We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG LITTLE HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Bala Cynwyd
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BIG LITTLE HOTEL!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Hotel Saint Paul is perfectly located for tourists and visitors in the old harbour section of Québec City. Walk up the hill at the back of hotel Saint Paul to enter the lovely historical area up to Château Frontenac, or on the other side of the hotel walk to the Saint Laurent river animated wharfs and old market, where you can buy and eat great specialties. Besides these walkable great sites, the hotel itself is perfect. Rooms are spacious, as well as bathrooms, perfectly equipped. No noise at night, thanks to the double sided panel windows. The bar and restaurant are welcoming and serve the traditional good food from this part of Canada. Every body is bi-lingual. Breakfast was included, and price was quite reasonable. It was the first time for us and we will certainly go back!

Room Tip: We were 2 couples, each on a different floor and both satisfied. I suppose all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    152
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
188
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Excellent front desk staff that did a good job on Greeting and assisting with travel information. Standard room was very clean and very functional, bed was good and coffee maker was the newer type that Brews a better quality cup of coffee.

Location was im Lower town and only a five to Ten minute walk from Upper or lower towns centers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This hotel was really great. The rooms were very modern and clean, the breakfast in the morning was included & the options were great, and the staff was really nice. The staff went over and above to help us when we got a parking ticket. It was thanksgiving day and the office was closed and we were heading back to the US, so the women at the counter took our credit card information and took care of paying the ticket for us the next day. It was service that was over and above what was expected and I will be sure to stay here if I return to Quebec City again...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyGrundza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We went to Quebec from Montreal by train. We took a taxi to the hotel and the driver got really angry. We realized that Le Saint Paul is so near the train station that we could have gone by walking. It's clean, silent, comfortable, friendly and near historic city. It’s not a bargain and the breakfast could be better considering what the hotel charges for it.

Room Tip: You go from the train station to the hotel by walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Le Saint-Paul for two nights and found it delightful. The room was comfortable and quiet. It was easy for us to drive to (and find!) And it was an easy location to walk from to explore Vieux-Québec. The provided breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We had no problem speaking only English - the staff at both the hotel and the cafe were patient and accommodating. I would say that the room was a little on the dark side (especially the bathroom) but it didn't bother us that much...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel was located in a trendy part of old Quebec but the professional photos did not show the mold in the bathroom, peeling paint, stained hallway carpets and narrow passageways in the rooms.The view from my window was an ugly busy gas station. Not worth the pricetag. Parking was down the street . Not included ( $15 per day)

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you unpack your luggage. Do not get a room overlooking the gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We traveled to Quebec city to celebrate our wedding anniversary and stayed at the Hotel Le Saint-Paul, as we were familiar with the area from previous visits and wanted to be in the old city "Vieux-Québec". The rooms have been redone, with large modern showers. It was a nice location, the attached restaurant (a very good breakfast was supplied) was excellent and there was a nice Bistro across the street.

There are many good restaurants within walking distance and the escalator to take you to the upper part of old town is about a 15 minute walk.

Vieux-Québec, in Quebec city is as close as you can get to Europe without flying over the Atlantic. We love it there!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the St. Lawrence River on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Hotel Belley
L'Hotel Belley
#71 of 102 in Quebec City
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 102 in Quebec City
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 102 in Quebec City
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Property: Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Address: 229 rue Saint-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#42 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the Old-Port of Quebec, Saint-Paul Hotel was built inside a charming building dating from the 19th century. Recently renovated, this haven of peace is ideal for travellers and businessmen looking for proximity of the unique attractions of the Old Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Paul Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing