We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room,excellent service, well located”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a beautiful suite, which was very spacious with a large bathroom. The hotel is ideally located in Old Quebec City. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is located 2 roads further for 15 $ per day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Corinne959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Corinne959,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed staying at Hotel Le Priori while visiting Québec City!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good, and you just can't beat the location in the lower part of Quebec City. The bathrooms are small, but all seem to be very quiet because of the double windows which shield noise from the street or the garden restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Lauren B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Your kind words towards our staff and our location are very much appreciated!

Our historical classification limits us in terms or room sizing in our main building. On the other hand, it offers a great isolation with 30 inches thick stonewalls and double paned windows.

We are glad to read you have enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I will start off by saying- great location! It is in the heart of Old QC. The rooms were nice but small, bathrooms were also a bit small. They do offer parking which is great. It is in a lot down the road (totally secure) but an extra 15.00 a day. The staff was super helpful and overall the hotel was very clean and comfortable. I was not a fan of the continental breakfast but honestly, with so many cafes and coffee shops, that was okay with me :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaK13313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear LisaK13313,

Thank you for sharing you experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are happy to read that you had a great experience with us. Our location is indeed very convenient to explore the Old Québec by foot and you can leave the car in a nearby parking lot.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always a pleasure to assist our guests.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet. We emphasize on quality and freshness to offer a great start for the day.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for many reasons. I wish that I had taken note of the names of all of the employees because each time we interacted with the staff we were treated with the utmost professionalism, were given great advice as far as restaurants (although I'm not sure you can go wrong with food in Québec), directions, and help in obtaining tickets for events. From the moment we checked in, we had a great experience. We were given a laminated map and parking card for the nearby parking lot (it's not the easiest place to park in Québec City...note that there is a parking charge), were offered help with our bags, and given our the three rooms for our group all next to each other.
The hotel is a chic boutique hotel with modern furniture, upscale bath products, and a great restaurant that provides a very nice complimentary breakfast buffet. We stayed in just the regular sized rooms (they are not large but adequate). Some reviewers were bothered by the sink being in the bedroom, and I was a little iffy on it before I arrived, but it turns out that we enjoyed it being there so that one family member could shower in privacy while others could brush teeth or wash hands at the same time. The beds were very comfortable and we had absolutely no problems with noise between rooms. The young woman who waited on us at breakfast was very pleasant and although she had an abundance of guests simultaneously, she didn't show any signs of stress and kept her very cheery demeanor.

The front desk was so helpful in getting Cirque de Soleil tickets for us as well.

We liked the location as well. Although in the lower part of the city, it was a very short walk to the funicular or stairs to get to the upper part of the city. There were great restaurants nearby and just 3 minutes away from Le Musée de la Civilsation.


The icing on the cake was when we received an e-mail the day we left notifying us that we had left our little girl's jacket in the room. They mailed it to us right away! What lovely service!

I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank toomuchsnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Toomuchsnowhere,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

All our staff is delighted to read that you have enjoyed your family vacation with us at Hotel Le Priori! Our team is dedicated to make sure our guests will enjoy their time with us and I am really happy to read that everyone of us played his part.

Our standard rooms are limited in size due to the historical classification of our main building but as you kindly mention, having the sink in the bedroom can spare some precious time in the morning!

Thank you for your kind words about our beds, the beds are Italian and the mattresses are made by a local supplier, just on the other side of Saint Lawrence river.
The old Port is great to explore Québec City as it is usually less crowded in busy season and many point of interests are at a stone’s throw from us.
Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get, merci beaucoup!

We would love to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After acquaintances of ours raved about this place I decided to book a little getaway. I wanted a hotel with a very historic, chic, boutique feel as we felt it was better suited to the whole Quebec City experience as opposed to a very cookie cutter hotel feeling which we normally stay at.
The staff at this hotel all the way from the General Manager to the breakfast buffet waitress went out of their way to make our stay absolutely perfect. I had many requests prior to my arrival and everything was executed perfectly. From recommending the perfect places to go based on my (very specific) requests, to setting up the room with extras (again very specific requests) before our arrival, and to calling a cab for us. Attention to detail was A+. Room cleanliness was A+. Service and professionalism from EACH staff member was A+ and consistent. You know a place is well run when there is consistency with every staff member on site.
For our stay we were in both a Junior Suite and in a Junior Suite with spa. Both rooms are beautiful and offer different layouts (Junior suite has a gorgeous big bathroom with jaccuzzi tub, Junior with spa has a wood fireplace, and outdoor balcony with spa). The beds are extremely interesting and different (and comfy).
Upon arriving we had a bottle of champagne (real champagne which we were really excited about!), the cheese tray with bread and roasted almonds and pecans waiting in our room as requested. Perfect after our travel there.
The outdoor restaurant eating area from Toast restaurant-Oh my goodness! Can you say gorgeous?? They have it covered from the rain very beautifully with gorgeous outdoor furniture and outdoor heaters. Some places in Ottawa need to take note of how to furnish an outdoor eating area PROPERLY and with class and style and they can start by taking lessons from Hotel Le Priori. (you are welcome Main Street Cellar!)
Very personal decorating and classy throughout the entire hotel with good touches that are not tacky or gaudy. (I am an interior designer, and decorator so the ambiance of spaces really interest me. If I am happy, then trust me it is nice). Both beautiful rooms, both equally appealing.
I don't know why people are saying it is noisy from the restaurant. It was not overly noisy, we only heard people talking in the outdoor eating area mwhen the windows were open but if we closed them we heard nothing so if you don't want to hear noise close the window- it seems fairly obvious to me no?
They asked us whenever they saw us if they could help, how we were doing, and if we were enjoying ourselves.
Some info about this hotel to help you plan....
-Parking is not at the hotel it is at a parking lot a little ways down- but you can bring your car up on the cobblestone to the door of the hotel to check in, unload bags and go park afterwards. It is literally a 3 minutes walk. You have in and out privileges for 15$ per day. We are used to paying 40$ valet with no in and out privileges, so it's a great option for those that want to use their car.
-Breakfast is a buffet of hot and cold foods. Included are cappuccinos and lattes as well which I was so happy about. I have stayed at many four and five star hotels where shockingly, they do not have something as simple as capps or lattes for breakfast.
-This hotel is literally steps from the funicular which gives you quick access to everything and anything in Old Quebec, steps to the beautiful Church where Leonardo Dicaprio's movie Catch Me If You Can scenes were filmed (we could see this church from our hotel balcony!), various shops, galleries, restaurants etc. You can walk to virtually everything within 20 minutes, It was perfect!
-There is a small hidden fridge in the rooms which is great if you go to the market (about a 5 minute walk) and purchase some fresh local foods. That was very fun to do btw.
-It was about a 5 minute walk to the AML boat cruise
-The Museum of Civilization is 15 seconds from the hotel.
-They have umbrellas in your room if needed, slippers and very comfy robes
-They have complimentary water bottles, coffee, and tea at the front that you can access.

The convenience, style, class, level of customer service, and thoughtful personal touches, is what makes Hotel Le Priori fabulous. We loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trravellersforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear trravellersforyou,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review on Trip Advisor!

All our staff was very happy to read that you have enjoyed your romantic getaway with us at Hotel Le Priori! Coming from a professional, your positive feedback about our decoration and general setting of our property are very much appreciated! I will pass on your words to the owners and I am sure they will be honoured!

Thank you for your kind words about our Junior Suites and our Junior Suite with Spa. These rooms were opened in 2012 and have received a very positive feedback since. All our rooms feature double-paned windows, which are very effective to reduce the outside noise.

Our entire staff’s main objective is to help our guests to enjoy their time while staying with us. We all love our job and want our guests to feel at home. As for special requests, it is always a pleasure to do our best to satisfy them.

Our housekeeping staff is working hard to make sure all our rooms are spotless and comfy for our guests. Thank you very much for highlighting their contribution to the team!

The Old Port is very convenient to explore the Old Québec and is filled with great dining options and art galleries.

Thank you for providing helpful tips and pictures to the Trip Advisor community!

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our stay at Hotel Le Priori was perfect in all respects! On top of its amazing location in the picturesque Old Quebec, the hotel offers modern and tastefully decorated rooms of impeccable cleanliness. It also shelters a gorgeous little courtyard where diner is served in the summer. The complimentary breakfast buffet provides with a large variety of fresh and delicious products. The service was irreproachable: the staff was truly lovely and helpful, and Mr Franchet gave us top-notch advice to discover the city. Our stay was flawless and definitely worth the money! I would recommend Le Priori on trust to anyone looking for the perfect place for a little getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Ginette A,

Thank you very much for posting this review on Trip Advisor!

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Hotel Le Priori and we are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us! I am glad to read that you have appreciated the decoration of our rooms.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our breakfast buffet! We want all our guests to start the day on a cheerful note!

Your kind words towards our staff will be happily passed on to the team! We all want our guests to enjoy our beautiful city as much as we do!

Thank you for your kind recommendation! It is for all our staff a great reward!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very charming hotel perfectly located in the old Quebec.
The place is beautiful, quiet and spotlessly clean.

Rooms are spacious, decorated and appointed with great taste. Lots of storage.
Very nice and clean bathroom, huge shower and a beautiful clawfoot tub. Beds are really comfortable.

Delicious breakfast with a wide choice of fresh food.

The staff is extremely kind. They were very helpful and concerned about our well-being and the quality of our stay, and also gave us some good tips to explore the area.

One of my best hotel experience (and I had a lot).
I would certainly stay here again for my next visits of Quebec City, and recommend the place without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mauricioo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mauricioo59,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

Our team is happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! The Old Port of Québec City is always more quiet than the Upper Town in high season and is close to the main attractions of the Old Québec. Thank you for your nice feedback about our spacious rooms. They offer all the comfort of our regular rooms with more space, storage options and a bathtub.

Our staff is always happy to help our guests to make the most of their stay while in Québec City and want all our guests to feel at home!

Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get, merci beaucoup!
We will be delighted to welcome you when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £93 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing