option of breakfast in the room. Suites have micro-wave and nespresso machines and fridges, fireplaces and logs are provided, so it is really easy to relax and just enjoy. Toast downstairs is the evening restaurant and even though they use the courtyard during the summer as an extension of the seating, the sound is deadened by the trees and the covering, and with windows open above it all, you cannot hear it, but I would avoid ground floor or first floor courtyard rooms in summer if you expect dead quiet evenings. (as I said we usually go off season).
HINT - there are tons of nice restaurants in the surrounding area for lunch and dinner - our preference is for elegant lunches - similar food at lower prices - Laurie Raphael, Panache, Echaude, L'Egende, Il Matto. Pick up fruit, veg, cheese and hams in the market for afternoon snacks or dinner replacement (don't forget local cidres). HINT 2 - if you require a lounge or bar or just a little more social room, the very much pricier Auberge St. Antoine is 50 steps away down the street and the ground floor lounge bar is wonderful for meeting friends or relaxing with a drink or a board game - and also exploring the history of where you are staying as it is all one big archaeological excavation and it is all displayed in the ground floor.

Room Tip: My preference is for the Suite William which is a 2 floor and huge (actually 4 people could use this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mister L,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

It is always a pleasure for our team to welcome you and your wife and it was exciting to have you
during our busy season!

We are always delighted to have you in either our Junior Suite with Spa or our William Suite.
These two suites are very unique in their type as the first one offers an unique view on Place Royale and a spa that works all year long on its balcony. The William suite with its two levels offers a wide space for a romantic getaway and enough room to welcome a family of four.

Thank you for highlighting the work of our housekeeping department! Cleanliness is of paramount importance to us and it is important for us to stay consistent in our service.

We work hard to offer the best value possible to our guests and is it very encouraging for us to read your feedback on this matter! We want all our guests to feel at home while staying at Hotel Le Priori and our team is always happy to assist our guests!

Your loyalty is greatly appreciated and welcomed by all our team as a great reward! We thank you very much for taking the time to share your multiple experiences with us and we will be happy to see you next December!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

the location of le Priori makes it charming and intriguing.. lots of charms, and excellent service. Rooms are spacious, bathroom modern and a triple jet shower. The restaurant Le Toast is producing that EcoCuisine

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear John A,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our ideal location and our rooms. The Old Port is a great base to explore our beautiful city and offers a lot of distractions too.

Our team is dedicated to offer to our guest a great experience while staying at Hotel Le Priori. I am thrilled to read that it met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our first trip to Quebec City and booked this hotel based on the reviews. We are sure glad we did. Everything was great from the moment we arrived. The room was small but so quaint and romantic. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay just perfect and always have great recommendations. They are exceptional! They even sent up champagne for our 20th anniversary! The hotel is in a very good location with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The complimentary breakfast was great, especially the croissants and homemade granola and peanut butter. We know where we will be staying on our next visit to Quebec City!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us!

All our team is thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Le Priori and appreciated the service we offer to our guests. We want all of them to be happy and make the most of our beautiful city!

Thank you for your kind words about our regular rooms. As we are located in a historical building, we did our best to optimize the space while preserving the character of our main building and give them a romantic feel.

We will pass on to the restaurant team your positive feedback about our complimentary breakfast buffet, I am sure they will be happy to get it!
We will be happy to welcome you back at Hotel Le Priori!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing